Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Aan het eind van onze " garden route trip" boekten we bij Liz en Eugene in Houtbay. Het was een prima adres en Liz en Eugene waren zeer gastvrij en altijd bereid ons ergens mee te helpen. Een gezellige "braai" hoorde daarbij. Een fijn zwembad was een + .

February 2011

Geert & Henny (Kapellen België)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for four weeks at Chez Victor and had a great taste of South African hospitality! We traveled with our four year old son and he enjoyed the time at the lovely pool. Liz & Eugene supported us in all our needs and belongings and we had a wonderfull time at their cottage. The place was fully equiped and even CD,TV and DVD available. We enjoyed our stay there very much and recommend Chez Victor to anyone who wants to have a perfect located,nice place near Cape Town with brilliant hosts. Liebe Liz, lieber Eugene, danke noch einmalfür die herzliche Gastfreundschaft die wir bei Euch genießen durften. Besonders unser vierjähriger Sohn Jakob vermisst den schönen Garten,Rocky und den Pool sehr. Das schöne Cottage hat sehr gut gefallen und die Ausstattung war super. Wir können Euch nur weiterempfehlen und wir hoffen, dass noch viele Gäste in den Genuss dieser Unterkunft kommen. Liebe Grüße aus Deutschland Holger, Kerstin & Jakob Tönges

February 2010

Holger & Kerstin Tönges (Munich)

Verified reviewexcellent

After an exhausting overnight 12 hour flight from London to Cape Town and a short drive to Hout Bay we really looked forward to arriving at Chez Victor to sit down and relax before heading out to explore the surrounding area. When we found Victor Road we looked for the house number and were immediately happy that we had chosen to stay here in this lovely quiet residential area. We knocked the door and received a very warm welcome from Sharon and Rocky (the dog). On learning all the necessities regarding the alarm, security gate etc we had a coffee and took in our surroundings. The cottage had everything we needed and more. The bedroom boasts a lovely double bed and plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. The bathroom again has plenty of space and the shower is powerful which is a definite plus to help get rid of all the sand from a day at the beach! The living area has two chairs and a sofa along with a supply of books, a radio/cd player and a tv which is perfect for a relaxing night. The kitchen also includes everything you could possibly need to cook breakfast lunch and dinner and even a lean mean fat grilling machine which is good for all of us who try to eat a bit healthier. Conveniently an iron and ironing board is also available and Sharon will do any washing or even ironing for you for a small fee. Outside the cottage there is a lovely area which you can use to have a braai (bbq) or simply relax in the sun. A huge advantage of this cottage is that the hosts Liz and Eugene allow visitors to have access to their own pool and garden which is accessed easily through a gate at the side of the cottage- what more could you want! In regards to location the cottage as mentioned is in a quiet residential area which is only a 5-10 minute to the local shops and bars and perhaps a further 5 minutes to the local beach. Liz and Eugene were perfect hosts, they involved us in a local pub quiz which was great fun. We won and also met some locals with whom we spent a number of nights with during our visit and whom without we wouldn’t have ventured in to Cape Town to see the world cup draw. Liz and Eugene were also kind and invited us to join them for a braai, wine and lovely conversation- it was a perfect evening. Even prior to our trip Liz and Eugene helped in many ways and for this we are truly grateful. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay in Chez Victor and will be sure to return once again to beautiful South Africa. Don’t hesistate to stay here- it is the perfect holiday getaway!

December 2009

Shelley (Northern Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 4nights at Chez Victor and enjoyed every minute there! Liz and Eugene were so welcoming and perfect hosts. From braaing with us on our first night there to giving us updates on the weather at Table Mountain everything was perfect. Will def be staying there on our next trip to S.A! Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed. See you next time Karen, Jodie and Hazel

August 2009

Jodie & Karen Williamson & Hazel Platt (Meton Mowbray, Uk & Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

The accommodation was very good. We throughly enjoyed our stay there and felt secure at all times and our hosts were wonderful.

March 2009

Maura Hayes (Waterford)

Verified reviewexcellent

This comfortable well equiped cottage is only part of a wonderful stay at Chez Victor. Our hosts Liz and Eugene were brilliant. They helped us plan our holiday even before we got to SA. We stayed for 6 nights and decided to return before going home for another 3 nights. We would definately recommend Chez Victor. It was PERFECT.

