Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Both David and Virginia are super helpful and went to any lengths to make our stay wonderful. If you looking for a place to leave the Jo-burg hustle behind this is the place. It is tucked away in the beautiful Mapungubwe valley and views that are breath taking. The accommodation is a rustic charm. The communal kitchen has everything you need and more. David supplies wood and starts the boma fire every night, just in time to watch the African sunset. The rock art is worth seeing before they one day fade due to their age. We were fortunate to be 1 of 2 parties at Kaoxa. The other family (Ralf, Cath and James) were wonderful company. I believe the best time to see more wildlife on the farm is during the autum and winter months. The only caution, beware of the potholes between Alldays and Kaoxa, they are severe. We lost 1 tyre and damaged a 2nd (an unexpected expense). I suggest following the the road sign suggestions of 60kms at random stretches of the road.

March 2019

Sonja von Brucken (Sunninghill, Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was one of six places that we stayed at during a birding trip in January 2016. Kaoxa was a magical place, stunning scenery, wildlife and starry night skies. The accommodation is basic, but had absolutely everything that we needed, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The highlight was seeing two elephants walking just below the verandah of the dining area whilst we were having breakfast. Later in the day we saw many more elephants making their way through the bush. Not to mention the baboons, birds and lizards. I definitely want to return to Kaoxa the next time I visit South Africa.

January 2016

Andy Jones (OBAN, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an awesome time. The camp was beautiful, loved the swimming pool (practically lived in it) the boma and kitchen were great and the staff helpful. We saw 130 bird species in 2 days. We loved your very special Rock Art. Had a lovely time and will definitely be back!

March 2015

Jay Skyhawk (Jo burg)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was fantastic, what a view from the rooms. It was hot for us Joburgers. Luckily the pool saved us on many occasions!

March 2015

Piet du Preez (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A most memorable experience! Super friendly staff, beautiful scenery, wonderful sunsets and peace and quiet. We will definitely be back, seeing that Mapungubwe National Park is also situated so close to Kaoxa. Your views and especially the lookout over the Limpopo Valley with convenient benches to relax on, was divine. The only negative point was that it was over so quickly and the we had to return to the daily grind! Thank you Jabulani and Virginia for you hospitality!

June 2014

Jan van Rensburg (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have just returned to Kaoxa Camp, after a break of about 3 years. Probably the longest break for me and this magical place. Everything I have said before remains excepth that the game viewing is immeasurably better than it was and that puts it on a really high level. I must say, the elephant sighting I witnessed yesterday late afternnon ranks as one of the highlights of my many years in the bush. About 50+ ellies with very small babies and juveniles, plus a largish bull. All in a archtypal setting amongst the water, rocks and twilight. And the klipspringers did not disappoint. 3 of them straight up a VERY steep koppie. Ending with a really good fire, a few beers and a good braai. What more can you really ask from a bush break.

January 2013

MIke Joseph (Phalaborwa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Kaoxa Camp is one of the most beautiful places in South Africa. Remote and further from the madding crowd than you thought possible, this is a place to contemplate, relax and be refreshed. Whether you are gazing over the vast Limpopo floodplain or studying the colourful gecko's basking on the rocks, the result is the same; the beauty fills your soul. Visit the historical rock art and the ancient elephant paths, cool off in the pool, enjoy sundowners under a baobab, or on the rocks atop a koppie, the choice is yours. Enjoy!

December 2010

Jane Tennant (Tzaneen)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been staying at Kaoxa for over 10 years now on and off. There are few place to match the solitude and absolute peace ones finds when sitting outside and just gazing at the valley below you. The nights are equally spectacular with unspoilt star vistas above and a decent mopane fire as company. The sighting of game, including elephants, lion is good, but its the klipspringer, and the kudu silhouetted against a koppie that really makes it. I know little about art and yet this is the one place that inspires me to inspect the rock art every time I'm there. A visit to the dam is equally mandatory for a sundowner. There are a few spots on the property where a sundowner with a sunset that is unmatched is heaven on earth. The host has indepth knowledge of the biology/geology/ecology of the area and is a fount of information. Not to mention a good guy. If you want aplace to regather yourself emotionally and psychologically, and just be with the those you love, and with yourself, and immersed in all Nature's sensations, the this is the place. Bonne relaxation./

May 2010

Mike Joseph (Phalaborwa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 869
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.