Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

The Gumtree I would rate as one of the top class guesthouses I have stayed at and would highly recommend them to anyone wishing to visit Oudtshoorn.

March 2018

Johann (Copenhagen)

Verified reviewexcellent

In the beginning of July our family went to Oudtshoorn for a mini-break / long weekend. We stayed at the Gumtree Guest House. We had such a wonderful stay there that we'll never consider another B&B / Guest House in Oudtshoorn! The room we stayed in was well equipped and very modern and the general ambience of the Gumtree Guest House was very friendly, warm and welcoming!

July 2017

Lisa (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Really, what more can a couple visiting from another city ask for. The Gumtree Guest House made our stay in Oudshoorn truly special. Everything was perfect, from the fact that we were the only guests accommodated there for our stay which made it that much more romantic and special. Phil was very professional and helpful with recommendations of where to eat and things to do. The breakfast was to die for, so well prepared and presented. Thank you so much Phil for your warm hospitality and for making us feel so special. There couldn't have been a better way to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. Thanks to you, it was one we will never forget. Thanks a million :-)

May 2012

Charlie M (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What more can a business traveller ask for - warm hospitality, a very helpful and professional host and hostess, all the neccessary facilities and luxury in a lovely setting! Phil and Linda offer a perfect service! I've stayed there quite a few times on my business trips and everytime is special, relaxing, just what a weary traveller need. Highly recommended to everybody. Thanks very much!

August 2011

Viljoen Roux (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent a very pleasant 2 night stay at The Gumtree Guest House. Phil & Linda were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble - including re-arranging the bed configuration! The breakfasts were more than delicious. Phil's advise on where to eat was spot-on. The setting of the lodge is magical. We will be returning.

August 2011

James & Lesley Reid (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay over the weekend. We were cozy and warm inside, eventough it was really wintery weather! Phil cooked the 'best breakfast in town' and used local ingredients. The cheese and sausages were delicious. The Gumtree is a great place to stay and central to all the must see attractions in Oudsthoorn. We will definitely be back!

July 2011

Leigh M (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A really great place stay while travelling on business in Oudtshoorn. Service was friendly and professional and the room was beautifully kept. The Gumtree provided useful information on the surrounding area even including routes that are new to the scene. Also available is free wi-fi access which is handy for the travelling businessman. A real pleasure to find while travelling in the Klein Karoo.

May 2011

Jarryd Finkelstein (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very pleasant stay at Gumtree , Phil was really helpful about routes to various places and places to eat. The Gumtree is the best guest house we have been to. We love cats and they have 2 gorgeous cats. Also. Phil was very helpful when our car malfuntioned and went to get help for us. Thanks.

April 2011

Colleen Swart (PE)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,160
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Gumtree Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.