Forest Edge Nature-lover's Retreat is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (65 reviews)

Forest Edge Nature-lover's Retreat

Self Catering at Farm 118, Edge of the Knysna Forest, Rheenendal, Knysna, 6576, Garden Route, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 65 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 65 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Renette And Francois Furstenburg (Pretoria)

A must visit place; add at least a day or two more than your original planned duration. There is simply more to do than time allows and everything is of the best class and experience. Big thank you that we had the opportunity to share in this very special place - what we think heaven should be like!

Exceeded all our expectations.

n Wonderlike stukkie aarde. Weet nie wat was die beste nie: Drupkelders, Kringe in die Bos, Sondag buffet by Totties, ete langs die Heads, stap tussen Buffelsbaai en Brenton, en die vriendelike twee lang-ore: Hanzel en Gretchen!

Alles uit die boonste rakke.

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Neall Moore (Pretoria)

Forest Edge was a dream come true - from the beautiful surroundings, the cute cottages and the challenging walks around the area to the friendly staff and peace and quiet, the experience was simply superb! We will return!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by CJ Trim (Cape Town)

This little piece of heaven absolutely blew our minds in every way possible. Everything was PERFECT; the most amazing accommodation there is to offer in this part of the world.

You truly have a GEM in the heart of Nature. We absolutely loved the outside shower, the hammock was awesome, the outdoors were amazing. The forest was surreal. Sadly we did not see the Loerie, but we saw and heard the Fish Eagle and that was a real treat. We received a nice welcome and immediately felt at home. This Romantic Getaway has brought us so much closer.

We will definitely be back and I will tell everyone about your amazing heaven!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Liezel, Mila & Willem De Bruin (Stellenbosch)

Ons het H-E-E-R-L-I-K ontspan en gekuier by Forest Edge.

Alles wat vir ons belangrik is, was hier:
- veilige akkommodasie,
- skoon & netjies!,
- mooi natuurskoon (die beste),
- vriendelike gasvrye diens,
- heerlike ontspanne omgewing om in af te skakel,
- 'no noise pollution' - amen,
- donkies paadjies & speelraam fantasties vir kinders,
- snoesige cabin & kaggel,
- heerlike bad &
- privaatheid.

Forest Edge was regtig vir ons n 'REFRESH BUTTON'. Ons hoop om voorts nog baie te kom en 'regroup' as a gesin.

Baie dankie vir die uitmundende 'vibe' en diens.

July 2015

Excellent

Review by Dr Sarah Galvani (Cumbria, UK)

Wish we'd booked a week! A fabulous retreat. The manager couldn't be more helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty. Fabulous surroundings, beautiful comfortable cottages with every detail thought of down to the fresh wild flowers in the lounge, the bucket of kindling and wood for the fireplace and the clothes horse in the bathroom. We recommend the 9km walk and although we are NOT the fittest, we managed it in 2.5 hours. Saw a troop of baboons and even signs of recent elephant activity. Just wonderful. Highly recommended.

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Dirk And Kezia Smit (Benoni)

Absolutely lovely. We truly had a wonderful time here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will most definitely come back. Recommend this place to anyone whether you have a family or just a couple - you will have a wonderful stay with lots of things to do. Booking was easy and quick; management professionalism excellent; cleanliness and functionality perfect; ambiance absolutely beautiful. Thank you for your hospitality and making our stay unforgettable.

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Marieke And Adrian Porter (Amersham, England)

We came here for some quiet time inbetween visiting Cape Town and Addo Elephant Park. What a lovely spot - the cute cottages, the forest edge full of birds and the peace and quiet and star-studded skies. We saw lots of wonderful birds: sunbirds, robins, doves, ibis, geese, buzzards and were lucky to see the fabulous Knysna Louries several times, including 2 from our veranda! Thank you for a lovely stay and all the best for your eco-paradise (including the bees - lovely honey!). Excellent, very clean, peaceful, helpful.