February 2009

Bob and Jill Pearce (London UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful 10 days stay at Chez Victor. Liz and Eugene were the perfect hosts, wonderfully helpful and sweet. Our little son made good use of their nice swimming pool, and the dog Rocky became an instant best friend. Hout Bay is a beautiful place and conveniently close to most attractions in the Cape Town area. It is a 20min scenic drive from the Waterfront in Cape Town and Hout Bay is one of the most scenic bays in the area. The harbor has some good seafood restaurants and you can buy fresh delicious fish straight from the sea and bring back to Chez Victor to prepare yourself in the cottage if you like. There is a Spar supermarket only 6-7min walk away and the harbor is another 10 min walk from there, so everything is conveniently close. The cottage is fully equipped and cozy. You won't find a nicer and friendlier place! A big thank you to Liz and Eugene for making our stay so wonderful!

December 2008

Milka, Kai and Henrik (Norway)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liz and Eugene are wonderful to stay with and you would never find anywhere better to stay within Hout Bay, the cottage is very clean and well equipped and the pool and gazebo is also fantastic. We stayed with Liz and Eugene last year and were so impressed we came back this year and plan to do the same next year as we are so impressed with the cottage and local facilities and of course Liz, Eugene and Rocky (their dog), there are some great places to eat in Hout Bay- especially pappino's and the Mariners Wharf and would recommend you pay them a visit. I would recommend Chez Victor 5 stars every time, wonderful place and wonderful hosts. Sarah & Barry Westwood.

November 2008

Sarah Westwood (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have just returned home after a delightful stay in Cape Town at Chez Victor. The cottage was perfect for our needs and most comfortable. Liz and Eugene were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome ! We were perfectly located in Hout Bay to enjoy all its facilities and to visit our family there. A definite highlight was enjoying a traditional South African 'Braai ' with our hosts in the Boma next to the swimming pool . We will definitely be going back ! Bob and Hildegarde Shepherd.

October 2008

Bob Shepherd (Kenton-on-Sea)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Hout Bay with the Besters. Hout Bay is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town, Table Mountain, The Cape Peninsular and the Winelands with the added bonus of the Bester\'s friendliness and hospitality which leaves nothing to be desired. We are looking forward to making another trip to SA and will definitely include a stay at Chez Victor.

March 2008

Yvonne Westlake (Toronto)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liz and Eugene are magnificent hosts who went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating-a truly memorable stay.

February 2008

Don Ingham (Truro)

Verified reviewvery good

We have just returned from another 3 week stay (Christmas - New Year) at Chez Victor as we have done for the last 15 years!! And as always our stay was so good we didn't want to leave. Although the cottage is designed for two persons, our daughter always accompanies us, and although now 19 years old, she wouldn't miss it. Chez Victor is ideally situated for great seafood restaurants with magnificent views, without paying "Waterfront prices". Most mornings I walkedfrom Hout Bay to the Look Out at Chapman's Peak (11klms round trip) and not only felt safe but the route at that time was full of people doing likewise as well as running or cycling. The view en-route is so magnificent it hurts! I would highly recommend Chez Victor but we always have first option at this time!

January 2008

Annie & Ollie Oliveira (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I spent two brilliant weeks at Chez Victor. Not only was the accommodation more than adequate, but we were given a welcome basket of fruit, wine and essentials to get us started. The family were brilliant with advice on local places to visit and things to do. They also spent time helping us plan some trips further afield and making forward bookings for us. In fact, after the first few days, we felt like members of the family and were treated as such. The location is second to none with the very welcome swimming pool and shops and beaches very close by. We would go back to Chez Victor at the drop of a hat. Believe me, you will not be disappointed

November 2007

David Lovat (Coventry, England)

Verified reviewvery good

We spent a lovely week - Hout Bay is a great area to be based. Such welcoming hosts who will guide and advise you if required. Accommodation was comfortable and the use of their garden and pool a lovely retreat after busy days sightseeing. We would return to them tomorrow if we were able.

November 2007

R and B Kane (North Berwick, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We happened to find the Besters and their cottage some years ago in the internet and have been in beautiful Hout Bay 4 times since. The hospitality and charm we had the pleasure to enjoy will hopefully take us there lots of times to come. We got to love this place, the best is the Besters, followed from the pool, the gazebo, the food, the wine, the landscapes to see, the beaches, the mountains, the harbour and so on and on. Thank both of you for making our hollydays at your place unforgetable. Und jetzt für die Deutschen: Zufällig sind wir im Internet auf die Besters und ihr cottage gestoßen und haben inzwischen vier Mal unsere Ferien dort verbracht. Das Haus ist sehr schön, aber das Beste sind die Besters, der Pool, die Grillhütte, die Freundschaft, die den Gästen entgegengebracht werden. Wir haben viele Hotels und b + b´s in Südafrika gesehen, aber hier fühlen wir uns am wohlsten. Danke, Liz und Eugene für die guten Zeiten, die wir bei und mit Euch verbringen durften. Marion und Werner Tysl

February 2007

Werner Tysl (Krefeld, Germany)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 850
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Chez Victor

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.