Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning location. The owners including their staff are superb. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Highly recommended.

February 2017

Rob Bearryman (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dawn and Stan are so friendly and helpful, they gave us so much information of things to see and do in the area. The accommadation was great, so clean and comfortable, If you are going to stay in George this is the place, great location.

October 2010

Yvonne (Kildare)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a find! This has been one of my best stays at a Guesthouse (and I have stayed at many). The extra special welcome from Dawn & Stan made you feel like a returning friend. My room was exquisitely furnished with all those special "extras" that make it a cut-above-the-rest! Breakfast was very good and I enjoyed our conversation Stan, would have been quite happy to stay longer chatting. Unfortunately my stay was just for one night (1/2 way stopover from Grahamstown to Cape Town) but now that I've found you I promise I'll be back and would love to explore George and surrounds with the help of Dawn's vast knowledge of the area.

February 2010

Alison Templar (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We picked Edenwood at random from the internet and consider ourselves very lucky to have done so. Dawn responded to our enquiry immediately and when we arrived made us feel very welcome. The house is very well set up for B&B and the garden and grounds very attractive and pretty. Our room was large and spacious, also very clean. The only slight drawback I would mention is the lack of a socket near a mirror for hairdrier use. We stayed for 4 days and visited restaurants in the area recommended by Dawn and Stan, they were all excellent and very good value for money. We would have no hesitation in recomending Edenwood to friends & family who may visit the area in future. Thank you both for an excellent stay.

January 2010

Sheila Riddell (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Edenwood is a very upmarket B & B. Our room was expensively furnished and very comfortable. Everything was spotless and the garden lovely, full of birds. Dawn is an excellent hostess, she went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed for three nights but could have stayed much longer. We loved the cats. The breakfasts were excellent also, freshly cooked by Dawn.

November 2009

Rose (Sussex, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Dawn for an unforgetable stay,her knowledge of the area was outstanding,her Guest House was immaculate and her chat at the breakfast table made a very enjoyable stay with ideas of places to visit whilst in the George area.A Guest House thoroughly to be recommended,thanks for your help when we had a trickey situation most appreciated

October 2009

Mr&Mrs Hadley (Birmingham UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Mr & Mrs B Smuts - PE - dates arrival 20th Sep - departure 24th Sept Recently we stayed at this lovely Guest House in George and what a lucky find, as we had been traveling for a few weeks. We were so fortunate to be able to stay in the lovely Garden Cottage, in this quiet corner of George, and were awoken to the sounds of birds, and even saw Knysna Loeries in the pretty garden, from the balcony each morning. Dawn made us so welcome, and her attention to little details on our behalf, to make our stay more comfortable were much appreciated. The cottage is very well appointed and has everything you need for a very pleasant stay. We have no hesitation in recommending Edenwood and in fact have booked to return in December.

September 2009

Mr & Mrs B Smuts (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

A whistle stop stay on our whirlwind tour in South Africa visiting friends, family and supporting the British Lions. A very warm welcome on arrival and a very good local fish restaurant recommended, lots of good chat at Breakfast with Dawn and Stan, beautiful setting, just wish we could have stayed longer. Would really recommend Edenwood. Thank you. Tom, Harry, Simon and Jane.

June 2009

Tom, Harry, Simon and Jane (York, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Edenwood is more than a home away from home. The view from our room was incredibly beautiful thanks to the inviting garden that screamed of life! The encyclopaedic knowledge of Dawn about George (and of course much more) made our breakfast conversations so much more rewarding. Thanks very much for your hospitality!

April 2009

Katja & Njue (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Edenwood is a lovely peaceful house with everything of a high standard and where we received a warm welcome. Our Forest View room had a balcony with a great view over the garden and the forest beyond as expected from a previous visit. Dawn has encyclopaedic local knowledge and we were lucky enough to share an excellent breakfast with husband Stan who has a fund of entertaining stories. We are looking forward to another visit there on our next annual trip to SA.

February 2009

W. Robinson (Redhill Surrey UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was the second time we stayed at Edenwood, having spent a week there in September 2008 and been thoroughly happy on a "holiday with a purpose" visit, as we were buying a house nearby. Our self-catering suite was spacious and welcoming, with a well equipped little kitchen and dining area. It was tastefully decorated, and with a wonderful balcony for the morning sun, giving the opportunity to watch birds and other wildlife (cheeky baboons) in this delightful edge-of-town position. Our hostess was friendly and extremely helpful with advice about what to do in George, and how to find the things we needed for setting up house. We were extremely well looked after, whilst feeling entirely free to come and go as we pleased, and make oursves totally at home. There were little considerate touches - such as a welcome bottle of wine, and luxury toiletries in the shower room - and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We were very pleased with the quality of this establishment, and of our experience.

December 2008

Harvey Marshall (London UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Edenwood is a home away from home. It was an excellent place to relax in the middle of our trip travelling from Cape Town to Addo. Dawn couldn't make you feel more at home the way she takes care of you and welcomes you into her home. Our Forest View room was large and comfortable. It had a kitchenette with a daily supply of fruit and tea/coffe as well as a nice balcony to enjoy drinks on. The breakfast was fresh and filling - a great way to start busy days. The surroundings are peaceful and relaxing. We also loved playing with the friendly cats - another little reminder of home. Dawn is particularly helpful with recommendations for places to visit, restaurants, and vendors to use for activities and even gave advice from the rest of our journey beyond George given her vast experience travelling all over South Africa with her family. Edenwood is a great location in the middle of the Garden Route from which to visit the beaches of Mosselbai, Botlierskop Game Reserve, Wilderness beach, Oudtshoorn and the ostrich farms (we highly recommend Chandelier's). Our only disappointment was that the babboons we heard in the woods didn't make an appearance on the porch during our 4-night stay.

November 2008

Sue Bader (Saint Louis, MO)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,400
  • R
  • 1330
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
South Africa. Explore. Experience. Stay

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.