Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This review is not about Margaret's Place, but about travelers looking for that extra attention to detail in accommodation that equals the "aaaah" feeling when one usually returns home again. Aside from the manicured garden, sparkling heated pool and spotlessly clean and beautiful "feel at home" rooms that make one feel immediately comfortable, the finer touches at Margaret's Place are everything that one looks for at home and the attention to those details are exceptional. Everything is there just like home ... even the shower actually creates a shower of water to wash in instead of the usual pathetic trickle, and there is even a scale in the bathroom. In the kitchen - small cups, big cups, real coffee and real milk, and you can drink the water from the tap. How often does one not struggle to find an appropriate point where you can charge even just one cell phone? Margaret's has a whole bank of 2 and 3 pin plugs to use. Margaret is a seasoned traveler, and this establishment oozes the little comforts she missed while she was travelling, and the charm she quite obviously treasures in her own home. A bonus is the close proximity to amenities, with fuel, malls, restaurants and fast foods unbelievably located just a kilometre away from this quiet location. We have traveled extensively across the country in the past 16 months and there is just no beating this experience ... it is now our home-from-home for all future journeys to Johannesburg.

January 2015

Tony & Mary (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Margaret, I would just like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your Place, We were very comfortable and enjoyed it there, we will see you soon and I will definitely recommend your place Many Thanks Afzal Khan

April 2014

Afzal Khan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for great hospitality. You have a beautiful, well kept place. I really enjoyed my stay and will most certainly make Margaret's Place my residence if ever I'm required to be in that vicinity. As for my charger, I only realised when I was at the airport and in need of the charger. I will uplift it when next I go to either Jhb or Pta. Thank you once again for the good memories and a comfortable stay. Sincerely Angelo

March 2014

Angelo Kriger (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Many thanks for a fantastic venue!

March 2014

Philip Acton (Heidelberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really enjoyed my stay. The place is safe, clean, comfortable and it is very serene plus very close to shopping malls, restaurants, pubs, hospitals, etc. and Margaret is such a nice person, welcoming and hospitable, I will definitely come back. Thanks. Regards, Spike.

March 2014

Spike Boaitey (Botswana)

Verified reviewexcellent

Margaret's Place is a MUST! Everyone is so friendly and it feels like a home away from home... My boyfriend and I really enjoyed ourselves, close by to almost everything. Will definetly stay there again if we go to Jhb. Safe parking and the Guest house is in a really safe street.

February 2014

Nicole den Hertog (Kwa-Zulu Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

I was in SA for 3 weeks holiday with my wife Joy and our baby David. The room was comfortable, clean and serviced daily. The workers were warm and friendly. We received all the assistance we needed to make our stay a happy one. Margaret and her team of staff were always there and willing to help; and made our stay a memorable one. Margaret's place was just the home we needed for a holiday. We miss you both Margaret and Adrian, and look forward to see you again during our next holiday trip; then David would have been a big boy. Greetings from Joy. Cheers. Warm Regards from Joseph, Joy and David.

September 2013

Joseph Duruibe (Owerri, Nigeria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Margaret / Quentin, Just a short letter to say thank you so much for having us over the weekend - 27th Sep - 30 Sep 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Your Guesthouse is stunning, homely and so well situated. We would have stayed longer if we could have. Quentin was very helpful and made us feel very welcome... Next time we hope to get to know you. Thank you again for everything - I will def be telling people about your home. I hope that we will get a chance to come back soon and will be staying with you again for sure. Regards Tursha

September 2013

Tursha Rowland (KwaZulu Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Margaret Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. Excellent facilities and very good service. Beautiful garden and sparkling pool, a home from home for sure. Will definately visit again in near future. Thank you so much Margaret. Kind Regards, Carol Grobler

July 2013

Carol Grobler (Nelspruit- Mpumalanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at Margaret's Place was just wonderful. Margaret is a very gracious and accommodating host and no need went unfilled.. Rooms are very well kept and the whole place felt like home immediately. All ten days swept by with absolutely nothing lacking in our comfort. Thank you Margaret and I have no doubt we will see you again. A very special extra thank you for the very late check out on our last day.

February 2013

Fatima and Nimet (Toronto)

Verified reviewexcellent

we really enjoyed our stay at margret's place, very neat and most definately comfortable. it felt like i was in my house. thank u so much margaret and your staff u guys rock

December 2012

nomsa, sola aremu (east london)

Verified reviewexcellent

On behalf of Kinema Studio of Acrobatics, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for looking after our examiner, Ria, during her stay at your guest house. She commented on your friendly service, abundant food and wonderful hospitality. I will be certain to utilise your establishment in the future.

March 2012

Nicolette Kruger (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

As usual, staying at Margaret´s is like being at home. You have everything you can possibly need, and as usual a kind and hospitable host, that will make sure your stay is as good as it can be. Since my first trip to SA I keep coming back, and theres already been five! So, thanks again to Margareth and her team, this time my stay got a bit longer on my way back to the Kalhari, but I enjoyed it anyway! Silvina

October 2010

Silvina (Córdoba, Argentina)

Verified reviewexcellent

I'ts already 4 weeks ago since we left South-Africa. We loved it, and you were our favourit hostess! We hope to visit you once again in the future. We will recommend your place whenever we hear about people wanting to visit Johannesburg. We really loved it. Kind regards The Lansky family

July 2010

Manita (Almere, The Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have been here almost three weeks and it is just a brillant and lovely place. Margaret and her family are friendly and helpful. The location is very secure and we walked and ate all around . Transportation has been easy even with the World Cup. I would highly recommend Margaret's place.

June 2010

Lisa Cosgrove (Cocoa Beach)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Margaret! I wanted to let you know that Mr. Shakhane, who stayed in your Phumula unit together with two friends on Sunday last week, came to me with some feedback regarding your service. He said you were not only very friendly and helpful, but also provided excellent service in a wonderful environment. He highly recommended your place to anyone who needs a place to stay in the vicinity. So I just thought I should thank you, because service like yours is very hard to find these days. I in turn will also not hesitate to recommend you. Thank you so much and keep up the good work! Regards, Cath.

March 2010

Catherine Bitzer (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent facilities, wonderful hospitality and reasonable rates - what more could you ask for!

May 2009

Ben Cilliers (Secunda)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great Home Away from Home We were pleasantly surprised with the high level of service and support from the owner who went out of her way to make our stay an enjoyable one. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to relax and unwind. Glenn Said, Australia 07 April 2009

April 2009

Glenn Said (Perth, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

- 4 March 2009 I recommend Margaret’s Place totally and unreservedly. An attentive host who goes way and beyond the “call of duty”, (she happily ferried me to a battery centre when my car battery suddenly decided to expire), beautiful grounds, lovely pool and the self contained garden cottage is peaceful, comfortable and fully equipped. I have never encountered better. Thank you Margaret! - Gordon King,

February 2009

Gordon King (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful weekend at your place. It was our Anniversary. Thanks a Lot!!!

February 2008

Zweli Keswa (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL, BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL WARM WARM WARM WARM WARM WOW WOW WOW WOW I LOVED IT THANK YOU TO MARGARET AND STAFF

February 2008

Jabu (Turfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Margaret, I would like to submit my greatest appreciation for the way you took care of us on the 4,5,6 January 2008 during my holiday in JHB and I promise you that your name will be forwarded to all my friends who intend to visit that area in future. Once more time God Bless You and your family. Regards Musa Bhengu

January 2008

Musa Bhengu (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

On behalf of myself & my family ,I would like to express our sincere thanks for making our stay in Jhb really wonderful & enjoyable. Thank you & best wishes Rodney

January 2008

Rodney Govender (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

it was fantastic, margaret was so helpful with information and direction on how to get to places around the city and places to avoid, i highly reccomend staying here.

November 2007

Paul Anderson (ulverstone tasmania australia)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 760
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Margaret's Place

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.