Kinghorn's Garden is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (13 reviews)

Kinghorn's Garden

Self Catering at 3 Nthombeni Road, Noordhoek, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 13 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2017

Excellent

Review by Mads (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Super lovely private home in the most stunning surroundings. Walking distance to the lovely Farmer's Market with great quality juices and coffee + deli and a great restaurant. Still dreaming about the view from the terrace...

December 2016

Excellent

Review by N Mason-Gordon (Johannesburg)

The location of Kinghorn's Garden is wonderful. The house is situated in a beautiful indigenous garden up a private road and offers a little secluded haven for anyone looking to unwind. It is a five minute drive to Noordhoek's exquisite beach and a short walk from the village where you can get you daily fresh bread and more. We found the managers and owner of the property to be the most wonderful people who we intend to keep in touch with and who were very responsive to all our requests. A big thank you Antje, Thomas and Herman.

May 2016

Excellent

Review by Courtney (Santa Rosa, USA)

We had an incredible time at Kinghorn's Garden. It was the perfect location for us. Being able to walk to the village for amazing food, drink, coffee and a park for the kids was transformative. Even though the weather was cold and wet, the house kept us warm and cosy. Antje was fantastic to work with. Incredibly friendly, helpful and thorough, our every need was taken care of. We would definitely stay again when in town.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Esti (Johannesburg)

This is a great place to stay! You have all the luxuries of 5 star but in the comfort of a warm home environment. We absolutely loved spending time by the pool and deck soaking in the natural beauty of the fynbos gardens and mountains that surround you. What a beautiful and peaceful retreat!!

October 2014

Excellent

Review by KBB (Lusaka)

The pictures of Kinghorn's Garden are gorgeous and when you see them, you think the house and the gardens couldn't possibly be better in person. Well, they are. This property will take your breath away. The house is gorgeous, the gardens are spectacular, and the overall setting makes for a perfect holiday in Cape Town. Antje and Thomas are warm and responsive from the minute you make an inquiry. We especially appreciated Antje's advice about activities for families with young children. Kinghorn's Garden's location was absolutely perfect for us because we wanted to balance the beach with local restaurants, activities for kids, and the city of Cape Town itself. We could have eaten at the Farm Village every meal of every day, and what a joy to WALK to it from the house. The house itself had everything we needed and we were very, very sad to say goodbye after our stay there. We will come back next year and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Stefan (Switzerland)

Das Haus ist ein absoluter Traum und es fehlt an gar nichts. Leider waren wir nur 5 Tage da aber haben es um so mehr genossen. Die Lage ist eifach super, es hat einen super schönen Blick auf den langen weissen Sandstrand wo man mit den Pferden in den Sonnenuntergang reiten kann. Auch ist es ein super Ausgangspunkt in alle Richtungen, wie Kapstadt, Chapman's Peak, Cape Point, auch Wein degustieren kann man sehr gut in der Nähe etc.

Vom Haus aus muss man unbedingt ins Farm Village das nur wenige Minuten zu Fuss entfernt ist. Da gibt es eine Bäckerei mit super Leckereien und fantastisches feines Brot und und und... Unbedingt muss man dort auch im schönen Foodbarn Restaurant essen gehen und es eifach nur geniessen.

Vielen lieben Dank an Antje und Thomas für die super Betreuung, die vielen guten Tipps und dass wir 5 unvergessliche Tage erleben durften - wir kommen sehr gerne wieder.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Brian (Scotland)

Really enjoyed our stay at Kinghorns Garden. Brilliant, bright and airy house with an excellent garden, great views and plenty options for relaxing inside or out. As well as great birdlife in the garden and surrounds we also had a visit from a Western Leopard Toad, a Tortoise and a Grey Mongoose!
Excellent location only a few minutes drive to Chapmans peak and barely 15mins walk to Cape Point vineyard and picnic site.
The village farm is 5mins stroll and has brilliant options for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Cafe Roux or the Foodbarn.
Also have to say thank you to Thomas again who welcomed us warmly and looked after us brilliantly during our stay.
Would definitely recommend Kinghorns Garden as a perfect place to stay in Noordhoek which is a perfect place to stay when visiting Cape Town. Enjoy!

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Sybille (Bad Aibling, Germany)

Perfect for those who seek relaxation, nature and amazing views. Very well maintained, nice interior, the hosts Thomas and Antje have everything organized to detail and always keep useful tipps at hand.
Don't miss the Farm Village with nice restaurants, tasteful food and a kids playground, it's only a 5 minutes walk away...
Many attractions like Chapmanspeak Drive, Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, Boulders Beach, Vineyard, Winelands are only a stone's throw away or easy to reach within 45 minutes...
We fell in love immediately with Kinghorns Garden and Noordhoek and will be back soon :-) Joerg, Sybille & Family

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Juergen (Muehlberg)

Das bisher beste Ferienhaus,was wir je hatten! Wir durften zu viert zwei Wochen hier verbringen. Die Ausstattung des Hauses ist wirklich in jeder Hinsicht erstklassisch.

