Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Kowie River Guest House for 3 nights during our 3 week trip to Eastern Cape in October 2011. This is a fabulous guest house with the highest standards of facilities and service. The house takes maximum advantage of its river-side location. The view is beautiful. The room was extremely pleasant, crisp and clean with a really nice outside deck with good facilities to self cater. The beds are excellent and bathroom very pleasant indeed. Ditte is a very welcoming hostess and aims to go the extra mile to ensure that her guests have the best possible experience. She had done additional research in preparation for our visit and gave us the benefit of her knowledge of the town and the immediate area. Breakfast was the best we had during the whole of our vacation. Dale, produced a fantastic array of freshly made goodies with a wide variety of ingredients over our 3 day stay. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the outside deck. A lovely start to the day. There is plenty of choice of restaurants in Port Alfred and a good selection of shops to self cater. The fresh fish market had very good fish though choice was limited due to the heavy seas. The Humphrey family is committed to ensuring their guests have a very enjoyable stay. Typically Dale offered to take Phil fishing one evening from the landing stage behind the house. We caught some nice fish, one of which was photographed by Ditte and a print was placed on the breakfast table the next morning. Outstanding personalised service! If you are visiting Port Alfred we would strongly recommend that you stay at Kowie River Guest House. We have not experienced anything as good anywhere in South Africa during 2 recent vacations!

October 2011

Barbara and Phil (Newcastle upon Tyne. UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We very much enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness and the attention the lovely hosts paid to us. The facilities are excellent and the wonderful setting at the Kowie River are hard to beat. No question where we would stay when we are in these area next time! Many thanks for the time would could spend with you!

April 2011

Ben, Marianne and Thomas (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The term 'Guest House' does not do this establishment justice. It is like staying in a lovely Boutique Hotel. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished, with quality linen on the very comfortable beds and large white fluffy towels in the gorgeous bathroom. Make sure you have a good appetite for breakfast because it's excellent! Our hosts were very gracious and nothing was too much trouble. In addition to all this is the setting, with views of the Kowie river and bush...absolutely lovely. We will definitely stay again. Deborah and Allan Staples

January 2011

Deborah Staples (Braunston, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Humphrey are the perfect hosts in their beautiful guest house called "home". Breakfasts were the best meal of the day and they made sure of it! We were there for 4 days only for the annual boat race and would have loved to stay longer. If they continue to provide an awesome service and friendly welcome, they will be there for years to come.

December 2010

Michelle Giammartini (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

One of the best guesthouses I have stayed in. Rooms are clean and neat with beautiful quality linen on the beds. Breakfast variety excellent and what wonderful hosts the Humphreys are. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse. It was awesome!

December 2010

Sharon Harvey (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a wonderful visit in your stunning home. Highlights include watching giraffe from the breakfast table and Eppie adored Sophy! Look forward to our return visit. Justine, Diarmuid & Eppie Gavin.

October 2010

diarmuid gavin (Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for a perfect stay. Everything was absolutely perfect. 5 star all round. Loved walking along the river. Relaxed and enjojed. Colin & Pam Hoffman.

September 2010

colin hoffman (Bryanston)

Verified reviewexcellent

A serendipitous find that we will definitely recommend to friends. A superb luxurious experience that was most delightful! Wonderful breakfast on the terrace - not to be missed. lovely hospitality. Fantastic attention to detail. A thoroughly peaceful and rejuvenating stay, thank you. Krista Veysey and Eric Beauvais.

August 2010

eric beauvais (London)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,590
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Kowie River Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.