Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marula Lodge. The pool and gardens were lovely. Marion our host was very welcoming and the breakfast was very good. We hope to go back to South Africa in the future and if so would revisit both the area and Marula Lodge again.

March 2017

Sue Gleeson (Brighton)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hallo Ihr zwei, wir möchten uns herzlich für den tollen Aufenthalt in Eurem Haus bedanken. Wir haben wirklich gut geschlafen und das Ambiente eures Hauses in vollen Zügen genossen. Auch der Besuch im Restaurant "nebenan" war ein Erlebnis, nicht zuletzt wegen Filips Empfehlungen zur Karte. Wir wünschten, wir hätten etwas mehr Zeit mit euch verbringen können. Danke für die herzliche Aufnahme. Und besonderen Dank für den Tip, die Fähre zu benutzen - es war ein Erlebnis und wir hatten viel Spaß. Gerne kommen wir wieder, dann etwas länger.

May 2010

Peter & Gaby Schilling (Leverkusen / GERMANY)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely place to stay! Filip and Marion (and Pedro & Sammy the dogs) made us very welcome here. We found it very relaxed and enjoyed the pool and gardens very much. Filip recommended the restaurant next door which was amazing! It was a flying visit of one night but we would have liked to have stayed for longer. We will be back!

January 2010

Susan & Arron Rice (Jersey, Channel Islands)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a truly superb guest house with the most welcoming and hospitable hosts possible. Filip and Marion made us feel truly at home, and Filip's advice on what to see and where to go was invaluable. The region around is stunning! Would go there again tomorrow if we lived closer! Couldn't recommend it highl;y enough and a real surpries and gem!

December 2009

Mike Bailey (Maputo)

Verified reviewexcellent

We recently stayed for three nights. This is an excellent B & B with very welcoming hosts. Our room was spotlessly clean, the garden, pool and guest lounge all very nice. Swellendam is a good place to stop for a few days. We visited both Marloth Nature Reserve and Bontebok National Park which are both next to the town, and also Swellendam Museum which is a collection of original houses is worth a visit. Plenty of good places to eat in Swellendam also.

November 2009

Rose (Sussex)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ursprünglich suchten wir nur eine schnelle Übernachtungsmöglichkeit und sind dann doch zwei Nächte geblieben. Die Atmosphäre in der Marula Lodge lädt einfach zum Verweilen ein, beginnend mit dem Begrüßungsdrink und der wunderbaren Außenanlage. Am zweiten Abend haben wir dann noch spontan mit Marion und Filip gegrillt - ein toller Abend. Die Marula Lodge ist ein Muss in Swellendam, jederzeit gerne wieder - Danke euch Beiden.

October 2009

Sabrina + Alex (Stuttgart)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Marula lodge for 2 nights on our way to, and from the garden route. This is more than just a B&B. This is 5 star luxury. The rooms are immaculately decorated with beautiful bathrooms to match. There is a lounge where guests can relax or watch tv in the evenings which felt very homely. The pool and gardens are also very well kept. We found it was the little things, the attention to detail which made all the difference (a cot and baby bath are available). The hosts Marion and Filip (and Pedro) have thought of everything and were very welcoming. So much so that when we returned for our 2nd night we felt like we were visiting friends. Swellendam is small but friendly and safe, and Bontebok NP and De Hoop NP makes this an essential stop. Plus the breakfast is amazing!!

September 2009

Sarah, Juul and Thom (Birmingham, UK)

Verified reviewvery good

Wir haben leider nur wenig Zeit in der Marula Lodge verbracht, aber wir waren sowohl vom Gasthaus selbst, als auch von den Besitzern sehr beeindruckt. Die Inhaber haben sich sehr viel Mühe mit uns gegegben. Vor allem bleibt uns ein von Fil organisierter Tagesausflug sehr in Erinnerung. Durch seine geniale Ortskenntnis hat er uns dieses wunderbare Stück Erde sehr viel näher bringen können. Wir können dieses Haus wärmstens empfehlen und werden selbst auch wieder im nächsten Jahr dort ein paar Tage verbringen.Herzlichen Dank liebe Marion und lieber Fil für eine wunderschöne Zeit bei euch, Macht weiter so!

August 2009

Barbara Leinberger (Trochtelfingen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Es gibt viele Adjektive, um dieses wunderbare Gästehaus zu beschreiben. Zwei Worte sagen aber auch schon alles aus: Entspannung pur! Die drei Besitzer Marion, Fil und Pedro haben alles getan damit wir uns wohl fühlen und vor allem damit wir unvergesslich schöne Tage in Swellendam und Umgebung haben. Sehr empfehlenswert!

August 2009

Sonja & Gernot (D´dorf, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed overnight at Marula on our way to the Garden Route. It was the perfect stop-over, but more time would have been a plus. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the pool a very welcome cool-down for our children after a long journey. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for marion and Filip. . Their little dog plays football very well!

April 2009

anne brittain (london)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 900
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Marula Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.