Reviews & Comments

Showing 29 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Horizon Cottages is a great place to unwind in the charming village ambience. We liked the Guinea Fowls roaming in the garden (for whom the Guinea Fowl cottage is named) and the informal home from home approach. Rates are very reasonable and the accomodation is cheerful, spacious and clean

September 2017

Caroline (Chicago)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ek wil baie dankie se vir die heerlike verblyf by Horizon Cottages, ons het dit waarlik baie geniet. Dit was baie rustig daar en baie dankie vir julle gasvryheid en vriendelikheid julle het ons sowaar dadelik laat tuis voel. Indien 'n geleentheid weer opduik sal ons definitief weer van julle gebruik maak. Alles van die beste vir julle!

July 2017

Marlene (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Best accommodation for family holidays. We would all like to say a BIG thank you to you for such an enjoyable stay at your Cottages. You made us so welcome and were kind and helpful. A special thank you to Dennis, who gave us some fantastic information about Cape Town, places to go etc, - that was fantastic. We will certainly be recommending your accommodation to our friends and hope that we can return some time.

October 2014

Winnie Zwane (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Really lovely place. Thanks for your warm hospitality and for all your help as well. Really appreciated. We will be back !

March 2014

Charlene and Lionel (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our first time in CT and we found the best place to stay. Very relaxing place and friendly hosts. We thank you for your hospitality and are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

November 2013

Noel and Yolande Grierson (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was wonderful to be back at Horizon cottages and Dennis and Jo made us so welcome, and were so helpful. The new pool deck is great and we had a marvelous time thanks. The Woodlands UK

February 2013

Amanda Woodland (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow, it was a pleasure to stay here for our family reunion; Dennis you really made our stay in Cape Town a lot more enjoyable, thanks. We felt at home and we really had an awesome time. We will be back!

January 2013

Charlene Webster (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We found Horizon Cottages to be an absolutely brilliant and affordable place to get our whole family together in the two adjoining cottages. Many thanks to Dennis for looking after us so well during our holiday.

July 2012

Anne Grant (Brisban Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Noordhoek is beautiful, fantastic location for visiting the cape; the kids loved Fish Hoek and Boulders beach which were only a short drive away. The pool was great for the kids and for us to relax after a day of exploring and was safely enclosed so as parents we felt confident letting the children run in the garden. The cottage was beautifully furnished. The service we received was excellent and we would certainly love to return in the future.

April 2012

Paul Chaplin (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely stay! Thank you for your hospitality and kindness. It was like being home - but at the sea!! The facilities are perfect for self catering holiday makers and we were very sad to leave. Thank you for an awesome holiday...

January 2012

Michelle (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Dennis and Jo- we had a wonderful time, Your place is amazing, peaceful and feels like home. We had a wonderful time enjoying all the attractions of Cape Town, Wish we could have stayed longer; thank you and God Bless.

December 2011

Nokuthula Mkhwanazi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay at Horizon Cottages. After battling to find somewhere to go with a toddler it was a pleasure to finally stay somewhere which really had thought about a young family. The cottage was quiet and very comfortable and had room enough for us as well as the accessories that come with a 2 year old. The pool is fenced and there is a beautiful fenced lawn in front of the cottage where our very active boy could run, play, chase and generally just expend energy while we braaied or lazed before and after heading off to do the tourist thing. The service was friendly and efficient and we felt comfortable enough to ask for help with whatever we needed. We had a great time that unlike many other places minimized the stress of leaving one's comfort zone with a small child.

September 2011

Robyn Bell (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful time at Horizon Cottages; accomodation was very good neat and clean and lacked nothing. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and peaceful, and we made so many new discoveries in surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

August 2011

Barbara Keogh (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were in Horizons in August 2011; the 2nd time, because we love this place. The place is clean, safe, comfortable and affordable, and you'll get great value for money. Because it is selfcatering you can live your own schedule and brings you al lot of freedom. The view is marvellous!. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, making feeling you very welcome. Noordhoek is a quiet little village, from wich you have an easy access to Cape Town, the winelands and the peninsula. There is a good mall nearby. Which way you go, the road leads you through beautiful scenery. And after your activities Horizons is a good place to rest and feel "at home". Whenever we visit the Western Cape, Horizons will be the place to be. Thanks so much, Dennis and Jo.

August 2011

Germa Zeijen (Netherlands)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you Dennis and Jo for an awesome "home away from home" experience. Your establishment is great value for money, especially for Cape Town. Very spacious and modern. We were truly blessed to find such a gem in beautiful Cape Town and our kids had a ball. Thank you for a great time and see you soon, I'm sure!

