Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Great personal service, good accommodation, good food. Will recommend to anyone, will stay there again. Hopefully sooner than later ...

December 2016

ME Swanepoel (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best place to be in Swellendam!!! An old but perfect house, great breakfast. Etienne, Vera and their daughter are wonderful hosts. My third and I hope not last stay there.

September 2016

BONHOMME (PARIS (France))

Verified reviewexcellent

A warm welcome from our host Etienne to his beautiful home. We arrived late in the afternoon and were soon sipping wine provided by our host on our terrace overlooking the garden. Our comfortable accommodation and delicious breakfast made this a lovely stop -over and we regretted that we did not have more time to let us further enjoy Cypress Cottage and to savour this lovely little town.

August 2010

Howard and Anne Munro (Glasgow Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

C'est probablement le meilleur endroit à Swellendam, Etienne l'hôte de ces lieux est très attentif et amical. Les chambres sont mignonnes spacieuses et confortables. C'est certain, si nous repassons dans le secteur nous retournerons chez Etienne. Profitez-en pour visiter, De Hoop, merveilleux parc à découvrir absolument. Anne et Laurent.

January 2010

QUILLET (Réunion island)

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived quite late ca. 2045 and thought no one would let us in but what a pleasant surprise! Etienne - the attentive host - was there waiting for us: we were given two spacious rooms to choose from, private parking, offered assistance with luggage and complimentary drinks (nice wine and tea) that he delivered personally to the room. The night was cold but we slept on electrically heated matresses - comfortable and cozy. Tasty breakfast was served in quite a setting: lit candles, "Love Story" theme played in the background. We spent some time relaxing at the back garden's pool later in the morning. We enjoyed Etienne's company, warm and welcoming who gave us tips and suggestions on what to see en route to our final destination in Knysna (recommended a couple of nice restos there too). A very positive place with an enchanting host!

October 2009

Agnieszka (Warsaw, Poland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best place to stay! when in Swellendam, I was sorry we could not stay longer... Etienne is the perfect knowledgeable host! thank you!

August 2009

Rachel (Israel)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an unforgettable place! Ettienne and Vera truly made us feel welcome and went out of their way to help us. We were able to call them at 18:00 and ask if they were able to accommodate us which they did, and had a bowl of soup waiting upon arrival. We have now stayed at Cypress Cottage a few times and every time it feels like a second home. Ettienne's breakfast is the best you will ever get! And the attention to detail is fantastic. Hope to see you soon.

April 2009

Nicole & Stephen (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a great find. Very attentive host in Etienne who makes every guest feel special - starting off with the complimentary drink delivered to the room on a beautifully laid tray & fresh flowers. Lovely room and garden. I so enjoyed the swimming pool which was kept in immaculate condition. Two nights was just not long enough and I will definitely return to Cypress Cottage next time I visit Swellendam.

December 2008

Brenda Field (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a nice place.Etiene and vera are good persons.made you feel like it is your own home,and the breakfast was delightful.My wife and i went four a tour on our bike and stayd there for 3 nights,a place where will defnatly stay over again when we pass thru swellendam again. Louis & Marlene

December 2008

Louis du Preez (Vredenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very beautiful House with an perfect interior. It was very lovely and the hosts Etienne and Vera was very friendly and helpfully. We felt like Prince and Princess. The Breakfast was very deligthfull. Gerald und Anita

July 2008

Gerald u. Anita Fröhlich (Bad Schönborn Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fabulous spot. Lots of colonial character. Great rooms. Incredible service. Kind & helpful hospitality for the owners. It rained for the whole trip so Swellendom didn't leave a great impression on us but the hospitality certainly made up for it. If you are looking for a place to stay in Swellendom, stay here!

January 2008

L. Murray (Dublin)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have spent a week in this excellent guesthouse, and we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and the surroundings. The room was very nice, very suitable for a family with a small child, as we were. The breakfast was great, the hosts were extremely friendly, and we think that once the swimming pool is ready (probably already) it would be hard to break away at all. We can recommend it to everybody who comes to South Africa to enjoy the nature reserves, the atmosphere. Emiel van der Plas

November 2007

E van der Plas (Amsterdam)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 800
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Cypress Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.