Zur Küche: Sie ist mit allem erdenklichen Zubehör komplett eingerichtet, kein zusammengesuchtes Geschirr, sondern stilvoll (wie alles im Haus), großzügiger Platz zum ausgiebigen Kochen.
Die Bäder sind modern und sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, die Schlafzimmer ebenso. Toll ist das kleine Büro mit PC, Drucker und Internet. Zwar kostet Internet 25 R extra pro Tag, aber das haben wir mit zwei Teenagern in der Familien gerne in Anspruch genommen. Dies waren übrigens die einzigen Zusatzkosten!
Der Wohn- und Eßbereich sind sehr großzügig, durch die großen Fenster hat man von überall die wunderbarsten Blicke in den Garten (bis hin zum Meer). Alles ist gemütlich und geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Ein Highlight waren die Bücher im Kaminregal, die prächtigen botanischen Bildbände lassen Naturliebhaber (fast) vergessen, dass direkt vor der Terrasse der Garten mit einer Zauberwelt wartet.
Nun - das Haus ist schon toll, aber zu allem Überfluß ist es eingebettet in einen parkähnlichen Garten, der seinesgleichen sucht. Wer die Kapflora liebt, ist hier genau richtig: Proteen, Silvertrees, Restios, hüfthohe Pelagonien, Aloen – fast könnten man sich den geplanten Ausflug nach Kirstenbosch sparen. Setzt man sich morgens still am Teich unter die Bäume, erlebt man die Vielzahl der Vogelarten, die diesen Garten regelmäßig besuchen – allen voran die prächtigen Nektarvögel, die ohne Scheu von Blüte zu Blüte hüpfen.
Auch wen die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt nicht ganz so fesselt, wird hier einen einzigartigen Ort vorfinden. Ein gemütlicher Grillabend auf der Terrasse, ein Sprung in den Whirlpool oder ein morgendliches Duschbad in der Außendusche sind andere Höhepunkte, die in Erinnerung bleiben.
Durch die Lage und den riesigen Garten man hier seine absolute Ruhe.
Sehr empfehlenswert ist auch die fünf Gehminuten entfernte „Food Barn“, wo es morgens unglaublich leckere Rosinenschnecken gibt, die das Frühstück auf der Sonnenterrasse krönen.

Herzlichen Dank auch Anke und Thomas, die uns mit vielen Ratschlägen und einer Starthilfe (hatte Licht am Auto über Nacht nicht ausgeschaltet ...) immer zur Seite standen.

Mein Fazit: Selbst wenn ich strengste Maßstäbe anlege, alles war absolut perfekt. Wenn wir wieder nach Kapstadt kommen, dann nur, wenn Kinghorn´s Garden für uns frei ist.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Ronald (Hamburg)

Traumhaus, Traumgarten, Traumlage ... und das ist nicht übertrieben.

Das Haus bietet sämtlichen Komfort, um sich vom Alltagsstress zu erholen und einen wundervollen Urlaub zu verbringen.

Der Garten ist wundervoll angelegt. Beim Gang zum See lässt sich immer wieder Neues entdecken.

Noordhoek ist nicht weit von Kapstadt entfernt. Mit dem Auto ideale Ausgangslage.

Vielen Dank für die tolle Betreuung vor Ort! Klasse.

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Simone Breitenstein (Swizerland)

Hallo zusammen,

gut wieder angekommen in der Schweiz, sind die wunderbaren Ferien in Südafrika noch immer präsent bei uns allen. Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt bei Euch und danken nochmals ganz herzlich für die Gastfreundschaft und das Engagement für uns, das war super!! und viel mehr als wir erwarteten – klar übertroffen :-) Danke vielmals

Das Haus hat sehr viel zu bieten und lässt keine Wünsche offen. Wir haben uns alle sehr wohl gefühlt, ebenso sicher und gut aufgehoben an diesem wunderschönen Platz. Mit einer Tasse Tee durch den schönen Garten zu gehen und seine Gedanken ziehen lassen - traumhaft. Draussen zu duschen und die Sonne im Gesicht zu spüren - herrlich. Sich in der Sauna zu wärmen und anschliessend im Jacuzzi kurz abzukühlen – pure wellness. Im Liegestuhl zu liegen, die Sonne zu geniessen und die Vögel im Garten zu beobachten - einzigartig. Vor dem Kamin zu sitzen bei einer Tasse Kaffee mit guten Gesprächen - gemütlich.
Das Haus hat Platz um zu träumen und bei sich selbst anzukommen, ein wunderbarer Ort. Für frischen Kaffee, und feines Brot kann man zu Fuss gehen in die Foodbarn Bakery.

Der Mensch dem das gehört, kann sich glücklich schätzen, so etwas wunderbares zu besitzen und ein grosses Dankeschön, dass er es mit uns teilt !!!!

Wir werden es gerne weiter sagen und auch selbst gerne wieder an diesen Ort zurückkehren.

Simone,Michael,Yannik, Silja und Alena

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Nina S. (Bremen)

wir haben uns sehr sehr wohl gefühlt und den urlaub genossen.
das haus ist schön ruhig gelegen mit einem herrlichen garten und trotzdem sind alle notwendigen loctaions wie restaurants und einkaufsmöglichkeiten in der nähe.

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Agnes (Munich)

Ein wunderschönes Refugium inmitten eines traumhaften Gartens. Und super gelegen, da der Ortskern fußläufig erreichbar ist und auch viele interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten (z.B. Kap der guten Hoffnung etc.) nicht weit entfernt sind. Die Bäckerei im Village ist nur zu empfehlen! Die Ausstattung im Haus ist prima, es fehlt einem an gar nichts. Wir haben uns stets sicher gefühlt, da man außer Windrauschen und Vögeln nicht viel anderes hört. Perfekt zum Entspannen und zum Seele baumeln lassen!

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 2700
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.096586833
Longitude: 18.381480999333334

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 35km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, a cot is available on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 16h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2010 - 13 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap