Hippo Hills is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (73 reviews)

Hippo Hills

Self Catering at Farm Whiskey, 10 Bosch Rd, Komatipoort, 1340, Mpumalanga, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 73 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 73 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2017

Excellent

Review by George Dragneĺ (Bryanston)

Amazing location with a stunning view! Very well equipped, very clean!
It was one of the most pleasant holiday we ever had! I highly recommend it!

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Angela Brighton (Johannesburg)

Would love to come back! We had an absolutely amazing stay at Hippo Hills. The views of the crocodile river are amazing. We seen elephants, a rhino, giraffe, hippo, crocodile, buffalo and buck from our patio. The splash pool was so refreshing and was lovely to sit there and watch the animals at the river. The house was well equipped and when we had a problem the maintenance staff came quickly to resolve the problem. In the resort itself, we went to the restaurant, La Fera for a dinner time meal. I would not recommend this as the food was not of a very high standard. A braai at the house is a better option. If I went to the restaurant again I would only go at lunch time for a sandwich or pizza. Otherwise, a totally awesome time was had by all and we would definitely love to come back!

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Birgitta Glibbery (Johannesburg)

The photos and write ups on the Internet do not do this place justice. We thought it would be nice, but it was so much more! Beautiful home, beautiful yard, beautiful location. We planned to spend our days doing self drives in Kruger but found it too hard to leave the pool. Watched all the wildlife right from the deck. A perfect way to end our holiday.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Mark Lasarow (Canada)

I am an ex South African and brought some Canadian friends to the Kruger Park - Hippo Hills. The accommodation was fantastic and we had such a good time we are planning on returning every year. For the vacation of a lifetime do not hesitate - Hippo Hills is the best. Enjoy.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Rick Engelbrecht (South Africa)

Wellness & Spa Thumbs Up!
Excellent. Very nice place right on the brink of the crocodile river. One of the very few places where the pictures are actually a true reflection. A great place to sit back, relax and take in the sites. Definitely recommend this one.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Kagiso Matswalela (Johannesburg)

World class tourist destination. Highly recommend it, i cant fault it in any how. There is a lot to do and you will need a month to be fully satisfied. Dont rob yourself by just going for a weekend, stay longer and enjoy more at almost nothing. My favourite destination thus far in SA

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Mashudu (Johannesburg)

My stay was world class

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Susan Amos (Johannesburg)

We had a fantastic time at Hippo Hills.Everything was to perfection. The view was absolutely amazing. Thank you

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Bernice Vd Meijden (Johannesburg)

We had a wonderful time, thank you! We will certainly be back in summer!

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Jean (Johannesburg)

Wonderful, such a super place

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Jean (Johannesburg)

Wonderful such a super place.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Brent Wilkins (Johannesburg)

Awesome location and facilities

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Kevin & Elaine - Hawkeye Safaris (Johannesburg)

WE HAD A FANTASTIC STAY AT HIPPO HILLS.The maintanace staff were absolutely superb in dealing with minor things that we requested them to do.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Brian Norfolk (South Africa)

Hippo Hills is as good as ever, a couple of herds of elephant plus a rhino, buck etc. in addition to the usual hippo’s and crocs As usual, thank you for your help and I hope to be back in touch later in the year to book another visit

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Rob Mackinson (South Africa)

This was a magical vacation. Saw 4 of the big 5 from the swimming pool. Awesome.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Lynda (International)

We were a group of 7 visiting Hippo Hills for the first time in late October. The house is fantastic - very clean, spacious and beautifully presented. The location of the house and the view are absolutely spectacular. I've never experienced anything like this (and I've traveled extensively!)- watching hippos and elephants whilst enjoying a cold drink in the pool was a daily occurrence! I highly, highly recommend Hippo Hills!

