Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

I would like to compliment you & your staff – especially Faith – for the friendly & efficient service which I received during my stay at your facility. I will definitely put you on my list of “go there again”!!

November 2013

Rosanne Ludick (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Roy I just want to thank you for letting us stay at your place. It was most pleasent as usual. I did not expect the breakfast to come up to the room. That was a very big surprise. Thank you for everything. We will contact you first the next time we need some time away from home. And we will recommend your place for staying at to every one that we know. You are really one of the rare people that stay in PE that are as friendly as you are. Thank you again. Ashraf and joslynn

June 2013

Ashraf & Joslynn (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We would like to thank you for having the most wonderful time at your Lodge. The warmth, your Hospitality was the most wonderful experience, would recommend you anytime. I think you’re not getting rid of us very soon. They don’t call PE “the friendly City” for nothing. Janett

December 2012

Janett Kweta-Visser (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed 3 nights at Hunter's Lodge and really enjoyed it. A few days earlier our car broke down so we were delayed, but it was no problem for Roy - he even helped us by finding local mechanics for us. The lodge has a perfect location in a quiet neighborhood close to the big Greenacres mall. And both the breakfast and the pool is fantastic!

December 2012

Peter & Maja Fisker (Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

I had a most enjoyable stay at Hunter's Lodge for two weeks in December 2012. The room was quiet, spacious, clean and well equipped. Roy is the most hospitable and helpful person who also cooks a great breakfast. I would highly recommend this B & B. Laura

December 2012

Laura Elliott (Burlington, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hunter's Lodge is the place I would always recommend to my friends and family, it is awsome. Roy is so kind and he's making sure that you feel comfortable all the time, the rooms are so neat, he even prepares the breakfast himself.

March 2012

Fikiswa Ndoza (East London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just want to say thanks for the hospitality over the weekend. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Its great to stay at a place where everyone interacts and has a great chat at breakfast. Normally you sit at breakfast and everyone keeps to themselves. See you again Gavin

December 2011

Gavin Byl (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie vir jou gasvryheid en flink diens. Die kamers is baie netjies en gerieflik. Ons sal beslis weer kom oorslaap as ons in die omgewing is.

December 2011

Carla (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for everything, your lodge was awesome, safe and comfortable to stay in, We really enjoyed our stay there. Xoliswa Dyantyi Wild Coast Sun Revenue Controller

December 2011

Xoliswa Dyantyi (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

thank you once again Roy from the bottom of my heart, i enjoyed your food & chats @ breakfast. the room was spotless & thanks again for allowing us to fetch our bags later. you are the best!!!! :-)

October 2011

Pumza (Cape Town South Africa)

Verified reviewvery good

Myself and three friends spent six nights at Hunter's Lodge during the duration of the All Cape Bowling Tournament in June 2011. Although the weather was miserable it was a pleasure returning to the comfort of the lodge each evening. Further more, we all looked forward to the great breakfasts each morning prepared personally by Roy.

June 2011

Neville Whittaker (Plettenberg Bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been spending nearly a week at the Lodge owned by Roy. What an impresssive, cozy and warm welcoming it was indeed. The owner Roy really makes your stay enjoyable and i have decided no other place in PE will see me only Hunter's Lodge. Keep it up Roy, you are a peoples person. On a scale from 1 to 10 I would say 12

June 2011

Winston Petersen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place with fantastic accomodation. Great breakfast. Walking distance to big shopping centre. Rooms are clean etc...Strongly recommend. Ian

May 2011

Ian Radford (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We have stayed at Hunter's Lodge several times. We deeply appreciate the comfort and hospitality. Our volunteer work brings us to Port Elizabeth once each year for a two week stay. Not only is our room comfortable, but the lounge areas give us a place to meet, plan, and get ready for the day ahead.

March 2011

Joanne Robbins (Seattle - USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been fortunate enough to have spent a month at Hunter's Lodge covering the World Cup football for my company. I have had an absolute terrific time at this place, thanks to the warm hospitality of Roy and his staff. On a scale of 1 to 10, a most outstanding 10. If you want to feel the spirit and vigour of South Africa through this wonderful place, I'd seriously recommend you stay here on your next visit to PE. And Roy's an amazing cook as well!

June 2010

Dennis Passa (Sunrise Beach, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just a kind note to thank you for the very warm hospitality that I experienced at your lovely place. I particularly liked the personal touch that you, the owner, lent to the whole experience, such as preparing breakfast yourself. And oh, many thanks for waiting on me earlier than your nornal hours during my stay. Kind regards, Abe Ngoepe

May 2010

Abe Ngoepe (Middelburg - E/cape)

Verified reviewexcellent

As a business traveller, I was looking for no frills, no fuss and a spotlessly clean and private room to sleep and work in. I found exactly this at Hunter's Lodge, including excellent breakfasts prepared by Roy himself, including friendly chatter at breakfasts, with all the guests joining in. I have not enjoyed staying at a guest house in a very long time, as much as I enjoyed staying at Hunter's Rest. Thank you, Roy.

May 2008

Koos v/d Spuy (CapeTown)

Verified reviewvery good

Had a most enjoyable stay. The website gives an accurate description of the hospitality and facilities.

March 2008

Doug (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you once again. It really felt like home. Your hospitality was superb.

February 2008

Nadiema G (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thnk you for your hospitality, we had a great time.

November 2007

Zanele M (Queenstown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ons bedank jou vir jou gasvryheid. Ons sal jou altyd onthou. Jacinda, Christine, Jocina & Newline

November 2007

Weskus Fisheries (Lamberts Baai)

Verified reviewvery good

Breakfast was wonderful and the location perfect.

October 2007

Stephen Forbes (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

I would like to thank Roy most kindly for the kindness he displayed to my wife Janice while I was in hospital. Knowing she was being taken care of so well made things much easier for me.

June 2007

Dr Ian F (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE GREAT PLACE TO BE. ROY IS DOING AN ABSOLUTE GREAT JOB AT RUNNING HUNTERS LODGE.HE'S FRIENDLY AND REALLY MAKES YOU FEEL AT HOME.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HUNTERS LODGE TO ANYONE. THANK YOU ROY

October 2004

TRACY (PORT ELIZABETH)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 580
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Hunter's Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.