Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

It was a lovely stay with Etta and Derek. So friendly and wonderful. We found this place and we are coming back. Thanks so much for all what you do for us. The trip to Addo was fantastic. !!

May 2018

Alex (Hanover, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay! Great breakfast, great supper, great location, great hosts! If you want to visit Addo Elephant Park this is the perfect place to stay. The owners are nature guides and really know a lot. What I liked most was the fresh juice in the morning, the home baked bread and the great hospitality.

July 2017

Gabi Grassold (Lower Saxony, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is the perfect B&B! Perfect location, perfect rooms (large and comfortable), perfect breakfasts (cooked to order with fresh squeezed juices and hot homemade bread) and perfect staff (warm and friendly with your comfort their main concern). This will definitely be our place of choice when we return to this lovely part of South Africa. You cannot go wrong with the Dungbeetle River Lodge.

August 2016

Allan and Cindy Lee (Santa Clara, Utah)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most wonderful time! Etta and Dereck are the best hosts and do the best for their guests. The canoe ride to the dunes and the game drive through Addo was a wonderful and unique experience. Hopelyk to veers.

April 2008

Daniela and Markus (Cologne)

Verified reviewvery good

Fantastic hosts!! fantastic lodgings, fantastic elephants, fantastic bread.

March 2008

Tim and Leela (Bucks England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We felt like coming home, everybody was very friendly and helpful. Amazing view and dunes. We are sorry to miss the Addo Elephant N.P.!! But next time we will go.

March 2008

Stefan and Karin Henning (Schmillinghausen, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

WE LOVED THIS PLACE! WONDERFUL FRIENDLY COUPLE AND WE ADORED OUR KAYAKING, DUNES AND ADDO GAME DRIVE. REALLY EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE. P.S. GREAT BREAD AND BREAKFAST!

March 2008

Michael Stöhr (Bonn, Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

Proudly South African! Truly South African hospitality and a warm friendly welcome and stay. Breakfast yummie!! Thanks XXX

March 2008

Russel and Marina Reuvers (Gansbaai, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the time of our lives! Saw and did so much with you both. 2 wonderful people as our hosts. 5 Star treatment. Many thanks and God Bless.

February 2008

Charmin Chilton (Durban R.S.A.)

Verified reviewexcellent

Restored to health and vitality:refreshed in both soal and mind - God bless my friends and wee 4 legget frikend Tombie.

February 2008

Denise Beunk (Almeria, Spain)

Verified reviewexcellent

You cannot get it better than this. Brilliant in every aspect. Hope to come again soon.

February 2008

John and Sheila Mason (Northampton, U.K.)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dungbeetle has been an excellent place to stay. Etta's visit/guided tour to Addo was very informative and enjoyable. The dunes are amazing and mabybe one day we will get the chance to visit again.

February 2008

Muriel and Clive Cordon (Thedvall, England)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,220
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Dungbeetle River Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.