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Roy Norman (Joburg)

This was our fourth or fifth visit and as usual was most enjoyable. Every facility available and super comfortable.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Eugenie Chopin (Joburg)

We just had a great stay at Hippo Hills. The accommodation was wonderful with lots of space for everyone. And the view was to die for! Exquisite sunsets over the river and elephants "playing" at night in the water. An easy drive to Crocodile Gate in the Kruger where much game was available. Will not hesitate to go back.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Lorinda Smit (Joburg)

We had a wonderful time, thanks. We will definitely be taking the house again around the same time next year.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Mary And Andrew Lebish (International)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hippo Hills and wish it could have been longer. It is a little piece of heaven and such peace and tremendous scenery allowed us to enjoy the wild life in its natural state. Elephants, hippos (including a baby about 1-2 days old), rhinos, buffalo,fish eagles, kudu, bush buck, waterbuck, impala and crocodiles all seen from the patio! The splash pool was used greatly in the high temperatures +36C!One day we hope to return.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Brian Norfolk (Joburg)

We stayed for a second time in February this year, it was just after the floods so virtually no animals were coming to the river, unlike the previous year when we saw a wide variety including Elephant, Rhino and Buffalo. Hippo Hills is in a stunning location and has luxurious accommodation which is as described on the website. We hope to be returning again soon and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Although the sightings from Hippo Hills were less good this year, those in the Park, which is a short drive away along a road which was being tarred while we were there, were excellent, the big five in a two hour afternoon drive on our last day.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Kelly And Scott (Johannesburg)

Overwhelmed with Hippo Hills! Just a quick email to say thank you so very much for the congrats hamper & card we got when we got to Hippo Hills. It was really a great surprise, the card was cute and so appropriate, the hamper itself is sooo yummy. We were overwhelmed with Hippo Hills, honestly it is truely amazing and a perfect choice for us. We will be back. All our Love, Kelly & Scott Mitchell

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Roy (Joburg)

We love Hippo Hills. It provides everything we want for a holiday in the Kruger Park. Spacious, elegant accommodation. Extensive self-catering equipment, nearby shops for meat and groceries, and a restaurant if we return home exhausted and need some liquid refreshment and a tasty meal. The views of animals in the Crocodile River from the Lodge are always interesting views and are constantly changing. Cannot wait to return.

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Joyce Zeilstra (Netherlands)

We are back at home in the Netherlands, after 7 unforgetable days in Hippo Hills! It´s so beautiful! The house, the views, the elephants, buffalos, rhinos, impalas, waterbucks and all the birds...incredible! Next year we´ll come back and stay longer!

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Robin Davey (Joburg)

We had a really good time, with great viewing from our house. Rhino, elephant and buffalo every day plus the usual game, and one day a pride of 10 lions - 2 huge males, and plenty of females plus cubs spent the whole day on the bank opposite the house. We are serious birders, and as September is peak birding time, that part was excellent.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Roy Norman (Joburg)

September 2011 was our third visit in the last twelve months which indicates how much we enjoy Hippo Hills. We have always been extremely happy there and cannot wait for another visit in 2012. Best Wishes Roy

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Emma Price (Joburg)

Hippo hills is by far the most beautiful place I have ever been. The sunsets in south Africa are breath taking and we were able to get the most incredible view just by sitting outside by the pool. The enviroment is so relaxing and the accommodation was outstanding, with shops, restaurant and bar, children's area, tennis courts and mini golf course a few minutes walk from our front door, as well as there being many game drive reserves a short drive away. We are so greatful for being able to have the experience of staying in such a beautiful house and area and we would reccommend Hippo Hills to anyone.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Clive And Sue Rice (Johannesburg)

We had a wonderful stay at Hippo Hills. Very comfortable home with all the special touches as well as a superb view into the Kruger. Lovely Ellies most days as well as a variety of eagles and other superb birds and game. Buffalo, Hippo, crocs. Ellies having a bit of a disagreement just over the river - fun to watch from the pool. Thanks for the great experience.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Crista Bennett (United Kingdom)

Very good value for money My family from the UK were enthralled at the location and the wonderful game viewing we had from the house itself. Apart from all the birdlife, frogs, giant stick insects and lizards we experienced viewings of elephant, buffalo, water buck, crocodile, hippos frolicking in the river and much more. The accommodation is superb and very good value for money. We will definitely be going back, hopefully in winter.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Tanya Bohn (South Africa)

Experiencing the true South Africa There are just no words to describe such an amazing place, what a piece of paradise. Hippo Hills is what the true South Africa is all about. I am looking forward to the next visit..