April 2011

Sam Lawrence (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We initially selected Horizon Holiday cottages due to its proximity to where a friend lives in Cape Town, and we found a gem of a location to stay in. We had one of the Cabanas and the the owners were fantastic throughout our stay, giving us a warm welcome, a thorough run down of services in the immediate area and were always on hand for any requests. The accommodation itself was perfect for us, comfortable, spacious and pleasant. The best bit by far was the balcony, which was a very pleasant place to sit at dusk with a drink and a book and we enjoyed some epic sunsets from there. The pool was right on hand as was the BBQ (braai!) and there was WIFI Internet access (for a relatively small - per MB - charge). The self-catering facilities were excellent, although with so many great places to eat in Noordhoek and Cape Town we never really needed them. To sum up, we couldn’t have been any happier with selecting this as our base for such a memorable holiday, it was very affordable (I would say a bargain), perfectly located, peaceful and comfortable. I can’t recommend enough, plus, if you are the type that wishes to divert your money away from the big monopolising chains that span the globe, you can feel good that you are supporting a small, well run family business. We will certainly use it on our next trip to Cape Town.

April 2011

Sarah O'Boyle (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dennis, Thank you very much for a pleasant stay in a clean and well kept Cabana and Captain's Cottage. We especially appreciate the advise and effort you went through to configure our bookings for the most cost effective stay. We will definitely recommend you to all our friends, family and anybody else visiting Cape Town. Hope to visit you, and that beautiful part of the country soon again!

March 2011

Peut Kotze (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for hosting us during the first weekend of December. The accommodation surpassed our best expectations for the weekend. I'm sure we'll be visiting your cottages soon and will most definitely recommend this place to everyone who requires some time out of the city. Thanks again.

December 2010

Stuart More (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved staying in the cottage. It was lovely, comfortable and clean and the furnishing was more than adequate. Thank you for looking after us so well - Sylvia was so welcoming. So much so that my girls watched a movie with her little one while we had a quick nap when we eventually arrived (having woken up at 3.30 to catch a 6am flight). We have passed on your details to some of our friends that are heading your way this year. Kind regards Mel Walker

December 2010

Melody (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We are owners of a guest house in the Berea, so we know what standard should be offered to guests, and we really enjoyed our stay at Horizon Holiday Cottages. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in Cape Town.

April 2010

stacy grundy (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your amazing hospitality and for all your help and assistance when my car broke down. You guys really went the extra mile and we are very grateful for that. That is what is called excellent service. You guys went way beyond the call of duty. It was such a pity that our stay got cut short as we love your place so much but we definitely will be back very soon. Xavier and Robyn

January 2010

Xavier Inglis (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for all the arrangements you have made to make all our family that came down for the wedding so comfortable. With your help a big 'job' seemed easy and became 'hassle' free. Every-one could not praise you enough for being so accommodating with all the special requests they had. We will continue to recommend your cottages to every-one that plans to visit Cape Town. Thank you very much for all the arrangements you have made to make all our family that came down for the wedding so comfortable. With your help a big 'job' seemed easy and became 'hassle' free. Every-one could not praise you enough for being so accommodating with all the special requests they had. We will continue to recommend your cottages to every-one that plans to visit Cape Town.

December 2009

Susana Pereira (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our family recently enjoyed a week- long stay at Horizon Holiday Cottages, and thoroughly enjoying our holiday. We found it to be a nice quiet spot in which to relax when we were not touring all the beautiful sites of Cape Town. Their rates are affordable and we particularly liked the fact that the cottage came fully equipped for self catering which allowed us to prepare the kind of meals that we enjoy but which are not always available from local restaurants.. If you want relaxing holiday accommodation with all the conveniences of home then you should choose to stay here.

November 2009

Anjum Mukkadum (Mumbai)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our time at the cottage and would like to thank you for the wonderful accommodation and relaxed atmosphere. It has made a huge difference to us as we really needed to have a battery re-charge. We will be back

December 2008

Debbie Wild (United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome!!!!! I have two young children, 6 and 8 respectively, and I did not see them the whole weekend we were at the cottages. Lovely, clean and very safe. Thanks Dennis for a lovey place to just get away.

October 2008

Tracey Dugmore (Melkbosstrand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Horizon Cottages - is definitely one of the best accommodation venues in Western Cape! So neat & clean & beautifully decorated cottages / this is very important to us - cleanliness - and we have never been disappointed! Dennis has always made our stay very comfortable. His always helpful & willing to go the extra mile! Thank you for the amazing service & for the relaxing little "paradise" you offer!

August 2008

Portia (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Horizon Cottages is the best self-catering accommodation in Cape Town. If you,family or friends need a peaceful and relaxing weekend or holiday, Horizon Cottages is the place. Go and meet owner Dennis and his wonder for great comfort and service. See you again in December Dennis.

December 2007

Romeo Coltman (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dennis is a very friendly and helpful host. We enjoyed our holiday in the spacioous and comfortable cottage, and will certainly recommend it to friends in the UK. Horizon Cottages is a great base to explore the Cape Peninsula

October 2007

Bonnita Pennington (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in Cottage 2, decorated in fresh beach colours. My first reaction was : I could live here forever. Horizon Cottages is beautifully kept, and a great place for a relaxing holiday or weekend.

September 2007

Dianna (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 750
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Horizon Cottages

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.