Reviews & Comments

Showing 47 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic stay at Chartwell Guest House! We have found our happy place and will definitely return. Great location, great staff, wonderful vibe!

December 2015

Grant Hanson (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fabulous place! Great location, perfect setting, stunning sea view and garden. We won't forget our delicious breakfast on the patio on Christmas morning anytime soon. Thank you to the staff for "our home from home". We will definitely be back, with our 4 legged family member soon!!!

December 2014

the Morris-Smiths (Ermelo)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just wanted to let you know about the treatment received from Chartwell Guest house Umhlanga Rocks. On the website the guest house looks lovely and had very positive reviews. However when making a booking there was a problem as the days I wanted were not in the cheaper room which I preferred. Janine the owner went out of her way to organise that after getting her other bookings and making a plan I could get the room I wanted. Unexpectedly at the last minute I took ill and was unable to travel to Umhlanga. I had already paid for my few days stay. Janine once again was very understanding and paid me back in full. Next time I go to Umhlanga I will definitely stay there after the treatment I received by the owner as I'm sure she looks after all her guests very well.

December 2014

Terri Pakter (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic stay - the staff were lovely, the breakfasts were magnificent, the sea views were divine and we just loved the relaxed vibe and home from home feeling. Of course our free upgrade to the Royal Suite was an amazing surprise and very appreciated. We will definitely return. Thank you!!!!

October 2014

Nix & Josh (Newcastle)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely phenomenal guest house. I am in love with suite 5! Molto bene!

July 2014

Biaggo Pelliccia (Napoli)

Verified reviewexcellent

Still the best breakfast in Umhlanga Rocks! Thanks for a wonderful stay (again)!

June 2014

Curt Muhlenberg (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Tres bon! Un hotel charmant! Delicieux croissants! Belle vue sur la mer!

March 2014

Phillipe Morneau (Marseilles)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a truly amazing stay! Chartwell Guest House is spectacular, perfect location, world class service!

December 2013

The Barnard family (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

WOW! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Beautiful room, lovely sea views, best breakfast ever! See you in March 2014!

November 2013

Paul & Susan Fraser (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Danke fur diesen wunderschonen Urlaub. Genau der Platz um einen erholsamen Kurzurlaub zu geniessen. Das Zimmer (5) mit seiner Aussicht und die Betten sind hervorragend. Das Fruhstuck oppulent und ausgezeichnet. Weltklasse Freundlichkeit, Hilfsbereitschaft und Zuvorkommenheit der Angestellten und des Managers Bruce. Das kleine aber sehr luxuriose Hotel ist sehr gunstig gelegen und nicht weit von Strand und allen Annehmlichkeiten in Umhlanga und Umgebung. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder. Bertold & Eva

September 2013

Bertold (Munchen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for an awesome stay in your beautiful Royal Suite. It was better than 5 star! What wonderful memories - we will never forget our romantic African Honeymoon! We wish you everything of the best in the future & hope to see you all again!

July 2013

Tatiana & Boris (Ukraine)

Verified reviewexcellent

THANK YOU FOR A VERY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY. YOU EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. EXTREMELY DELIGHTFUL!

January 2013

Klaus Jennert (Nederland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome stay! Hosts are phenomenal! Thanks for all! Will definitely be back!!!!

September 2012

Luis & Lara (Fourways, Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Manager & staff were very friendly. The guesthouse is very amazing. Thanks for all.

August 2012

S & F Sircilli (San Paulo, Brazil)

Verified reviewexcellent

HOSPITALITY AND SERVICE IS WORLD CLASS!

August 2012

K Gujiaded (Sandton, JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic! We will be back!

July 2012

L&J Hanekom (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome service, Wonderful room, Great food & Warmest hospitality. Thanks Bruce and Team

May 2012

Thembokuhle (Witbank)

Verified reviewexcellent

After staying at your guest house, for the 1st time, the experiance was so wonderfull, that I recommended you for our entire company as accomodation of choice, the rest of our team that stayed there after me feels the same way. The service received from you and Bruce is really wonderfull!! Keep up the good work, and I will definately see you in future.

April 2012

K Van Graan (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Janine, Just wanted to write you a note letting you know what a wonderful time we had staying at your Guest house. The room was beautiful and spacious and your staff hospitality was great, they really know how to treat their guests. We really had the best time of our lives, We hope to be back again soon! Thank you. Regards, Ntokozo

March 2012

Ntokozo (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi All Thanks for the great week-end even though it was a last minute booking, my kids were so happy and they cannot wait to go back. Your staff was amazing and not to mention breakfast, thanks so much, hope to see you soon! Kind Regards Lindiwe Thenga

January 2012

Lindiwe Thenga (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your hospitality! Chartwell Guest House is the place to be when in Durban. God bless U!

December 2011

Nicholas Njeru (Nairobi, Kenya)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful stay with wonderful people!