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Judith Pollock (South Africa)

Absolutely wonderful! Such an experience to be so close to nature yet far enough away to watch but not intrude.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by A & M Brown (Australia)

An excellent was had at Hippo Hills the views of the river including the game- elephants, buffalo, etc - hard to beat and fulfilled one of our dreams to see Kruger Nat Park and the animals . It was a long flight from Australia but we love S/ Africa and our time at Hippo hills.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Tanya Sack (South Africa)

Hippo Hills is a true get away. Peaceful, beautiful and just great fun. I have been a couple of times and every time has been incredible. I would recommend the place to anyone who is a nature lover but i would recommend it even more to anyone who needs just needs to relax and take it easy for a little while. Dont think twice about this marvellouse place.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Grant Maidment (South Africa)

What a place, great for relaxing and the kid's love it too. Great game viewing right from your own patio and pool. Would advise everyone to try it , Thanks again !!!!!!

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Evi Tsioli (Greece)

The house was big and comfortable with an excellent view. Everyday we saw hippos swimming and playing in Crocodile river. We saw some buffalos too. Children were very excited. Hippo Hills is a fantastic place and we had a great time!"

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Mark Chasey (South Africa)

The place was great and the crocodiles amazing especially the attack on the water monitor. Thoroughly enjoyed the company and the braai and hope to be back soon.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Salochanna Golden (South Africa)

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hippo Hills. The unit was very comfortable. We wanted for nothing: and this made for a very relaxing stay. We loved the fact that that we could watch the animals at such close proximity at the watering hole. We saw some awesome sights. A herd of elephants visited one morning and we watched them for some time as they moved up the river. At one point a matriach kept chasing a male elephant away and was keeping it away from the herd. This was fascinating to watch. It was clear that the male elephant was being ousted from the herd. My son spent an hour videoing a fight between two male elephants with the water buck scattering in all directions in the river: so dramatic, so African, so good to see animals in their own habitat, free to be who they are. A herd of water buck stayed with us throughout our stay and we have some beautiful shots of the single male with a group of females. We saw lots of buffalo, a "resident" crocodile (beautiful to watch: sometimes cruising the river, sometimes sunbathing with its mouth menacingly wide open !)and giraffe. It was awesome to watch the different animals communing at the river rather than only by themselves, as is often the case when you visit the Park itself. Having said that though we also visited the park itself and were blessed to see all the big five. The night sounds were awesome and we heard hyena and lion. Thank you thank you thank you for a most memorable stay: my children had enjoyed themselves so throughly that I want to request a weeks booking in April: please let us know prices for South African residents. We truly hope that we can enjoy your hospitality next year at an affordable price. We would like to request the very same unit. Thanks and warm regards Salochanna Golden PS We hope to provide you with photos soon.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Valda (Canada)

We had a wonderful stay at Hippo Hills and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely accommodation etc. We celebrated my birthday there and had a lot of fun with our Canadian and Knysna families. We also had some very good sightings of animals – 2 leopard one morning, a herd of 24+ elephant one afternoon, and of course the buffalo, crocodile and water buck.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Lester McNulty (Joburg)

Pledged to come back! We had a marvelous stay and even pledged to come back with more of our boys plus grandchildren. Les McNulty

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Susan March (Johannesburg)

We had a fabulous time at Hippo Hills – it truly is a piece of heaven. We saw 3 of the big five from the patio – jumbo, buffalo and leopard. We were very lucky to see leopard in the tree across the river while sitting outside. He was around for about ½ hours before he unfortunately moved on. The home is well equipped and had all that we needed. The weather was good to us too. So all in all we had a great time and would love to come back sometime in the future.

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Susan March (South Africa)

We had a fabulous time at Hippo Hills – it truly is a piece of heaven. We saw 3 of the big five from the patio – jumbo, buffalo and leopard. We were very lucky to see leopard in the tree across the river while sitting outside. He was around for about ½ hours before he unfortunately moved on. The home is well equipped and had all that we needed. The weather was good to us too. So all in all we had a great time and would love to come back sometime in the future.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Kerry Nimmto (Johannesburg)

We had a truly wonderful break at Hippo Hills! It is such a lovely place! We spotted Buffalo, Hippo, Crocs, various buck and some Elephant from the deck. Even though it was a bit cool, we still braved a swim or two and made the most of the clear starry nights, beautiful! We also visited the restaurant on the Saturday for breakfast which happened to be my birthday and besides the food being delicious, they even managed to pull together a crowd to sing Happy Birthday with a candle and cake, all overlooking the beautiful scenery, it was very special! I also loved the spa and was spoilt with a facial, massage and pedi…absolute bliss! We found all the facilities in the house great and felt quite at home. We will hopefully be privileged enough to visit again and we will do so happily and recommend it to all our friends too!

