Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

There were 10 of us in total and we took 5 of the 7 rooms for 4 nights. I can honestly say it was like a home from home and the hospitality shown by Melinda, Trevor and the whole team just in a league of its own. They could not have been more accommodating and I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

April 2018

Clive Montague (London. UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

All I can say is Wow,great exceptional service from,Melinda, Cathy, Precious and the place is Beautiful. We loved it but pity that during that period we cannot have breakfast @Guesthouse but am sure you will re-think decision. PE was great and Margate keep up the good work. My family and I would go there every time if or when in PE.

December 2015

Magdeline Mere (Bloemfontein )

Verified reviewexcellent

All I can say is Wow,great exceptional service from,Melinda, Cathy, Precious and the place is Beautiful. We loved it but pity that during that period we cannot have breakfast @Guesthouse but am sure you will re-think decision. PE was great and Margate keep up the good work. My family and I would go there every time if or when in PE.

December 2015

Magdeline Mere (Bloemfontein )

Verified reviewexcellent

Close to the university, the beach, the commercial Summerstrand area and restaurants, Margate Place is really convenient, comfortable, very well run by friendly and attentive owmers and staff. An easy first choice any time we are in PE,

May 2013

Dr and Mrs Robinson (Jim & Pat) (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Quiet, clean, comfortable. Enjoyed every day I spent in PE. For three weeks I felt as if I'm at home. Cornell and Debbie, thank you so much. Gonna miss you. Dream of going back to friendly city and friendly people.

June 2010

Alexander Russkiy (Moscow, Russia)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have stayed in Margate Place many times now and find it a pleasant Home from home experience, which is something I find important as I do alot of travelling. Debbie and all the Staff are always very friendly and make you feel very welcome.I also find the location perfect for runs and walks on the beach. See you soon. Regards Nigel

May 2010

Nigel Gelling (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Quite one of the most charming places I have stayed in. We booked 'blind' and were thrilled it matched up to its internet image!!

April 2010

Hilary Oettle (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I can't recommend this guest house highly enough. We've stayed there 3 consecutive years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The guest house is of an excellent standard but more than that they exceed all expectations when it comes to friendliness & service.

April 2010

Jacqui Robus (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I keep going back! I make a yearly trip to PE for Ironman. Saying at Margate Place has become part of the whole amazing experience for me. It's a quiet place to relax, a friendly place to invite friends to, it's comfy and personal. I rate the whole Margate team.

April 2010

Chrissie Jay (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful is not a word that is sufficient to describe what the feeling is staying here at Margate Place,Vanessa and myself were overjoyed to have found somewhere as near perfection as is possible,we will stay no where else on our next visit to P.E. thank you to Cornell, Debbie and the staff.

June 2009

len willoughby (elswick ,england)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay in Port Elizabeth was much enhanced by our stay at Margate Place. We had a chance to drive from J-Burg down to PE and elected to stay at Margate and are especially pleased to have spent time there. Cornell and the staff made our stay pleasent, the breakfast great, staff great, the location secure and Cornell's advice and information welcome. The location so close to the beach, the casino, and the rest of the beachfront made us wish we could have stayed longer. My thanks to Margate Place and recommendations............. Michael

April 2009

Mraschke (Ann Arbor MI, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Friendly staff, Organised management, Debbie is fantastic and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, child friendly i would have no problems recommending Margate Place, room was excellent and next time we return to Port-Elizabeth we would love to stay there again. Nice location near to beach. Me and my wife stayed with our boy's 1 & 3 years old nice area for them to play Thank's to Cornell and all her staff. Charles,Cynthia,Lucas & Nathan

February 2009

Charles Naish (United Kingdom)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,100
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Margate Place Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.