Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Everything about Idle & Wild was enjoyable. The outdoor setting is picturesque, the room furnishings comfortable, the service commendable and the breakfasts a feast. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

August 2017

Jeff Murray (Stoneville, Western Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was my birthday weekend and the best gift was to be hosted at idle & wild. The stuff members were very friendly including their dogs hahahaha. The place was clean and tidy, very good for a romantic getaway holiday. I'm definitely going back again.

April 2014

Kgaugelo Mosomane (pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

beautiful place

January 2013

aubrey (jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed 1 night in the B&B room and 3 nights in the self-catering cottage. Both where spacious and clean. Wonderful garden with swimmingpool, perfect breakfast on the veranda.

May 2011

Thomassen (Zwolle)

Verified reviewexcellent

A five star B&B at an economy price. Wonderful, full breakfasts, clean accomodation, grounds are both beautiful and well maintained, hosts very cordial, lots of little extras...even washed our car! Why spend more when you can be so well cared for?

September 2009

Rev Alan Hall (USA)

Verified reviewvery good

Beautiful B&B with a lovely garden to stay in. Nice rooms and good breakfast. Friendly owners. A pitty that the pool was dirty so we could not swim while it was very hot. Advice: better maintenance of the pool.

January 2009

Rob and Annemie (Maastricht)

Verified reviewexcellent

we had a lovely yime. christie and darryl went out of their way to make us feel at home. i would recommend idle and wild for a wonderful break away. thanks

December 2008

nicolene (italia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent hosts very knowledgable about all activities and sightseeing locally and further affield. Rooms very clean and comfortable, good choice available for breakfast. In general extremley helpful with everything and couldn't do enough for you. Would definately stop again.

August 2008

Stuart Cross (peterborough uk)

Verified reviewexcellent

Idle and Wild is definitely the nicest place we stayed at and Darryl and Christie are most helpful hosts we got to know during our entire trip through South Africa. Darryl and Christie were always eager and able to advise us in every issue imagenable. On their recommendation we bought a WildCard which saved us quite a bit of money. Also the other Staff is very friendly. (e.g. after a day tour to the Kruger Park we found the next morning that the gardener had washed our car.) Breakfast was excellent and a perfect way to start the day. We also took advantage of the packed breakfast that gave us opportunity to get into the KNP nice and early. Also we felt very secure, as one had to pass 2 security gates to get onto the property, with the first gate allways being watched by a security guy. The garden is very impressive and is rich in birdlife and we found that Idle and Wild was the only place that looked nicer in reality than on the photos we found on the internet. If possible we will definitely come back!

July 2008

Rolf Galpin (Bensheim, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have to just say that we had a lovely time there and Christie and Darryl really went out of their to make us feel at home. The ambience is so charming and peaceful and it was exactly what we needed. Breakfast was something to really look forward to every morning. Darryl, the kids really enjoyed the quad-bike rides and they want to go again. Long story... short! I would recommend Idle and Wild to any couple or family who just want a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy what blessed us with. Big thumbs up to you guys...hoping to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Antoinette, Prince and Kids.

June 2008

Antoinette Mazibuko (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful and peaceful place! Our hosts were charming and helpful. On their recommendation we dined next door at 'Summerfields' which we found excellent!

April 2008

Moira Matthews (London)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,192
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Idle & Wild

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.