Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place to stay. Liz and Peter are excellent hosts and you feel more like a part of the family than just guests. Liz's springbok pie and Peter's fresh bread are to die for. Thanks also for booking all our excursions Liz! We will certainly come back to The Happy Jackal. FIVE Stars in our opinion!!

February 2018

Andrew (Limoges, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed for two nights to visit the Addo NP on what was otherwise a business trip. This is an excellent guesthouse, with friendly owners who will go out of their way to provide a good service to their visitors. A great location near the new Addo South Gate , a peaceful setting and wonderful views from the well furnished bedrooms. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to individuals and families alike.

October 2017

patrick (bristol, uk)

Verified reviewexcellent

I traveled with 3 of my friends (Nellie Buitendag, Danie and Irma Luwes) and we stayed over at the Happy Jackall for 2 days. What a lovely time. Liz and Peter were excellent hosts and we had more laughter in the 2 days than we had in years. Liz you are an absolute superb hostess and makes everyone feel at home and Peter's breakfast bread comes highly recommended!!! Nothing we requested was too much, even the service in the swimming pool haha!! If you want to stay over with a couple that knows how to make you feel at home, the Happy Jackall is the place!! Best regards Amanda Perks

September 2012

Amanda Perks (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Happy Jackal, what a place! Arriving after a long drive, me and my friend were actually stunned by the beautiful place! We had a luxury room upstairs, with a private deck overlooking the river in which we had fantastic swims. I have travelled all over South Africa, seldom have I encountered such a great place for such a price! Hospitality was also perfect, what friendly reception and great breakfast. Visiting Addo? don't hesitate to stay here. We had 2 wonderful nights, thanks!

December 2010

Mark Wijsman (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely fantastic stay and totally agree about the superb bread. Will be back in 2010 for the world cup if England play in Port Elizabeth. Or maybe I should keep it a secret !!!

March 2009

Neil,Sue,Emma and Peter Duff (Lincoln, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Home from home- what a wonderful two days. Great hosts, location and accommodation.

January 2008

Rachael Roll (Norfolk UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed the 1st night so much we stayed a 2nd but now we must go!

November 2007

Sue and Stefan Niedoba (Broxelles)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much, Liz and Peter for such a wonderful stay. Great welcome on arrival, fab brekkies & lovely room. A real 'home from home'. A perfect place to spend our honeymoon. We'll definitely be back & tell all our friends about you!

November 2007

Justin and Rebecca Davenport-Thomas (Pembury, Kent)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,270
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Happy Jackal Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.