October 2011

Catherine Monte (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a lovely, elegant "home" and impeccable service! We loved it!!

September 2011

Rod & Marion Moss (Perth, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fabulous & perfect holiday! Feel well rested & refreshed. Felt like part of the family. Thank you!

August 2011

Joy & Julie Barrett (Southdale)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Janine, This email takes me back to the period I spent with you from early July up to the beginning of August . This was a wonderful and unforgettable time I spent at your guest house, I felt like at home. Your caring and having interest in guest is incredible. Tell Tracy that she is wonderful. Her warm hearted social contact made us to feel free and feel part of the guest house family members. Without forgetting to mention your staff members, wonderful people. I’ll miss them a lot, please tell them that we will never forget their caring and kindness. Please pass my greetings to everyone and I/we hope to see you next time, probably as a bigger group than last time. Thanks a lot again, Sindile

July 2011

Sindile (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful room, spectacular sea views, warmest hospitality! Thank you!

June 2011

M Mulinder (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Janine We are safely back home and in the swing of things. We just would like to thank you and your staff for your hospitality, friendliness and excellent service. We certainly enjoyed our stay with you very much. Should you ever be in Joburg and need somewhere to stay, you would be most welcome in our home. All the best Michael & Elaine

May 2011

Mike & Elaine (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely fantastic! God bless you always!

April 2011

Andrew & Lorraine (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent, wonderful,perfect, peaceful, coming back!

March 2011

Heinz Widmer (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Heartwarming, Welcoming. Thank you for a beautiful holiday. Martin, Thoko, Zandi - very friendly and helpful. Janine, Penny - we will definitely see you soon (and nexttime we will bring our "child". God bless!)

March 2011

Gareth & Charmaine (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wondeful stay. Great food, friendly staff & a beautiful pool.

February 2011

Nick & Justine (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Janine and Penny (with staff), Thank you for a wonderful stay at your Guest house. We enjoyed the stay very much. Yesterday we were bathing in the Indian Ocean and today we arrived at home in Oslo with 1 meter of snow. We already long for the warmth of your weather and your hospitality. We learned alot about your changing country through several interesting conversations. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and reflections with us. The view from the porch was stunning and I will often look back on the lovely evenings I experienced with the great sea view. I hope to come back to the area within a year or two and would love to stay with you again. Again thank you for a wonderful last week of our vacation in S. Africa. Greetings, Christine Nordby, Inger and Elisabeth

February 2011

Christine Norby (Norway)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for making us feel so welcome

January 2011

Bidoli family (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Janine and Family We would once again like to thank you for making our stay a such a wonderful experience. It is almost unheard of in the hospitality industry, to find people like yourselves and your super staff. You made us feel at home and part of the furniture from the minute we arrived. Your attention to detail, be it hygiene, comfort and quality of service, food and willingness to help is truly is something I/we have never experienced in some top international hotels. Your establishment was the highlight of our holliday.For this my family and I are truly grateful. Should you ever find yourselves in Mozambique our doors are always open. Regards Mario, Katia and family.

December 2010

mario (MAPUTO)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place, great people. Everthing just great!!!

November 2010

Pearl Munonde (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay and your kindness very much!

November 2010

Arion & Rico Schaap (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ongelooflik huislik, vriendelik, gasvryheid. Ons sien julle weer met ons kinders. Thanks xx

November 2010

Nico & Karen Coetzee (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning, very homey. I'll be back!! Thanks alot!

September 2010

Lezel Peters (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Best breakfast ever! Danie De Wet

July 2010

D De Wet (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very, very nice room! Thanks for having us.

June 2010

Yvonne & Pieter (Haarlem, Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Warm and Wonderful place! Thank you for having us!

June 2010

Jason & Alex (Palm Beach, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful spot, room & weather! Wonderful hospitality too. Thanks!

June 2010

Kevin & Lucille McCaffrey (California, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks a million!!! It was FANTASTIC! Generous, warm, spotlessly clean and value for money!

May 2010

Anneline & George Schweitzer (Tokai, CT)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for making our Honeymoon so memorable! Champagne on ice and rose-petals in the tub! Your Honeymoon Suite is unique and exquisite and your service was excellent. We plan to return on all our anniversaries! Thank you!

February 2010

Chantal Naidoo (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent, your warm hospitality will be highly recommended. Thank you for a fantastic holiday

January 2010

Chapman family (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for an awesome gettaway. The croissants were amazing!

December 2009

Curt Muhlenberg (Primrose, Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have stayed in some of the best Hotels in the world and Chartwell Guest House is top of our list! The staff and management were exceptionally kind and hospitable. The room was huge and luxurious and we felt very safe and at home. Congratulations on an excellent establishment! We had a 5 star experience at a very reasonable rate. See you soon...

December 2009

Sheila & Des Morkel (Bedfordview, JHB)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Chartwell Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.