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Kevin, Mary And Richard Smith (UK )

We loved our stay. Forest Edge is everything we hoped for and so much more. We just regret not being able to spend more time here. It's been a delight. From the magic of its names to the awesome forest on its doorstep, this is truly a unique, enchanting place. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is beautiful and a meal at Totties is not to be missed. Enjoy your stay at such an enchanting place.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Prof Richard Cowling & Friends (Los Angeles, USA)

Lovely stay in a beautiful setting.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Bandar Almohimeed (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)

My family and I were lucky to have had this cottage as our place of stay because it was THE BEST during our holiday. Everything was well organised and clean and they worked hard to make us feel that we are in our own home. Thank you and we will surely be back in your facility next year. And the kids added: 'This is the best house! And interesting. We like everything, including the farm. It's 100%'.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Lauren Richardson (Jukskeipark)

Forest Edge is everything it promises to be: relaxing, tranquil, close to nature. A wonderful family holiday! Thank you. What is advertised is what you get!

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Chantal En Andre Geldenhuys (Bloemfontein)

"MAGIC!!! Priceless, Super Special, Peace, Love, Joy, Blessings. What a beautiful place!! One really needs to come and experience it in order to appreciate it! We thoroughly enjoyed it, thanks a million. Just keep doing what's being done; it's a winning recipe. Eerste plekkie waar jy van n 'mending kit' tot n muskiet-plaatjie kry. Al die bederfies, binne en buite... n Plekkie om na terug te kom! Woud is stunning en so ook jou plekkie! Well done!

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Alana And Wynand Lens (Cape Town)

BEST PLACE WE HAVE STAYED IN YET! This has been so much more than what we asked for. The quiet, the seclusion and especially the fact that we could do whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted. Absolutely the perfect holiday.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Johann Ungerer And Mandi Lotter (Johannesburg)

Our Forest Edge stay, YET AGAIN, was exceptional. Ronel's hospitality is second to none. The amenities are fantastic and the closeness to nature truly allows us to unwind. We will definitely come back again!

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Liestbeth Van De Weerd (Kontich, Belgium)

"We had a wonderful stay here at Forest Edge. We loved the hammock and the outdoor shower - such a great idea! The cottage was very clean and cosy; we felt at home here. You thought of everything, nothing we missed. The suggestions you made were good: the hike in the forest was amazing and eating at Totties was delicious. We hope to come back one day and we will recommend you in Belgium! "

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Samantha And Bradley Nel (Durban)

"WOW WOW WOW. We searched high and low for a destination that screamed Brad and Sam, and Forest Edge was all that and so much more. We wanted to escape city life and business and that exactly what we got. Great friendly service, peace and quiet, nature and outdoor activities and not to mention the clean and tidy facilities, and gardens absolutely magic. We will be back and will recommend Forest Edge. You made our honeymoon memorable from start to end. What a blast... Experience was amazing; a MUST destination in Knysna. "

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Faizal Adam (Johannesburg)

"Excellent breakaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. A truly amazing experience. Owner is warm and friendly and provides a brilliant service. The kids had a great time exploring Forest Edge, feeding the donkeys and having a shower outside. Jubilee Creek and walking in the forest was a refreshing experience. The cottage was neat, clean and cosy. We do not feel like returning to the city; would rather move out here to enjoy the endless peacefulness and clean living. Will definitely do this again! "

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Kevin And Marie Brown (George)

Clean, neat and in touch with Nature... A peaceful, relaxing time - we needed to recharge our batteries. Very well equipped with everything we needed and more! The best self-catering place we've stayed in. The outdoor shower and hammock were a treat, very unique. We'll definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a break from the city. Thanks for all the info about the surroundings - we enjoyed exploring.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Dr Douglas Taron (Chicago, USA)

Just wonderful! Wish we had stayed longer.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Christele Nicoli (London, UK)