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Richard Gill (Johannesburg)

Thanks so much for letting us stay at Hippo Hills, what a lovely wedding gift – it allowed us to truly unwind after a very stressful period. We envisaged trekking into Kruger a few times, but found that just staying at Hippo Hills and looking at the offerings walking by was almost as productive, and far more restful. What a lovely experience, thank you!!!

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Stallo Paraskeva (Johannesburg)

Hippo Hills was really wonderful. The views were outstanding. We spotted 4 lionesses on our last day, hunting for water buck which was the highlight!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by David Bailey (Johannesburg)

Thank you so much for letting us have the pleasure of staying at your fabulous house `Hippo Hills`. From the day we arrived till the day we left we had an assortment of animals come down to the river. On day one, two young Rhino had a few skirmishes until a buffalo decided he had had enough and charged them both. A visit from a herd of elephants was highlighted by the sight of a baby no more than a few days old before they disappeared into the long grass besides the river. The highlight must be the absolute splendor of seeing six large lions—two magnificent males and four females who appeared at 10.30 in the morning and left in a hunting formation at 6 pm that night. All day we watched them but having a sundowner while watching the lions saunter off as the sun set to a perfect African evening will certainly bring us back again. Seeing four of the big five without having to drive and from the luxury of your fantastic house is our idea of `Game Viewing.`

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Lenet Van Der Merwe (Nelspruit)

The week-end was awesome. I am only sorry that I couldn't leave on Friday to spend an extra day there. I will definitely tell all my friends and family about the wonderful time we had.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Cynthia And Larry Miller (Joburg)

We enjoyed ourselves greatly!! The house is lovely and is very well provisioned. Thanks again!! We are so looking forward to our April visit. Keep well!!

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Bernice Himmler (Switzerland)

I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart, for the wonderful hospitality and the really great time I had at your really super lodge in the most magnificent setting. You have a real paradise there and I can only agree whole heartedly with Heinz, when he says "life does not get any better than this!" - I totally agree!

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Mariskha Johnson (United Kingdom)

It was great!!!! We could not stop talking about it and the view was brilliant. My friends and family enjoyed every minute of it. We are definitily going back again. Thanks

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Amy Dawson (Johannesburg)

I just wanted to write to say what an incredible time we had at Hippo Hills! Despite some dodgy weather to begin with, we were able to shuffle our game drives around and had a couple of days just relaxing in the garden - spotting leopard, elephant, hippos and water buffalo with a glass of wine in hand! The maid (Leah) was fantastic, and kept everything clean and tidy for us. The house was brilliantly equipped, with all we needed. It was a perfect example of luxury bush living! A great way to introduce our family to why we love South Africa. We will certainly recommend it to any large parties travelling to the Kruger. Kind regards, Amy

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Bruce Morrison (Johannesburg)

Congratulations on a wonderful well thought out lodge, we really enjoyed our stay and you can’t help but relax.
Thanks for the hospitality it was truly a memorable weekend.
Thanks

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Marianne Nolting (Johannesburg)

Hi there,
Your house is paradise on earth and thank you so much for allowing us to stay!!!!
Marianne

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Sam Maye (Johannesburg)

Just a note to say thank you very much! We had a fantastic weekend, much needed rest and the pleasure of a herd of Elephants spending an entire day with us! The house is great and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Thanks again
Philip and Sam Maye

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Willene Van Der Merwe (Johannesburg)

Thank you, we all had a wonderful time! and we will definitely be back!
We saw the big 5 (leopard included) in the park, in 3 hours...how amazing!
My family was also VERY impressed with the accommodation and the whole experience.
I will most definitely advise my clients about Hippo Hills
Thanks again, Willene

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Rob Moerman (Netherlands)

Best wishes for 2009 and again many thanks that we could stay in your lovely house. As I wrote in your book, the moment we arrived (half past four) at your house we saw a whole herd of elephants from which two elephants where enjoying the small trees at your neighbours as you can see on the attached foto's. We loved the views with rhino, buffalo, giraffe, warthog, etc. except hippo's and lions.
We hope to visit you again and wish you the best.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Tom Butler (Johannesburg)

Sascha it was a great stay. The house was super and everyone loved it. There was a small problem with one a/c which was fixed the next day - very responsive management team! We saw loads of game from the stoep - will send photos once we have sorted them...

