Reviews & Comments

Showing 69 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Was here on honeymoon – what an amazing experience! The beauty of nature, the amazing breakfasts, the accommodating, friendly & wonderful staff and the romance of a log fire in the evenings – as far as holidays go – the bar has been set extremely high on this our first one together. The wonderful memories we have made here will carry us through the tough times. See you soon!

April 2018

Caroline Erasmus (Mpumalanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is absolutely amazing. I will recommend it to any nature lover or someone who love peace and quite. The people, the facilities, the food, just the general feel of the place made me fall in love with it. We will be back again soon. Special thanks to Susan and Dries…..we will always remember the extra mile you went to make our stay absolutely magical.

April 2018

Lovenda Sawage (Kraaifontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

We came here to rest and we got rest, and so much more, tranquil and serene surrounds, friendly little creatures, from bunnies hopping around, the sweet donkeys who love a cuddle, the bles-hoender at the lily pond deck the fish eagle calling near by. Perfectly situated near the historical sites and forest walks. amazing!

March 2018

Ryan Osborne (Cape St Francis)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place for families and friends to explore, lots of space which is great, breakfast and dinner on the deck is great. We loved feeding the donkeys and foraging for vegetables in the veggie patch. Rosie loved the playground and the DVDs at night. Great detail of providing kids surprise and hammock by the cottage 🙂

February 2018

Jessy Lipperts (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A must visit place; add at least a day or two more than your original planned duration. There is simply more to do than time allows and everything is of the best class and experience. Big thank you that we had the opportunity to share in this very special place - what we think heaven should be like! Exceeded all our expectations. n Wonderlike stukkie aarde. Weet nie wat was die beste nie: Drupkelders, Kringe in die Bos, Sondag buffet by Totties, ete langs die Heads, stap tussen Buffelsbaai en Brenton, en die vriendelike twee lang-ore: Hanzel en Gretchen! Alles uit die boonste rakke.

October 2015

Renette and Francois Furstenburg (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Forest Edge was a dream come true - from the beautiful surroundings, the cute cottages and the challenging walks around the area to the friendly staff and peace and quiet, the experience was simply superb! We will return!

September 2015

Neall Moore (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

This little piece of heaven absolutely blew our minds in every way possible. Everything was PERFECT; the most amazing accommodation there is to offer in this part of the world. You truly have a GEM in the heart of Nature. We absolutely loved the outside shower, the hammock was awesome, the outdoors were amazing. The forest was surreal. Sadly we did not see the Loerie, but we saw and heard the Fish Eagle and that was a real treat. We received a nice welcome and immediately felt at home. This Romantic Getaway has brought us so much closer. We will definitely be back and I will tell everyone about your amazing heaven!

August 2015

CJ Trim (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ons het H-E-E-R-L-I-K ontspan en gekuier by Forest Edge. Alles wat vir ons belangrik is, was hier: - veilige akkommodasie, - skoon & netjies!, - mooi natuurskoon (die beste), - vriendelike gasvrye diens, - heerlike ontspanne omgewing om in af te skakel, - 'no noise pollution' - amen, - donkies paadjies & speelraam fantasties vir kinders, - snoesige cabin & kaggel, - heerlike bad & - privaatheid. Forest Edge was regtig vir ons n 'REFRESH BUTTON'. Ons hoop om voorts nog baie te kom en 'regroup' as a gesin. Baie dankie vir die uitmundende 'vibe' en diens.

August 2015

Liezel, Mila & Willem de Bruin (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wish we'd booked a week! A fabulous retreat. The manager couldn't be more helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty. Fabulous surroundings, beautiful comfortable cottages with every detail thought of down to the fresh wild flowers in the lounge, the bucket of kindling and wood for the fireplace and the clothes horse in the bathroom. We recommend the 9km walk and although we are NOT the fittest, we managed it in 2.5 hours. Saw a troop of baboons and even signs of recent elephant activity. Just wonderful. Highly recommended.

July 2015

Dr Sarah Galvani (Cumbria, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely lovely. We truly had a wonderful time here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will most definitely come back. Recommend this place to anyone whether you have a family or just a couple - you will have a wonderful stay with lots of things to do. Booking was easy and quick; management professionalism excellent; cleanliness and functionality perfect; ambiance absolutely beautiful. Thank you for your hospitality and making our stay unforgettable.

May 2015

Dirk and Kezia Smit (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

We came here for some quiet time inbetween visiting Cape Town and Addo Elephant Park. What a lovely spot - the cute cottages, the forest edge full of birds and the peace and quiet and star-studded skies. We saw lots of wonderful birds: sunbirds, robins, doves, ibis, geese, buzzards and were lucky to see the fabulous Knysna Louries several times, including 2 from our veranda! Thank you for a lovely stay and all the best for your eco-paradise (including the bees - lovely honey!). Excellent, very clean, peaceful, helpful.

April 2015

Marieke and Adrian Porter (Amersham, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay. Forest Edge is everything we hoped for and so much more. We just regret not being able to spend more time here. It's been a delight. From the magic of its names to the awesome forest on its doorstep, this is truly a unique, enchanting place. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is beautiful and a meal at Totties is not to be missed. Enjoy your stay at such an enchanting place.

March 2015

Kevin, Mary and Richard Smith (UK )

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely stay in a beautiful setting.

February 2015

Prof Richard Cowling & friends (Los Angeles, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

My family and I were lucky to have had this cottage as our place of stay because it was THE BEST during our holiday. Everything was well organised and clean and they worked hard to make us feel that we are in our own home. Thank you and we will surely be back in your facility next year. And the kids added: 'This is the best house! And interesting. We like everything, including the farm. It's 100%'.

January 2015

Bandar Almohimeed (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Forest Edge is everything it promises to be: relaxing, tranquil, close to nature. A wonderful family holiday! Thank you. What is advertised is what you get!

January 2015

Lauren Richardson (Jukskeipark)

Verified reviewexcellent

"MAGIC!!! Priceless, Super Special, Peace, Love, Joy, Blessings. What a beautiful place!! One really needs to come and experience it in order to appreciate it! We thoroughly enjoyed it, thanks a million. Just keep doing what's being done; it's a winning recipe. Eerste plekkie waar jy van n 'mending kit' tot n muskiet-plaatjie kry. Al die bederfies, binne en buite... n Plekkie om na terug te kom! Woud is stunning en so ook jou plekkie! Well done!

December 2014

Chantal en Andre Geldenhuys (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

BEST PLACE WE HAVE STAYED IN YET! This has been so much more than what we asked for. The quiet, the seclusion and especially the fact that we could do whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted. Absolutely the perfect holiday.

November 2014

Alana and Wynand Lens (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our Forest Edge stay, YET AGAIN, was exceptional. Ronel's hospitality is second to none. The amenities are fantastic and the closeness to nature truly allows us to unwind. We will definitely come back again!

November 2014

Johann Ungerer and Mandi Lotter (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

"We had a wonderful stay here at Forest Edge. We loved the hammock and the outdoor shower - such a great idea! The cottage was very clean and cosy; we felt at home here. You thought of everything, nothing we missed. The suggestions you made were good: the hike in the forest was amazing and eating at Totties was delicious. We hope to come back one day and we will recommend you in Belgium! "

August 2014

Liestbeth van de Weerd (Kontich, Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

"WOW WOW WOW. We searched high and low for a destination that screamed Brad and Sam, and Forest Edge was all that and so much more. We wanted to escape city life and business and that exactly what we got. Great friendly service, peace and quiet, nature and outdoor activities and not to mention the clean and tidy facilities, and gardens absolutely magic. We will be back and will recommend Forest Edge. You made our honeymoon memorable from start to end. What a blast... Experience was amazing; a MUST destination in Knysna. "

May 2014

Samantha and Bradley Nel (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

"Excellent breakaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. A truly amazing experience. Owner is warm and friendly and provides a brilliant service. The kids had a great time exploring Forest Edge, feeding the donkeys and having a shower outside. Jubilee Creek and walking in the forest was a refreshing experience. The cottage was neat, clean and cosy. We do not feel like returning to the city; would rather move out here to enjoy the endless peacefulness and clean living. Will definitely do this again! "

March 2014

Faizal Adam (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Clean, neat and in touch with Nature... A peaceful, relaxing time - we needed to recharge our batteries. Very well equipped with everything we needed and more! The best self-catering place we've stayed in. The outdoor shower and hammock were a treat, very unique. We'll definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a break from the city. Thanks for all the info about the surroundings - we enjoyed exploring.

January 2014

Kevin and Marie Brown (George)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just wonderful! Wish we had stayed longer.

December 2013

Dr Douglas Taron (Chicago, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely stunning, thank you so much for such an amazing stay. I'm sure we'll be back : ) A magical stay in one of your cosy and lovely cottages. I spent quite a lot of time browsing the internet looking for a special place... Forest Edge was the right choice and you know what? It was above all expectations! Everything's perfect. A home away from home. Opening up the curtains in the morning on your beautiful gardens was a delight every time. Sitting on the deck, listening to the birds, the wind in the forest... pure bliss! We loved the bath, the fire light, the comfy bed, the dvd selection, the hammock, the outside shower (special mention!) and of course the quietness and peacefulness... Thanks for the warm welcome and friendliness, and recommendations: Totties is definitely the best kept secret restaurant of the Garden Route - we loved it, like travelling back in time... magical. The circle forest walk will remain a beautiful memory for a very long time. So impressive to be alone in the middle of such a dense, powerful and beautiful vegetation. We will recommend this piece of heaven to our friends and hope to be back before long.

November 2013

Christele Nicoli (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great stay - third year in a row! Coming back again and again speaks for itself... Relaxing for body and soul... Keep it exactly the same.

October 2013

Jacqui and Erik Bruys (Windhoek, Namibia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful accommodation, stunning environment - so picturesque and tranquil! We really enjoyed sitting by the fire-place every evening. The 'Circles in the Forests' and 'Drupkelders' walks were amazing - do them in the mornings to have more time to take in the lovely scenery. What a great place to have been on our Honeymoon!

August 2013

Amy and Wayne Lawrence (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie naby aan die hemel. Mens se siel kry kos hier.

July 2013

Tonie Gerber en Migo Coetzee (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an absolutely amazing time at Forest Edge, even better than we had hoped for. A little piece of heaven, like something from a Fairy Tale! We really enjoyed laying in the hammock, listening to the frogs and animals under the stars and waking up with a shower in the morning sun. You have been really friendly, welcoming and informative, and we cannot wait to come back here again. Perfect : -)

April 2013

Kathryn Uren (St Ives, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were thoroughly impressed and very comfortable on our stay. Very peaceful and central to lovely forest areas. Also nice to be a bit off the beaten track and no cars or busy streets etc! A friendly, accommodating and helpful hostess put the cherry on top.

March 2013

Richard Bothma & Kimberley Tarr (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had an amazing time at Forest Edge, so secluded, it really feels like you're in the middle of nature, but still very safe at the same time, would definitely recommend for anyone that enjoys wildlife and nature!

March 2013

Jordan Painter (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday. To wake up to bird song or baboon barks was a treat. We loved our cottage and the outside shower was amazing. We will always think fondly of this wonderful week where we got to relax in the hammock, bravely swim in Drupkelders pools (brrr!) and utterly cast our concerns in to a corner of our empty suitcases. Had a fantastic time. Would recommend it to anyone looking for some peace and quiet, wonderful walks and lovely surroundings. I shall rave and evangelise about this place!

February 2013

Susannah van Straaten (Caledon)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing location, perfect for chilling out. A very happy stay. African Woodlands Sounds were a joy to hear again - also all the pond noises! Mountain biking much enjoyed by those who participated. The determination and hard work in trying to maintain eco-friendly principles greatly admired and appreciated.

February 2013

Suzanne, Joanne and Robert Gill (Buckinhamshire, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Do not even think about going anywhere else. This is heaven and a place that will remain in your heart forever. Thanks for creating this special place so that we can enjoy it. Nina especially enjoyed the hammock, reminded her of the one in the Amazon. We both liked the outdoor shower and the amazing setting. We also enjoyed the "end of the world" bonfire, though we woke up this morning and are on our way for the next leg of our trip : ) As the Terminator says: WE'LL BE BACK.

December 2012

Nina and Roger Layton (Roodepoort / Drakensburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place, really like the eco-sustainability side of it.

December 2012

Max Horstink (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

I come to Forest Edge every year and will continue to do so indefinitely. It is a true retreat and gives me time to get back to myself. A great breakaway for anyone who wants to re-attune with Nature. Staff are great at balancing being around when you need them, and leaving you to your own devices. All I would perhaps add is a second hammock at the cottage so that I don't have to race my bff for it : )

November 2012

Jessica White (New York)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great ambiance, the perfect place to escape the city life, noise and rat race!

November 2012

Andre Louw (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place to unwind and do some good walks. Great spot in the forest, grounds are amazing and a very tranquil spot. The accommodation is superb.

October 2012

Jill and Pete Oborn (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Forest Edge is excellently maintained and a fabulous little getaway spot. As self-catering cottages go, the cottages are well-appointed, comfortable and clean. There is everything one could need for a relaxed break in the heart of nature.

October 2012

Jane and Greg Hansen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Second stay at Forest Edge, and again we got what we came for: tranquility and pure comfort lodging in Knysna!

September 2012

Pieterjan Vanoutrive & Sofie van den Berg (Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful place, great atmosphere, friendly staff, personal service. The most amazing place, even better the second time around! We will be back.

July 2012

Lance Setzer (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a magic place, we loved it!!

June 2012

Tracey Bent (Oudtshoorn)

Verified reviewexcellent

A relaxing and inspiring stay. The location and garden have been put together really well. All Ronel's recommendations were excellent and highlights for us included Drupkelders pools, a whale at Buffel's Beach, a visit to the Elephant Park and lunch at East Head Cafe. Back at Forest Edge we thoroughly enjoyed BBQs on the veranda, an evening around the fire and a very interesting and inspiring tour of the sustainable energy / water system. Congratulations on having created a unique and special place!

April 2012

Rosemary, Andy and Sarah Carr (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Brilliant. We had a wonderful stay... close enough to all the activities on the Garden Route but you really feel like you are in the bush with everything you need.

April 2012

Cindy Holmes (Muizenberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Unbelievable attention to detail! Peace, education, inspiration and love. Dankie vir die stilte, vrede, inspirasie - wow, jou groentetuin!

March 2012

Elma Pollard (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Definitely the best equipped and best value for money accommodation during our trip on the Garden Route. I would definitely recommend. This place was a big surprise for us and definitely a highlight during our travel through South Africa!

February 2012

Kurt and Michaela Mandel (Vienna, Austria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning! Just did not spend enough time here. n Week hier is verseker te kort! Ons het so lekker hier gebly tydens ons wittebrood in die gesellige huisie. Dankie vir die gasvryheid, die bederf, en die moeite wat jy doen om mens tuis te laat voel en ingelig te hou in so n heerlike rustige atmosfeer. Die 'meditation corner' is n oulike verrassing! Die kaggel, dvd's en boeke was n heerlike toevlug op reenerige aande. Hier is so baie lekker dinge om te doen in die omgewing - ons beveel die volgende beslis aan: Jean se 'in-cottage massage', Drupkelders - pragtig, Kringe in die Bos stappad - ons het loeries gesien, Millwood tee tuin, Featherbed Cruise met buffet ete. Ons het heerlik gerus en is jammer om te gaan.

December 2011

Daan en Karien van den Berg (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful place and nice surroundings.

October 2011

Peter and Inge Bacher (Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a truly unforgettable experience. This place has a special magic about it: one feels close to nature and it feels like home straight away. Waking up to birds' song, lying in a hammock with a book and having peaceful tranquility... special memories. Also... environmentally friendly, cares about water conservation. We will come back to this mesmerizing magic. Heartfelt thanks for your true hospitality, impeccable attention to detail (we had everything we could possibly dream of in terms of modern conveniences) and for doing what you are. Also, coming back to a sparkling clean cottage after a long hike was very special and uplifting. Many thanks to your staff as well for making our stay amazing.

August 2011

Anna Khlebnikova and Nicola Toma (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A magnificent time; a warm, kind, generous host which made our stay more memorable. This place is beautiful and very romantic. It felt like a home away from home. We enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the busy city and being able to connect with nature. And our cottage was cleaned with such love and care... thank you.

July 2011

Elizabeth Mills (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

All our expectations were met AND exceeded, we were very happy to find that the phots and information on the website depicted EXACTLY what we received here... We weren't led around the bush (pun intended). Dankie vir n asemrowende kuier; ons het niks gekort nie, hier is ALLES en meer! Die kaggel, romantiese bad en buitestort was fantasties. Dankie vir jou gasvryheid en warm persoonlikheid.

