Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We will thank you for the great stay at De Oude Opstal. You are very friendly and helpful and we felt right at home. The garden is wonderful, very big and very quiet with a lovely large swimming pool. The room is beautifully decorated everything fits together. We had a wonderfull time with you, many thanks.

February 2018

Kees and Evelien (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Díeses B&B ist sehr zu empfehlen. Das Essen und die liebevoll eingerichteten Zimmer sind perfekt und den Pool hatten wir während unseres Aufenthalts komplett für uns alleine. Unsere Ausflüge wurden von Dieter super durchgeplant und organisiert. Seine Tipps sind einfach Gold wert. WIR KOMMEN WIEDER!!! 7 VON 5 STERNEN für dieses B&B.

August 2017

Holger (Holzgerlingen)

Verified reviewexcellent

the place is excellent and the owners henk botha and his wife go out their way to make your stay an excellent one

October 2016

vusi mhlanga (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Eine in jeder Hinsicht vorbildliche Unterkunft. Jedes noch so kleine Detail im kapholländischen Haus und im großen Garten mit fantastischem Pool und Naturstrand ist wirklich bestens durchdacht. Ausgesprochen nette, hilfsbereite und freundliche Gastgeber. Ein Gefühl wie bei guten Freunden. Eine traumhafte Oase in die sich auch der Haushund Willi perfekt einpasst. Eigentlich ein Geheimtipp, den man für sich behalten sollte. Bei einem nochmaligen Besuch in Südafrika werden wir auf jeden Fall versuchen dort wieder Unterkunft zu bekommen. Das Highlight unserer dreiwöchigen Südafrikareise. Hier gab es wirklich nichts zu bemängeln

February 2013

Ullrich (Pocking/Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful and professional couple, with very hospitable ways always accommodating you in every way possible. The service, room’s property and environment are 5 *. The massive pool is secluded and perfect for the late evening dip. We will definitely be back. Carla, Gerhard and Chantel

December 2012

Carla (Hatfiled/UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Hilde and Dieter We're back into our normal routine in Cape Town again, but keep remembering our days in Robertson fondly. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. The room was great, the breakfasts tasty and the gardens beautiful. Jesse loved your dog and the tall, tall palm tree sticking out from behind the rooms. Lance loved the shower and all the different fruit trees in the garden. I loved the bag of swimming towels outside the room and being woken by church bells on Good Friday.

April 2012

Chloe Osburn (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just 2 weeks ago we were still on holiday in South Africa. We (2 adults and a 2 year old child) were travelling around the country, but had a lot of things to do around Robertson/McGregor. Luckily we found De Oude Opstal quickly. We had the Out of Africa room which was really spacious. The bedroom, bathroom and self catering kitchen were all clean and ready to be used. The bathroom was spacious and plenty of room to move and hooks to hang face cloths, towels, clothes and robes. And the bath was really nice too. Although the house is in town, the environment is tranquil and peaceful with large trees and a settled garden with beautiful flowers (spring was in the air so we saw a lot of beautiful, colourful flowers). There is also a large pool where one can relax, either to just enjoy the sun or swim a couple of lengths – unfortunately it was still too cold for us to use. There is also a braai in the garden which you can use. Hilde and Dieter were really friendly and were so kind and helpful for us, also in respect of our daughter (providing us with extra towels so she could splash around in the bathtub, potatoes for our braai etc). Their knowledge about Robertson and surroundings is also tremendous; they helped us with addresses in and around Robertson and also they told us a lot about their lovely Cape Dutch house. Willy their watch dog was also so lovely and kind and off course there was Cassiopeia their tortoise. You can imagine that we spent 6 days in the Out of Africa room; every time we needed to be around we stayed in the Out of Africa room. It felt like home to us; when staying over in Robertson again – we will definitely go back to De Oude Opstal.

September 2011

Olav (Amsterdam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Dieter We just wanted to thank you for the warm welcome and comfortable stay at De Oude Opstal on 29 July 2011. Your house is beautiful, your garden is peaceful, your accomodation is loveley, your dog is adorable and your breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back and will tell all our friends about your farm in the heart of Robertson.

July 2011

Marisa Hesseling (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a joy. Very comfortable, well equipped and central accommodation. Lovely views, peace and quiet and very welcoming hosts. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to all our friends and family. Hopefully we'll get another opportunity to make use of this great venue.

April 2011

Melinda Jacobs (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

As if at home in Robertson Judy vd Merwe (South Africa), March 22 2011 I arrived at De Oude Opstal on a hot day for one night only and was delighted that the room was spacious and cool, even though it was on the top floor. The bedroom, bathroom and self catering kitchen were all clean and ready to be used. The linen was still new (and fresh). The bathroom was spacious and plenty of room to move and hooks to hang face cloths, towels, clothes and robes. Although the house is in town, the environment is tranquil and peaceful with large trees and a settled garden with beautiful flowers. There is also a large pool where one can relax, either to just enjoy the sun or swim a couple of lengths - be sure to bring your swimsuit as I did not pack mine. The staff was friendly and helpful and Willy (the watch dog) is beautiful and has good manners. Breakfast was tasty and more than enough to last (it included home made jam!). When staying over in Robertson again - will definitely go back to De Oude Opstal.

March 2011

Judy vd Merwe (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Vielen dank Hilde und Dieter! What a day......really would have loved to spend more time enjoying your wonderfull hospitality and a room to dream of. Good luck and many thanks........Manfred und Lizbe Kapstadt

October 2010

Manfred Thieroff (Strand Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Hilde and Dieter, Many thanks for the most beautiful time spent at your magnificent home, you made our holiday perfect. We will remember you always. Roy and Colette

September 2010

Roy and Colette (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

This guesthouse is in Robertson and is stunning. If you drive the R62 you MUST visit.

August 2010

Ina Laubscher (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,260
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • De Oude Opstal

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.