Absolutely stunning, thank you so much for such an amazing stay. I'm sure we'll be back : ) A magical stay in one of your cosy and lovely cottages. I spent quite a lot of time browsing the internet looking for a special place... Forest Edge was the right choice and you know what? It was above all expectations! Everything's perfect. A home away from home. Opening up the curtains in the morning on your beautiful gardens was a delight every time. Sitting on the deck, listening to the birds, the wind in the forest... pure bliss! We loved the bath, the fire light, the comfy bed, the dvd selection, the hammock, the outside shower (special mention!) and of course the quietness and peacefulness... Thanks for the warm welcome and friendliness, and recommendations: Totties is definitely the best kept secret restaurant of the Garden Route - we loved it, like travelling back in time... magical. The circle forest walk will remain a beautiful memory for a very long time. So impressive to be alone in the middle of such a dense, powerful and beautiful vegetation. We will recommend this piece of heaven to our friends and hope to be back before long.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Jacqui And Erik Bruys (Windhoek, Namibia)

Great stay - third year in a row! Coming back again and again speaks for itself... Relaxing for body and soul... Keep it exactly the same.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Amy And Wayne Lawrence (Randburg)

Wonderful accommodation, stunning environment - so picturesque and tranquil! We really enjoyed sitting by the fire-place every evening. The 'Circles in the Forests' and 'Drupkelders' walks were amazing - do them in the mornings to have more time to take in the lovely scenery. What a great place to have been on our Honeymoon!

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Tonie Gerber En Migo Coetzee (Bloemfontein)

Baie naby aan die hemel. Mens se siel kry kos hier.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Kathryn Uren (St Ives, UK)

We had an absolutely amazing time at Forest Edge, even better than we had hoped for. A little piece of heaven, like something from a Fairy Tale! We really enjoyed laying in the hammock, listening to the frogs and animals under the stars and waking up with a shower in the morning sun. You have been really friendly, welcoming and informative, and we cannot wait to come back here again. Perfect : -)

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Richard Bothma & Kimberley Tarr (Gauteng)

We were thoroughly impressed and very comfortable on our stay. Very peaceful and central to lovely forest areas. Also nice to be a bit off the beaten track and no cars or busy streets etc! A friendly, accommodating and helpful hostess put the cherry on top.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Jordan Painter (England)

Had an amazing time at Forest Edge, so secluded, it really feels like you're in the middle of nature, but still very safe at the same time, would definitely recommend for anyone that enjoys wildlife and nature!

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Susannah Van Straaten (Caledon)

We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday. To wake up to bird song or baboon barks was a treat. We loved our cottage and the outside shower was amazing. We will always think fondly of this wonderful week where we got to relax in the hammock, bravely swim in Drupkelders pools (brrr!) and utterly cast our concerns in to a corner of our empty suitcases. Had a fantastic time. Would recommend it to anyone looking for some peace and quiet, wonderful walks and lovely surroundings. I shall rave and evangelise about this place!

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Suzanne, Joanne And Robert Gill (Buckinhamshire, England)

Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing location, perfect for chilling out. A very happy stay. African Woodlands Sounds were a joy to hear again - also all the pond noises! Mountain biking much enjoyed by those who participated. The determination and hard work in trying to maintain eco-friendly principles greatly admired and appreciated.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Nina And Roger Layton (Roodepoort / Drakensburg)

Do not even think about going anywhere else. This is heaven and a place that will remain in your heart forever. Thanks for creating this special place so that we can enjoy it. Nina especially enjoyed the hammock, reminded her of the one in the Amazon. We both liked the outdoor shower and the amazing setting. We also enjoyed the "end of the world" bonfire, though we woke up this morning and are on our way for the next leg of our trip : ) As the Terminator says: WE'LL BE BACK.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Max Horstink (Cape Town)

Lovely place, really like the eco-sustainability side of it.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Jessica White (New York)

I come to Forest Edge every year and will continue to do so indefinitely. It is a true retreat and gives me time to get back to myself. A great breakaway for anyone who wants to re-attune with Nature. Staff are great at balancing being around when you need them, and leaving you to your own devices. All I would perhaps add is a second hammock at the cottage so that I don't have to race my bff for it : )

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Andre Louw (Bloemfontein)

Great ambiance, the perfect place to escape the city life, noise and rat race!

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Jill And Pete Oborn (New Zealand)

Great place to unwind and do some good walks. Great spot in the forest, grounds are amazing and a very tranquil spot. The accommodation is superb.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Jane And Greg Hansen (Cape Town)

Forest Edge is excellently maintained and a fabulous little getaway spot. As self-catering cottages go, the cottages are well-appointed, comfortable and clean. There is everything one could need for a relaxed break in the heart of nature.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Pieterjan Vanoutrive & Sofie Van Den Berg (Belgium)

Second stay at Forest Edge, and again we got what we came for: tranquility and pure comfort lodging in Knysna!