June 2011

Petro Swanepoel (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful honeymoon experience and time away from the hectic city. So friendly and welcoming; your effort in making it extra special is appreciated. You only have one honeymoon and ours could not have been spent at a better place. Very highly recommended.

April 2011

Sebastian Ova (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ambiance is relaxing, peaceful and secure. Cleanliness is brilliant. We loved the outdoor shower and rolltop bath and the lovely lounge area, fire place and outside deck area. Everything EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS - thank you!

January 2011

Rachel Glass & Claire King (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Muchas gracias for creating such a space... I breathe deeply here and I am present. Forest Edge like the forest holds charm and shares its secrets with you as you slow slow to its rhythm and the beat of its hospitable heart."

September 2010

Dr Dorian Haarhoff (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Highly Recommended!! The Forest and beautiful views cannot be found anywhere else in SA. If you are looking for some place to find your head and some peace and quiet, watching some fireflies in flight, this is your destination.

March 2010

Neil de Swardt (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved it!! Forest Edge deserves more than a 3-star grading - So much more than we bargained for. A place where you can rest and enjoy creation to it's fullest. In a class of it's own, Forest Edge is a home away from home.

January 2010

Samantha Preller (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

The ambiance was fantastic and the staff really kind and helpful. Great place to relax!

March 2009

Mascha van Berkel (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

A little piece of heaven on earth! We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. It was unforgettable...

March 2009

Nicolette Alberts (SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Forest Edge Bug has bitten us hard, but pleasantly, we could not resist coming back so soon and we have already booked our next stay. It gets more enjoyable with each visit. Like celebrating a birthday, with many happy returns! A splendid place to escape to.

March 2009

Monika Teasdale (George)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful relaxing place! We loved the outdoor shower, the peacefulness of the whole place. Gazing at the stars with the night sounds was magical. Lovely to watch the baboons roaming freely in their habitat! Cannot fault anything: staff always friendly, obliging and helpful and the cottages clean.

March 2009

Karen & Ken Nice (Brighton, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place to Discover the art of Being. I am extremely impressed with your prompt service!

February 2009

Wessel Erwee (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very pleasant atmosphere, lets your soul catch up with your body. Thoroughly enjoyed baking the best bread ever in the gas oven!

January 2009

Rita Jansen van Vuuren (Roodepoort)

Verified reviewexcellent

Highly recommended! Elegant, homely, gorgeous country retreat with beautifully furnished cottages. A unique experience of the natural Knysna forest in absolute privacy and with easy access to tourist attractions nearby. Walk amongst the giant old trees, breathe the freshest air and relax on the deck at sunset. What a joyful time in God's own garden.

October 2008

Hans & Ronell Lareman (Oudtshoorn)

Verified reviewexcellent

If we had to choose a destination between Forest Edge and anywhere on Mauritius, Forest Edge would win!

April 2008

Richard Waterston (SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really had a wonderful time, we were looking for peace and quiet and Forest Edge definitely delivers. The attention to detail is amazing, stayed in a few 5 star venues before and Forest Edge doesn't need to stand back. It's the small things (like the detailed info guide) that made the difference.

January 2008

Letitia van der Merwe (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Forest Edge was the perfect place to end our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed the walks through the Forest. The peace and quiet was perfect to relax before returning to busy JHB, and the nightly natural 'forest symphony' around the fire was unforgettable. We received first-class service and the accommodation was great.

January 2008

Charles Street (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our Honeymoon... We had such a special time together at Forest Edge, it was filled with magical moments, definitely our first choice for romantic getaways, and we will visit again to re-capture those special moments together. My favourite place for spiritual and awe inspiring moments.

December 2007

Jon Amira (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks you for creating such a beautiful home from home! How special to share our garden with fluffy donkeys, fireflies, chicks and cocks, baboons and butterflies! Thanks for the Magic...

December 2007

Roddy & Maggie Glen (Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The service and accommodation was superb!

November 2007

Tammy Bouwer (Cape)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for everything: The accommodation, service and your information about the surroundings - we will tell it to our friends back in the Netherlands! We wish we could stay longer.

October 2007

Jennene & Erik (Netherlands)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,499
  • R
  • 1200
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Forest Edge Nature-lover's Retreat

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.