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Thelma Meng (Namibia)

Hi Sascha - thank you so much for the excellent accommodation that you booked for us. The Hippo Hills accommodation was the absolute highlight of the whole trip. Even just now during lunch, the whole group again expressed their highlights, and it was Hippo Hills. We just reaslised that we should have turned the whole tour around and should have visited Hippo Hills at the end of our tour. There was no accommodation thereafter that could top Hippo Hills. I have already in Mopane and will again in Namibia spread the word of Hippo Hills, just magnificent!

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Seipati Mosime (Johannesburg)

We had a fantastic time at the house, everything was perfect and the view to the dam was amazing co's every day we would see the Elephants, the Hippo's, Rhino's as well as the Impala's while chilling at the balcony. The time was honestly short as there were lots of activities to be done around the area, we hope to come back for the whole week which would give us more time to enjoy nature.

I would like to thank you for allowing us this amazing experience that we would treasure for ever.
Take Care

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Gilles Duniau (France)

We had a so wonderful stay at hippo hills that we cancelled our early departure the day after for a safari to spend some more time at the magnificent house
We have been visited by a buffalo and hippos on the other side of the river
see you.
gilles duniau

March 2008

Excellent

Review by France Gelinas (Montreal, Canade)

Hi Sascha…My name is France Gélinas from Montréal, Canada…
I want to say thank you for all you did to make us realize one of our dreams. The scenery was so spectacular from the house. Everything went perfect. We will always keep good memories.

The kids had a very good experience that they will be talking for a long period. Now,.. I m back in the snow it's minus 9 We had 2 snowstorms while we were in your country.

Bye, Hope to talk to you again
France


March 2008

Excellent

Review by Vicky Nielsen (Johannesburg)

I would like to Thank you for our wonderful stay at hippo Hills over the weekend. The House was absolutely beautiful and the view breathtaking.
We were lucky enough to see Hippos, Wildebees, and Rhino. It was amazing to wake in the morning to the sounds of the wide variety of bird life.

I would like to thank the staff of hippo hills as they were very professional and helpfull. We would definately be returning.

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Simon And Jackie (United Kingdom)

Hippo Hills provides a perfect location for anyone to appreciate a trip to the Kruger. This is not only true for those who have been before, but also for first time visitors to the area. The location, overlooking the Crocodile Kruger was serene and picturesque. To add to this the facilities in this thatched house were perfect, both inside and out, compounded by the fact that from the infinity pool we were able to watch dozens of elephants congregate on the overlooking Crocodile river banks - our stay at Hippo Hills was a stunning experience!

February 2008

Excellent

Review by Gillian Smith (Johannesburg)

Thanks so much for a wonderful few days in your gorgeous house!! The accommodation and facilities was exceptional and we really had a wonderful time.

Each morning we were up bright and early to get to the Crocodile Bridge Gate by 5.30am then we would return back to the house around midday. Our afternoons were spent relaxing in the lovely pool and game watching as the animals came down to drink along the river bed. We saw some spectacular sightings of elephant and the young ones were adorable. We had wonderful weather and were able to sit outside in the evenings enjoying the wonderful tranquility of the bush.

I will jump at any change to stay at Hippo Hills again in the future.

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Tienie Loots (Johannesburg)

I would like you to know that we really had a most enjoyable stay at Hippo Hills. We haven’t been to the Game Reserve in some time, but can assure you that I cannot imagine seeing any more game in the Park as from the comfort of the absolute Five Star view from the stoep.

We had the privilege of having an Elephant at our back door emptying the dustbin. I think the Four days we had was just not enough and would most definitely make use of it again.
Best Regards Tienie & Family

August 2007

Excellent

Review by David Bailey (Johannesburg)

Fantastic, we had a great break and Hippo Hills was fantastic.

Sightings from the house were Elephant, Buck, Buffalo, Crocodiles and right in front 5 Lions. The best of all was a visit from an enormous Elephant to the house. When it was spotted it was standing right outside the one downstairs bedroom in the front by the swimming pool. It slowly moved round to the front where it opened the dustbin hatch door and took out the rubbish bin and put his trunk up through the hole into the kitchen. When we opened the front door he came right up to it and spread his ears and just stood there, what a magnificent sight and what a big animal. After that he slowly walked off into the night---we saw him the next morning across the river. I will send you the photographs when my overseas visitors can get me copies but that was a great experience for them.

We really enjoyed everything and the rooms were great.
Thank you once again
Kind Regards, David Bailey

August 2007

Excellent

Review by Leanne Chaperon (Johannesburg)

Thank you so much for the house. We had a wonderful time, and my Swiss guests were very impressed both with the house and the magnificent views.
We saw buffalo each day as well as hippo in the distance, from the patio. The pool proved a hit with the kids, although the water was still a bit too cold for us adults.

Do you know about Harry? He is a lone elephant who visited the house each evening after sunset, and emptied the dustbins!! Great for the kids to see him up close, but I suspect he may become a menace in the future.

It was wonderful also to have the tennnis courts and restaurant so close, and we all thoroughly relaxed.

Thank you once again for all you input, and I hope it is not too long before you get to enjoy the house yourself again too
Regards Leanne

July 2007

Excellent

Review by Liesbeth Wjinkoop (Johannesburg)

Polman and Faber really enjoyed their stay in Hippo Hills. They thought the house was especially built for them, so new, clean and fresh did it seem to them. It was not that they had leopards in their pool (forbid!) but they saw Elephant from the house.

I will certainly recommend Hippo Hills in future to my clients.
Liesbeth Wjinkoop - African Surprise

July 2007

Excellent

Review by Sarah Brandt (Johannesburg)

I just wanted to send you a quick mail to say thank-you so much for an awesome weekend. Your place is absolutely stunning and we had a great weekend away. We will definitely make a plan to stay there again, (but for a bit longer than a weekend the next time we go!)

July 2007

Excellent

Review by Roger Hinds (George)

Just got back - spent a couple of days at Blyde River Canyon on the way back. Hippo Hills was a great hit with the whole family - from the youngest to the oldest.

We were lucky to see almost every type of animal and also just enjoyed relaxing at the house - you have thought of everything to make a stay there really great. Thanks too for the complimentary extra night - we really appreciated that. If we go near Kruger again we'll know where to stay!

June 2007

Excellent

Review by Sue Clark (Johannesburg)

We returned today from a wonderful holiday. We loved our stay at Hippo Hills and were so comfortable and happy there that none of us wanted to leave. We look forward to hopefully booking there again in the near future.
Thanks again

May 2007

Excellent

Review by Glen Dalton (Johannesburg)

Firstly I would like to thank you as well as your partners in Hippo Hills for allowing us the privilege of staying in your magnificent house last week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it very difficult to leave yesterday.

During our stay we saw 5 Giraffe, which ambled through the bush late on Wednesday directly in front of your house. Something scared them off as they had walked about 50 metres when they suddenly turned around and ran back into the bushes.

The highlight of our week was late on Friday afternoon when +- 15 Elephants came through the bushes, again almost directly opposite your house. Two of the ele\'s came right down to the water\'s edge and while observing them, a youngster from next door shouted that there was a leopard in the tree behind the elephants. It was easy to spot immediately without even needing bino\'s although the light was starting to fade. I have attached some photo\'s which although taken with a good camera, it was getting too dark to take quality pictures. We constantly had Buffalo, hippo\'s and croc\'s visible from your deck and the bird life was also fantastic.

Thank you once again. You really have something very special there.

April 2007

Excellent

Review by Sophia Ladha (Johannesburg)

We had a lovely time at Hippo Hills and even managed to get into the park a couple of times. At the house we saw a crocodile, hippo, waterbuck and lots of elephants. In the park we managed to see basically all the big 5 and a cheetah. So we were very lucky.

The house is absolutely beautiful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The staff at Ngwenya lodge were also extremely helpful. All in all it was really a very wonderful experience!

March 2007

Excellent

Review by Sheperd Vukomba (Johannesburg)

We had a lovely time at Hippo Hills. We loved the place so much such that we decided that we will make it an annual holiday destination, and we hope to get back there next year same time.

The house is beautiful and very homely. We spent most of our time late at night or early mornings looking out for animals by the river, but only spotted a crocodile, hippo and an injured buffalo, which appeared to have been in pain and walked with a bad limp. It could have been attacked by lions for the previous night we had heard sounds of lions on a hunt and some animal sound, and had concluded that lions had killed some animal near the river. The next day we saw the injured buffalo.
We also saw most animals save the lion at the Kruger.
Thank you for all your help. Much appreciated.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 7000
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.37968499933333
Longitude: 31.854148055555555

Closest airport(s)
Kruger Mpumalanga Airport - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
December 2006 - 73 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap - Towns A-Z