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Lance Setzer (Cape Town)

Beautiful place, great atmosphere, friendly staff, personal service. The most amazing place, even better the second time around! We will be back.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Tracey Bent (Oudtshoorn)

What a magic place, we loved it!!

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Rosemary, Andy And Sarah Carr (England)

A relaxing and inspiring stay. The location and garden have been put together really well. All Ronel's recommendations were excellent and highlights for us included Drupkelders pools, a whale at Buffel's Beach, a visit to the Elephant Park and lunch at East Head Cafe. Back at Forest Edge we thoroughly enjoyed BBQs on the veranda, an evening around the fire and a very interesting and inspiring tour of the sustainable energy / water system. Congratulations on having created a unique and special place!

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Cindy Holmes (Muizenberg)

Brilliant. We had a wonderful stay... close enough to all the activities on the Garden Route but you really feel like you are in the bush with everything you need.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Elma Pollard (Somerset West)

Unbelievable attention to detail! Peace, education, inspiration and love. Dankie vir die stilte, vrede, inspirasie - wow, jou groentetuin!

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Kurt And Michaela Mandel (Vienna, Austria)

Definitely the best equipped and best value for money accommodation during our trip on the Garden Route. I would definitely recommend. This place was a big surprise for us and definitely a highlight during our travel through South Africa!

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Daan En Karien Van Den Berg (Pretoria)

Stunning! Just did not spend enough time here. n Week hier is verseker te kort! Ons het so lekker hier gebly tydens ons wittebrood in die gesellige huisie. Dankie vir die gasvryheid, die bederf, en die moeite wat jy doen om mens tuis te laat voel en ingelig te hou in so n heerlike rustige atmosfeer. Die 'meditation corner' is n oulike verrassing! Die kaggel, dvd's en boeke was n heerlike toevlug op reenerige aande. Hier is so baie lekker dinge om te doen in die omgewing - ons beveel die volgende beslis aan: Jean se 'in-cottage massage', Drupkelders - pragtig, Kringe in die Bos stappad - ons het loeries gesien, Millwood tee tuin, Featherbed Cruise met buffet ete. Ons het heerlik gerus en is jammer om te gaan.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Peter And Inge Bacher (Denmark)

A beautiful place and nice surroundings.

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Anna Khlebnikova And Nicola Toma (Cape Town)

What a truly unforgettable experience. This place has a special magic about it: one feels close to nature and it feels like home straight away. Waking up to birds' song, lying in a hammock with a book and having peaceful tranquility... special memories. Also... environmentally friendly, cares about water conservation. We will come back to this mesmerizing magic. Heartfelt thanks for your true hospitality, impeccable attention to detail (we had everything we could possibly dream of in terms of modern conveniences) and for doing what you are. Also, coming back to a sparkling clean cottage after a long hike was very special and uplifting. Many thanks to your staff as well for making our stay amazing.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Elizabeth Mills (UK)

A magnificent time; a warm, kind, generous host which made our stay more memorable. This place is beautiful and very romantic. It felt like a home away from home. We enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the busy city and being able to connect with nature. And our cottage was cleaned with such love and care... thank you.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Petro Swanepoel (Stellenbosch)

All our expectations were met AND exceeded, we were very happy to find that the phots and information on the website depicted EXACTLY what we received here... We weren't led around the bush (pun intended). Dankie vir n asemrowende kuier; ons het niks gekort nie, hier is ALLES en meer! Die kaggel, romantiese bad en buitestort was fantasties. Dankie vir jou gasvryheid en warm persoonlikheid.

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Sebastian Ova (Port Elizabeth)

A beautiful honeymoon experience and time away from the hectic city. So friendly and welcoming; your effort in making it extra special is appreciated. You only have one honeymoon and ours could not have been spent at a better place. Very highly recommended.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Rachel Glass & Claire King (UK)

Ambiance is relaxing, peaceful and secure. Cleanliness is brilliant. We loved the outdoor shower and rolltop bath and the lovely lounge area, fire place and outside deck area. Everything EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS - thank you!

