Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This building has been excellently restored and it was a most enjoyable overnight stay - next time we will stay for longer. The accommodation is spacious and well-furnished and I specifically enjoyed seeing the old photographs. The lady who greeted us at the Paddocks was very gracious, organised and friendly. If you order food, go for the Pulled Lamb Shank. Delicious.

March 2021

Willy H. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best stopover in the Karoo.. What a historical place with a unique farmstyle atmosphere. We were spolied with a warm welcome and lovely food from the garden. Definitely comming back !

February 2021

Bettina B. (Riebeek West)

Verified reviewvery good

What a super environment and what a joy to be there after a long days driving Very obliging and helpful staff and management. Delicious Baboetie

February 2021

Doug B. (Cape Toen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Clean, quiet, good food & great hosts.

November 2020

Charles C. (SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

So relaxed & great food.

October 2020

Charles C. (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful venue and room. Effortless to do online booking. Pre ordered food and got the best lamb curry. Crisp white linen and towels with electric blankets and heaters. Will gladly recommend.

August 2020

Dalene B. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A unique and different place to stay at whilst in the Great Karroo near Colesburg. It is very South African with excellent food & wines, and comfortable accommodation all on a working farm. The hostess is very charming (and capable) and we'll certainly repeat our visit sometime in the future. Sincerely Joan & Sandy.

January 2020

Alexander B. (Sandton)

Verified reviewexcellent

Kuilfontein Stable Cottages is an oasis in the Northern Cape Karoo and a welcome stopover travelling from Cape Town to the Free State. We stayed in Standard Rooms, which are very comfortably converted stables and were spoilt from the moment we arrived. The 3-course dinner was exceptional ... Karoo lamb chops, quail or lemon & herb chicken and the dessert was sublime ... thoroughly enjoyed by all! Now if only they'd start a restaurant in Cape Town :) Our sincerest thanks to Penny, Leigh, Grant and Lexi for making us feel so welcome.

August 2019

Stefani (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a pleasure to arrive at Kuilfontein after a long day on the N2! The cosy pub was a perfect place to wash away the dust of the drive, the rooms more than comfortable and breakfast was delicious.

July 2019

Helen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great hosts, great place. Paradise, pamper stopover in the middle of bone dry Karoo.

December 2018

Patricia Clay (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Staying over on a journey from Cape Town to Jozi was always a pain because of the stop over halfway. This is no longer the case. This was our first stay at Kuilfontein and what a nice surprise. Our family room was spacious and well fitted out. We had a friendly pre-dinner drink in the cosy pub, met some new people and then had a delicious dinner in the charming dining room. It is owner run and Lexi and her staff are great. It's one of those places where you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, with milk that came straight out of a cow, on the morning you drink it. I highly recommend Kuilfontein and we will definately be back.

June 2014

Anton (Prince Albert)

Verified reviewexcellent

My daughter and I stayed at Kuilfontein Stable Cottages on our way from Durban to Cape Town. We loved the fact that it is part of a working farm. We had the most beautiful sunset and we took wonderful photos. We were warmly welcomed by Penny and later joined by Lexi and her family. Before dinner we had drinks in the cozy little pub and met all the other visitors, which immediately made us all feel very relaxed. Dinner was excellent and then to our rooms, which were well fitted out and comfortable. A great place to stop over and we have already booked for December.

May 2014

Helene (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have been staying at Kuilfontein for more than ten years when we travel from Johannesburg to the Cape. It is just fabulous. The welcome by Penny or now Lexie, the gorgeous rooms, the pre dinner drinks in the Rack and Ruin and then the Cordon Bleu dinner. It could be served in any top restaurant and we love that phone call in the car at about 11h00 to order from the menu. We simply love it!

April 2014

Marie-Louise (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have been staying with the Southey's on their Karoo farm, on and off for 17 years - so it must be good. The B&B accommodation is rustic but comfortable and full of character. They have now added a block of self-catering units called "The Paddocks". We had a peep at one of these and they look very good. Its great to break a long car journey and relax at Kuilfontein. You can go for a nice walk on the farm to stretch your legs, and one or more dogs will come with you. Dinner is always good, and you have a choice of three or four main courses (they phone you as you are on the road to tell you what the options are). Olive Schreiner - author of "Life on an African Farm" lived just down the road at Hanover around the turn of the 19th/20th century (I think), and there's plenty of Boer War history in the Colesberg area.

April 2014

Sue (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic hosts and a credit to the hospitality industry.

March 2008

Helder & Ester Perreira (Sandton SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

The most beautiful place to stop over. Excellent food and hospitality

February 2008

John & Anita Meiring (JHB SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful honeyoon. Thanks for the hospitality. The food was brilliant and the rooms are gorgeous

February 2008

Wynand & Jessica Viljoen (Centurian)

Verified reviewexcellent

Without doubt one of the nicest places in SA we have visited after several visits to SA. The staff and food the nicest in SA - so friendly. We'll be back!

January 2008

David Derek Ethne & Irene Page (Nrthumberland UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lo mejor de Sudafrica esta en Clesberg - volveremos

January 2008

Jose M Gonzalez (Spain)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely ambiance, excellent dinner, charming staff - a delightful stay

January 2008

Moyra & Brian Farmerk (Kent, UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,380
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Kuilfontein Stables and Paddocks awarded Guests' Choice in Colesberg

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.