Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful venue well equipped there was a few broken chairs on the deck but there was enough camping chairs to seat us all. Overall the venue was stunning with the most beautiful view

September 2020

Marilyn J. (Discovery)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow and wow again. I have been to many self catering houses around the country and I could not believe what Lea offered in hers. Very thoughtful and has really made it a mission to make the house comfortable for her guests. There is nothing short in this house and of course Lea is sooo helpful to add to the many positives.Thank you again Lea from all 12 of your guests.

January 2020

maggie n. (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome place, enjoyed every second of our stay at Idwala over the past weekend!! 10/10!!!

February 2019

Reece Zietsman (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is the perfect bush break in the perfect house with all the bells and whistles you'll ever need and an absolutely incredible host.

February 2019

Clayton Drotsky (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Magical Place, fully equipped and lacking nothing. Clean, relaxing, Thank you Lea, will be back.

October 2018

Christine Groenewald (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Of the places I have stayed in Mabalingwe... Idwala View is my absolute favorite! Lea is always very friendly and happy to help. We will definitely be back!

August 2018

Claire Reston (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this absolutely stunning house. The views are exceptional, one can spend all day sitting on the deck and staring at the expanse of bushveld and mountains that seem to stretch into forever. The house is beautifully decorated and has every amenity you can think of. It was thoroughly clean and tidy on our arrival and Lea and her team did everything to ensure that our stay would be comfortable. We will most certainly be back

May 2018

Inge Marais (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

My family and I stayed at Idwala View for a weekend to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday. The house is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you need, even baking utensils that we needed. The house and rooms are very comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed our stay. Lea is very organised, she made sure we had a wonderful memorable stay. The house is highly recommended! Thank you for everything.

March 2018

Linette Human (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Idwala View completely exceeded all our expectations. Lea was an amazing host from the small touches of welcoming us to being available anytime we had a question to just having an extremely beautifully kept home. Will definitely return and would absolutely recommend this as a perfect vacation spot to anyone including families with children. So peaceful and beautiful couldn’t speak more highly of our over all experience. Thank you Lea, really and truly

February 2018

Olivia Williford (United States)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful house with amazing views over the Bushveld, and equipped with everything you could possibly need (the ice-maker was especially appreciated in the 34-degree heat...). Lea is incredibly well organised and this ensured that we knew exactly what to expect and what to do on arrival and departure

January 2018

Deidre Lotter (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Idwala View is truly exceptional, beautiful views and well appointed property. The 4 bedrooms with en-suites are spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. This house can easily cater for big groups. We stayed for 4 nights during Jan 2018 with our extended family. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped and we loved the fact that there were two fridgefreezers and an ice machine. An additional bar fridge was located on the deck. The pool was great to cool down and has beautiful vistas across the reserve. We had use of the game viewing vehicle which proofed to be a game changer since the animals were located in areas accessible to the green game viewing vehicles only. We experienced a power and water supply problem due to a thunderstorm. This was quickly addressed and resolved satisfactory.It was a pleasure to deal with Lea. We can definitely recommend Idwala View and will return in future

January 2018

Ansie Jansen Van Vuuren (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the privilege of staying at Idwala View for 9 days over Christmas / New Year during December 2017. We were an extended family group of 14 people with ages ranging from 8 years to 80 years. This has been one of the best equipped holiday accommodation we have ever rented across the world. The house easily accommodated a group this big and it never felt crowded. There were enough areas that even with a full house privacy and peace were guaranteed if needed. Simple things are often overlooked like having enough loungers and chairs for all but not in this case. The wide patio area (with swinging loungers/benches) and stunning pool area where you could do game viewing from the pool were absolutely wonderful. The security of the house was amazing. There is CCTV around the house and an electrical fence (high wooden poles with 2 thin wires running at the top) around the left-hand side of the house covering the boma, water tank and carport area to keep the elephants at a safe distance. There is a Trellidor Clear Vu system in front of one window per bedroom. This is a very high-security steel mesh window that will keep out mosquitos and other unwanted elements like snakes etc. There are Trellidor PolyBars (like a see-through burglar bar) on all opening windows that keep baboons out. We used the clay water purifier in the kitchen for our drinking water. The WIFI worked very well and the house came with plenty of games to keep everybody entertained regardless of their age. Booking the game vehicle in addition to the house is a must – we had the most amazing game drives each day. The deposit was returned very promptly – something not to be taken for granted if you ever had trouble getting a deposit back- especially as an international visitor. We had an incredible time. The setting is near perfect, the views are incredible as is the atmosphere. All our expectations were far exceeded! Nothing was too much trouble for Lea, the owner of this gorgeous house. We cannot recommend this house high enough. Thank you Lea for giving our family the opportunity to have an unforgettable holiday! We cannot wait for our next visit!

December 2017

Roelf Botha (United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such an amazing break away destination! The house is beautiful, well equipped and it was a pleasure dealing with Lea!

October 2017

Tracy Watson (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a weekend getaway!! Outstanding accommodation accompanied by excellent service provided by Lea. We will definitely be visiting this house in the near future.

October 2017

Bradley Manas (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful house and view! We loved our stay, will definitely be back!

October 2017

Caroline Josten (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    5,350
  • R
  • 4548
  • unit rate per night
    conditions apply
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.