Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

This is a beautiful part of the world. Big mountains, vineyards everywhere and very good wine. The Spring flowers were all over which was quite a sight. The accommodation was very warm and comfortable and perfect for our own cooking. Everything you need is in the cottage. Sally and Douglas were always helpful and told us all about the area and where to go. We recommend these cottages and we will come again.

August 2018

Wilhelm (Frankfurt)

Verified reviewexcellent

Even though it was winter in the Cape, it was warm and sunny during the day - highlighting the fantastic views across the vineyards. Sally and Douglas was very welcoming hosts and we loved being on their farm - especially the ducks! We'll be back when next in SA

July 2018

Anne Martin (New York)

Verified reviewexcellent

SALLY AND DOUGLAS WERE VERY HELPFUL AND ASSISTED IN EVERYTHING A REQUIRED. I ENJOYED THE FARM AND THE NATURE RESERVE. LOVELY PLACE AND LOVELY PEOPLE WELL-KEPT FARM AND GARDEN AROUND THE COTTAGES THANK-YOU SO MUCH SALLY AND DOUGLAS

October 2017

annelise BARKER (HUMANSDORP)

Verified reviewexcellent

Heather and I had a wonderful stay here at the lovely Eensgevonden Vineyards! What a beautiful place it is! we wished we could have spent more time at the cottage. Eensgevonden is a little slice of Heaven! Thank you for being a great host - we fell in love with Eensgevonden! Pam (mother) & Heather (daughter)

December 2014

Heather & Pam Campbell (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Overall 100% Thumbs Up! Awesome, beautiful stunning place. This is how you want to stay when your on holiday. With two lovely,friendly people with great hearts. I highly recommend this place

December 2013

Donald Brink (Freestate)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Sally Thanks once again for a wonderful weekend, and for the 2 walks which I thoroughly enjoyed. I had a glorious (though somewhat chilly) swim in the pool this morning after our walk, followed by a flask of hot tea. So refreshing! Although you are obviously running a business it must be fantastic to be able to give us city slickers a real break in your little corner of paradise. Best Wishes

July 2013

Susan (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Eensgevonden is a very special place we loved at first sight! The farm is close to little mountains and you are surrounded by nature everywhere you go or watch. We stayed there with our 2 ½ year old daughter and we all loved the place. Our daughter was allowed to feed the ducks for example, dog Taffy came around, cats to pad... But it is not just the place that’s special, it’s also the people who own and run it who are special and who make it a little paradise. We felt so warmly welcomed. Everywhere their love to their land is obvious. Sally and Douglas you are special! We loved the little chats "at the fence". If you stay there you have to order “breakfast in a basket”, it is delicious! Homemade bread, muffins, coffee, milk, fruit, jam, marmelade, … We ordered it for two and ate with two and a half and had always leftovers for the afternoon. Absolutely worth staying there!

November 2012

Julia, Emilie and Andi (Berlin)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Sally We had a fantastic time. Thank you! You live in a beautiful part of the country. Regards Roleen

April 2010

Roleen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Hi Sally and Douglas, Before our stay at the foot of 'your mountain' recedes too far into the past, we feel the need to express our gratitude to you both for a most memorable and relaxing four days. The contrasts between the wildness of the mountain the the orderlyness of the vineyards and the grandeur of the distant views will not be forgotten. Also much appreciated was your willingness to share your enthusiasm with us for what you were doing and for your visions for the future. Never again will we sip a Shiraz or a Chardonay without realising the amount of hard slog that went into it, even before the winemaker ever saw it!! Best regards, John and June

November 2009

June (Sedgefield)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hello Sally and Douglas, Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Eensgevonden - we are already working on our Spring visit to you next year! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and for taking the time to give us a walking tour of the vineyards, sending us off to the waterfall and rock pool and our walk on Thursday evening, it was all just great. Again, many thanks. Barbara

November 2009

Barbara (Knysna)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Sally Thanks for a great weekend & great hospitality. Will be looking out for the Eensgevonden label. Get that cellar started! Regards Emmanuel

May 2008

Emmanuel (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Sally and Douglas Thank you for a most enjoyable stay. We loved the cottage, and appreciated your kindness and personal attention. The duck down pillows are a revelation! Pat and Ian Brink

April 2008

Pat & Ian Brink (Nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Doug and Sally I wanted to thank you for the most wonderful stay in your cottage! It was so lovely to meet you. I had such a lovely time and am still dreaming of swimming beneath the waterfall. All the wines were lovely and the people at Daschbosch were very kind and generous. And their wine was also lovely!! Thank you again for such a wonderful time, take care. Dickon

September 2007

Dickon (London)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,100
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Eensgevonden Vineyard Cottages

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.