Reviews & Comments

Showing 14 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

everything was on point, the view of the dam from our room was amazing. we will definitely be coming back very soon

July 2018

mulisa ramazhamba (south africa)

Verified reviewvery good

An absolutely stunning location. My wife and I spent our one year anniversary in Suite 4 of El Sheddai and were both blown away. Not only did the room and view of the dam complement each other, but the service and hospitality of Susan and Peter was as warm as could be. Apart from one or two glitches with the breakfast and the Wi-Fi, we loved our stay and would recommend it without hesitation.

October 2016

Ridw (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Susan n peter thanks a lot for everything ,breakfast to neatness of your rooms, most of all your kindness we never felt like strangers in your home, we definetly coming back in January next year, I'll be recommending your place to whoever wants to come that side. THANKS AGAIN GUYS!!!!

September 2016

thabo (gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

My partner and I went the for the weekend of May 27 2016 as we where celebrating my birthday,We went with our friends and it was beyond amazing,Suzan was gr8 and I really loved the place.The service was excellent and never had so much fun I will be going back

May 2016

Millicent (Rustenburg )

Verified reviewvery good

we had a great stay from the 13th-17th april 2015,the view is to die for,not to mention the amazing breakfast,it was very relaxing and we had a wonderful stay,i wish we could have stayed longer,thanx susan for being agreat host

April 2015

thami (pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

My friend and I stayed at El Shadai from Friday until Sunday. We were celebrating his birthday (17th January). My expectations and standards are usually quite high but I can say with the utmost certainty that our weekend far exceeded my expectations. El Shadai is absolutely stunning. It's very clean and neat. The hosts Susan and Pieter and very hospitable and made our stay very comfortable. From the friendly dogs to the breakfast, everything simply added to the perfection! The pool and braai area overlooks the dam and it was just beautiful to spend our evenings there. Our room had a lovely private balcony that led to a spectacular view of the dam while we enjoyed sundowers in the afternoon. The place is also well situated and close to all the fun activities that Harties has to offer. I could not be happier with our time spent there. I will definitely visit again because it's sure worth that 5 star rating!

January 2015

Rashmika (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays( 13 & 14 September) at El Shaddai. Its a very nice place for relaxing and spending quality time , right up the mountain with beautiful view of dam. When cruising by boat you can see the guest house up the mountain, it out-stands its self. The hospitality and food was amazing. we surely going back and definitely recommend to anyone .Thanks Susan & Pieter

September 2012

Dimakatso Mogale (Vereeniging)

Verified reviewexcellent

my partner and i went 2 elshadi 4 a weekend just 2 spend a quality time, de service is amazing, de food is delicious.we feel like everytime we want 2 b alone we'll definetly cum back. we love elshadi and i recommend it 4 couples young and old.

March 2012

nomsa and jacob (joburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely stunning! We booked suite 4 and it was worth every cent and very good value for money. The room was immaculate and the view breath-taking! We lounged in the splash pool overlooking the dam - very relaxing. The service was warm and friendly.

January 2012

Linda (Moreletapark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Die geriewe is uit die boonste rakke, die uitsig is fantasties en die diens was baie goed en Susan en Pieter was uitstekende gashere. Ons sal beslis weer daar oorbly en kan El Shadai vir enigiemand aanbeveel. Baie dankie.

August 2011

Julius (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

went for the long weekend. Firstly the hospitallity there is great, the rooms are spacious with beautiful mountain and dam views. the food is well prepared, the rock pool is lovely.i would recormend to anyone who wants a beautiful calming holiday

September 2010

Lindiwe Dlamini (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely beautiful...our expectations were exceeded. Beautiful view excellent friendly service and awesome relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you so much Susan for making us feel at home. We will be back very soon.

October 2009

Gape and Theo (Botswana)

Verified reviewvery good

Your place is stunning and views out of this world. We enjoyed the magnificent breakfast and lovely room. The only thing I need to perhaps ask is that we would have loved to swim as this is what the web had indicated however the pool really was not up to scratch to do that. The towels need replacing everyday and the first day although they were on the floor they were just put back onto the rack on both rooms. 2nd day they were replaced. other then that if these 2 things are done it is definately a Top class place to stay and value for money.

April 2009

charmaine brown (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

my wife and I celebrated a mini honeymoon at el shaddai.It was really nice,accomodation lovely,food very well prepared and presented.Susan and her staff very friendly and helpful!! lots to do in the area. would definitely go back>>>>> Andre andNatalie

December 2008

andre (london)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,400
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • El Shadai

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.