Reviews & Comments

Showing 18 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We've had three lovely days and will most certainly be back. Liezl, thank you so much for the most delicious breakfast and the wonderful dinner you prepared for us. You are a wonderful host. The cottages are very conveniently located, an easy drive to Schotia, Addo and Pumba. Don't miss the sand dunes in Colcester, they are most certainly worth a visit.

March 2012

Jacki Ahnert (Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

I was given this as a prize and with 3 friends we had a most enjoyable stay. Lezl was a wonderful hostess and made us very welcome. The cottage was very comfortable in a beautiful garden. We had had a lot of rain and it was very wet, as a result the very strong smell of the cows was a little off putting but I am sure this would not be a problem when it is dry again, Jenny Eldridge

July 2011

Jenny Eldridge (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for four nights in early february and had a great stay. We felt very welcome and enjoyed fantastic hospitality. Liezl and her team gave us some pointers for the area which were great as well. We also had the pleasure of tasting the suppers which really deserve recommendation!

February 2011

Andres van der Kuil (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at the Green Tree Cottages as part of our Honeymoon. We were greeted by the owner Lezl on arrival who showed us our Cottage, beautiful and so cosy I could have stayed forever. Fresh Roses and a bottle of bubby awaited us which was a lovely thought. Dinner is a MUST if you are staying here, Lezl's cooking is wonderful and she even brings it down to your cottage which is perfect after a long day. Her South African Bobotie is out of this world!! She even gave us her recipe which we now made since returning home. The honesty fridge in the room is fantasic idea and is fully stocked each day with wine, beer and soft drinks. The cottage was immaculate and cleaned every morning whilst we sat having breakfast in the main dining room. This accommodation was like home from home and the location was perfect for Addo Elephant Park and Schotia which we visited. Lezl also informed us of the beautiful beach at Colchester where we spent the morning, the sand dunes are like pyramids and a must see. We have such wonderful memories of the Green Tree and Lezl is the perfect host, it was like leaving a friend we have known for years.

February 2009

Dave Green (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful rooms and lovely atmosphere. The food was excellent and Lizel is an excellent hostess. She couldn't do enough for us during our stay. My 3 and 5 year olds had a ball and especially loved the touch farm and the new calf which was born during our stay. We stayed 3 nights and wish we could have stayed more - it was definitely good value for money

January 2009

Tracy Ralph (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fantastic stay - incredibly relaxing with all the elements of a true farm experience as well as the most amazing hospitality from Liezl.

January 2009

Janine Popper (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I recently spent six nights of our honeymoon at The Green Tree Guest Cottages and it was absolutely perfect! The cottages are well equipped, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The service is outstanding from the thoughtful and friendly hostess Lezl who gave us a bottle of Champagne on arrival to celebrate, packed us numerous picnic baskets for our early morning adventures into Addo elephant park and even made us breakfast in bed (!) to the efficient cleaning fairies who somehow manage to keep the rooms spotlessly clean in the blink of an eye (who knows where they come from or went, but they do a damn fine job of it). I would recommend The Green Tree Cottages to anyone wanting to spend time in the Eastern Cape as it offers a good balance of peaceful farm life perfect for relaxing, it is close to Addo for day visits and is in easy travelling distance from PE should one wish to go shopping or attend the fantastic dolphin shows at Bayworld. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thanks again to Lezl and her staff for making our honeymoon time with them so special

November 2008

Ryan Weaver (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic! A real Gem - true home from home, and wonderful dinners, we will return. Excellet service and special attention , Also very central to reach the Game Parks.

October 2008

Lorna Davidson (Warwick England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely Perfect! Restful, wonderful accommodation and hospitality, The best possible way to begin our travels along the Garde Route. Thomas & Lisa Tucker

March 2008

Thomas Tucker (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay was all to brief and we'll probably never pass by again, but we'll always remember how special it was. Thank you for a fantastic stay! Angela Loh

March 2008

Angela Loh (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A peaceful place, perfect service, and a perfect stay!

March 2008

Hans Maas (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Een warm welkom, baie lekker eten en een vriendelijke gastvrouw en heer, een genakkelijke, fyne, accomodatie. Kortom ansolute Topklasse! - Jose Zuidhof

February 2008

Jose & Kees Zuidhof (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay with Datie & Lezl. There family and hospitality is as natural as the environment, they are real people, and have a fantastic Guest House! Helge Braam

January 2008

Saskia & Helge Braam (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We will not forget these two nights in this wonderful place with your warm hospitality! Renate Rastede

January 2008

Renate Rastede (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our favourite place, thanks to the wonderful hosts, the beautifull setting, the lovely rooms and the warmest of welcomes. Emma Janson Smith

December 2007

Emma Janson-Smith (England)

Verified reviewvery good

Very much like home, we have been so very happy here, very enjoyable! Tony Carvell

December 2007

Tony Cavell (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for the warm hospitality, we enjoyed our stay very much, the good food, the lovely rooms, you have been excellent hosts!

November 2007

Sylvia Allwinn (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great Location lovely room, Brilliant hosts, we will recommend your hospitality to every one.

November 2007

Danny & Lin Oliver (England)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 800
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Green Tree Cottages

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.