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Dr Dorian Haarhoff (Somerset West)

Muchas gracias for creating such a space... I breathe deeply here and I am present.
Forest Edge like the forest holds charm and shares its secrets with you
as you slow slow to its rhythm and the beat of its hospitable heart."

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Neil De Swardt (Pretoria)

Highly Recommended!!

The Forest and beautiful views cannot be found anywhere else in SA. If you are looking for some place to find your head and some peace and quiet, watching some fireflies in flight, this is your destination.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Samantha Preller (Bloemfontein)

Loved it!! Forest Edge deserves more than a 3-star grading - So much more than we bargained for. A place where you can rest and enjoy creation to it's fullest. In a class of it's own, Forest Edge is a home away from home.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Mascha Van Berkel (Netherlands)

The ambiance was fantastic and the staff really kind and helpful. Great place to relax!

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Nicolette Alberts (SA)

A little piece of heaven on earth! We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. It was unforgettable...

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Monika Teasdale (George)

The Forest Edge Bug has bitten us hard, but pleasantly, we could not resist coming back so soon and we have already booked our next stay. It gets more enjoyable with each visit. Like celebrating a birthday, with many happy returns! A splendid place to escape to.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Karen & Ken Nice (Brighton, UK)

What a wonderful relaxing place! We loved the outdoor shower, the peacefulness of the whole place. Gazing at the stars with the night sounds was magical. Lovely to watch the baboons roaming freely in their habitat! Cannot fault anything: staff always friendly, obliging and helpful and the cottages clean.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Wessel Erwee (Cape Town)

What a wonderful place to Discover the art of Being. I am extremely impressed with your prompt service!

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Rita Jansen Van Vuuren (Roodepoort)

Very pleasant atmosphere, lets your soul catch up with your body. Thoroughly enjoyed baking the best bread ever in the gas oven!

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Hans & Ronell Lareman (Oudtshoorn)

Highly recommended! Elegant, homely, gorgeous country retreat with beautifully furnished cottages. A unique experience of the natural Knysna forest in absolute privacy and with easy access to tourist attractions nearby. Walk amongst the giant old trees, breathe the freshest air and relax on the deck at sunset. What a joyful time in God's own garden.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Richard Waterston (SA)

If we had to choose a destination between Forest Edge and anywhere on Mauritius, Forest Edge would win!

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Letitia Van Der Merwe (Randburg)

We really had a wonderful time, we were looking for peace and quiet and Forest Edge definitely delivers.

The attention to detail is amazing, stayed in a few 5 star venues before and Forest Edge doesn't need to stand back. It's the small things (like the detailed info guide) that made the difference.

January 2008

Excellent

Review by Charles Street (Johannesburg)

Forest Edge was the perfect place to end our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed the walks through the Forest. The peace and quiet was perfect to relax before returning to busy JHB, and the nightly natural 'forest symphony' around the fire was unforgettable. We received first-class service and the accommodation was great.

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Jon Amira (Cape Town)

Our Honeymoon... We had such a special time together at Forest Edge, it was filled with magical moments, definitely our first choice for romantic getaways, and we will visit again to re-capture those special moments together. My favourite place for spiritual and awe inspiring moments.

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Roddy & Maggie Glen (Scotland)

Thanks you for creating such a beautiful home from home! How special to share our garden with fluffy donkeys, fireflies, chicks and cocks, baboons and butterflies!

Thanks for the Magic...

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Tammy Bouwer (Cape)

The service and accommodation was superb!

October 2007

Excellent

Review by Jennene & Erik (Netherlands)

Thank you so much for everything: The accommodation, service and your information about the surroundings - we will tell it to our friends back in the Netherlands! We wish we could stay longer.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1025
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.929508332666664
Longitude: 22.938583333

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 68km
Plettenberg Bay Airport - 60km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 15h00
Check-out by 10h00

We regret no Sunday or Public Holiday Check-ins.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
October 2007 - 65 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap