Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We want to go back every day. See you soon :) Had such a great time.

January 2015

Amanda Andre Du Toit (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

I am from France, I had a wonderful time in KwaThabisile Game Lodge. I dream to go back to this relaxing and beautiful place with nice hosting people. Alexandra is welcoming us in her beautiful lodge where all appartments have a special atmosphere, different from the others. Everybody feels at home. The garden where the Jacarandas were blooming, is wonderful, full of flowers and exotic plants, birds and small wild animals as well as Springbocks and zebras crossing or drinking in the swimming-pool in the morning. Sunsets are stunning. Helped with Rachel, Doubt and some other nice people, Alexandra was also providing a fantastic South-African food for the 3 meals, as well as good S-A wine, that we enjoyed around the fire Under the stars. KwaThabisile Game Lodge is a unique experience that I highly recommend.

September 2014

Joelle Audry (France)

Verified reviewvery good

“Peace” Another wonderful break at KwaThabasili. We just love spending time there with the dogs. The sunsets are incredible and the stars at night awesome. If you have bikes take them along otherwise take a walk with the pooches-they love the exercise. Room Tip: Antelope with its stope overlooking the bush.

June 2014

Jenny (France)

Verified reviewvery good

We have stayed twice, as we transferred from Durban to Jo'berg when flying long haul; once in June, and once in April. When flying in from Europe where I work, it was so nice to be met at the airport, and to spend a couple of days in peace and quiet, unwinding and relaxing before going off for a hectic trip of reunions and visits. I like the way it is decorated and furnished; the houses have character, and Alex is original in her decor and selection of furniture. The first time we came, it was unfenced and the game wandered across the lawn; since then the fence has gone up and it has lost that feel of being part of the bush. The bush is still there, and the game is still there, and my own interest in botany is content with walking around to explore. The children loved the pool, and the dogs, and the area. We found Alex convivial, helpful and friendly. Next time we return to RSA we will stay again; for the peace and quiet, and handy proximity to Pretoria/Jo'berg/airport. The transfer driver knew exactly where to go, so it was good to be alble to relax about that as well. It was just so nice and peaceful.

May 2014

Christopher Bevan (Wales)

Verified reviewvery good

“See you soon//Arrivaderci/Bis bald/Tot ziens” We booked kwaThabisile for a group of 7 European friends-English, Italian and German with a couple of SA local guests-after our visit to Zambia, wanting to be somewhere drivable from JNB airport at a late hour and after a sad bereavement which brought us to Africa in the first place. We managed this in a mere 1 1/2 hours on well sign-posted roads and c/o satnav/GPS. We were reassured by the initial security presence as we entered Leeuwkloof Valley in darkness and throughout our entire stay. Charming Maria greeted us and showed us to our delightful comfortable accommodation, Antelope and Bushbaby, each room of a distinctive African style, which have interconnecting dividers-perfect for a group of 7 of all ages and differing needs. We opted for self-catering throughout as the joys of the braai in the evening were the high point of our stay. Not forgetting our drives to charming Cullinan (very good Spar supermarket for essentials and more), Ludwigs Rose Garden and Dinokeng Game Reserve (only 2 of the Big 5 but more planned in the foreseeable future). Whilst at kwaThabisile from our veranda we watched Water Buffalo, Kudu and Bush Pigs/ Warthogs at close quarters in the nearby grounds on many occasions and saw these at close sight when we did a dawn walk, all the time with Vervet monkeys chattering in the trees. Relaxing by the pool in the late afternoon was just idyllic for us. We hope to return at our earliest opportunity with more than 7 persons next time round.

May 2014

David Allan (Wales)

Verified reviewpoor

Our booking was completely botched - upon arrival we (4 adults) were informed that Antelope unit, of which we had a confirmation booking, was hired out to another party. No proper explanation was given. We were offered Eland unit with the adjacent Duiker unit, which were not cleaned. We actually had no choice but stay there, although the bath was non-funcional and the kitchen very grubby. Almost everything was covered in thick layer of dust and the freezer and fridge haven't been cleaned in ages. The freezer had frozen filth - looked like meat blood. The fridge was stacked to the brim with off products and reeked of old garlic. Gosh we had to grit our teeth, the low level of lighting in the top level poses a danger and you have to walk bent to avoid the ceiling beams. No light in the toilet and a cat took over the one bedroom, lounging on the bed. No braai facility in the boma - no grills or firewoodWe simply can't recommend this lodge to anyone. We received a discount for the upheaval, but that was small comfort. Never again. What was supposed to be a very special getaway was spoiled for us.

February 2014

Johann Verhoef (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Had a lovely 2 days with friendly staff and equally friendly dogs. Soecial thanks must go to Thomas who was so helpful in helping us to overcome the shortfalls caused by our less than competant travel operator. Many thanks.

January 2014

John & Mal Mutton (Coventry, England)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks to Alex and the members of her excellent team. My boys had an absolute great "bush" experience. The dogs were our "guides" with great personalities of their own!! The atmosphere created with the candles and torches during dinner was amazing and the champagne with breakfast a great treat. This is the place to go for those who want to experience the bush but with excellent service. Regards, Gerrie, Susan and the boys

March 2010

Susan Stoltz (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks to Alex and staff for a memorable stay in December 2009. My sister and her family visited from Scotland and we had a wonderful family reunion at KwaThabisile. The peace and tranquility of the surrounds helps one to unwind and relax. The lovely evenings around the boma fire were memorable and we will treasure that for always. The children enjoyed the pool and playing table tennis. Truly unique place with good service.

December 2009

Renata (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewfair

The accommodation was ok, It was very paeceful and quite and staff were friendly , The pool was also very clean.The low light was the darkness on the shalet we slept on specifically on the stairs i suggest that you look at that since one of my friends twisted his ankle while going down the stairs.Our drain toilet kept on blocking, and please relook at putting the glass shower doors as those shower curtains they are irritating when one take a shower. Bedding to be changed every day.Overall we enjoyed ourselves because Kwathabisile had a very nice atmosphere and envrioment.

October 2009

Kele (Vanderbijpark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the best 30th Birthday weekend breakaway ever! We loved every minute of our stay, and so did all our friends. Thank you also to Charmaine, Poppie and Doubt for seeing to our every need, and making our stay a pleasurable one. Your service can be rated as five star quality! Keep up the good work. Regards Janneke and Andre Greeff

September 2009

Janneke & Andre Greeff (Secunda)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks to Alex and her staff for a wonderfull weekend. You have a lovely lodge. Our stay there was VERY VERY good for the soul. We will be back for sure and this time around we will surely bring some friends or family with to share your place. Regards Fleis & Renjia

May 2009

Renjia (Centurion)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,010
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • KwaThabisile Game Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.