Reviews & Comments

Showing 27 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewgood

Nice setting against mountain, close to citrus orchards. Cottage has an open plan living - kitchen - bedroom and is spacious enough for a couple. Basically, cottage is nice and well equipped though some items are a bit outdated. Cleanliness was in general OK but carpet and couch are a bit dirty and need more than just a daily cleaning. Noise from neighboring cottages can occur as cottages are not too far from each other. There are a few great hikes to be done however noware is indicated that these hikes exist (!). Very friendly and helpful staff. Overall impression: OK but some items can be improved.

May 2022

Gerrit M. (De Fryske Marren - NL)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic space to break away from the world. Beautiful scenery and Citrusdal is a beautiful little town. The shower drainage in both showers flooded and due to power outage we missed the warm bath for one evening as heating takes very long. Other than that we would recommend the place.

May 2022

James K. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

The accommodation was excellent and the views very good. The walks were excellent although not clearly marked and no information about them in the room. The jacuzzi was very welcome because it started to get quite chilly in the evenings. My only gripe is that it had no toaster and no ice tray. I would have thought these are basic essentials.

April 2022

Gerrit S. (Hawks Nest, NSW Australia)

Verified reviewgood

Was a good time

March 2022

Roelof V. (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful place! Sitting on the balcony each morning with our coffee- freshly ground coffee beans, what a treat thank you- looking out over the fynbos covered mountains and beautiful valley with the birds singing their morning song was just spectacular. Clean cottage, well equipped, comfy large bed, and friendly staff to take away any rubbish, clean your braai area and freshen up your jacuzzi. My two grown up children, 3 dogs and I had an amazing time in this peaceful place and we will definitely return sometime- maybe in winter- could be super with the heated jacuzzi too. Grateful for the aircon to cool us during our naps! Yes its a place to rest, hike or walk, swim, read, bird-watch, relax and rejuvenate and Of course nap! Thank you!

December 2021

Paula W. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely little cottage.Very homey and quiet environment especially if you need to get away from the city rush.

December 2021

Modesty L. (Paarl)

Verified reviewexcellent

After a very difficult year in a very busy Cape Town, we took the road to Cederkloof Botanical Retreat, and what a true retreat this is! No unnecessary contact with people - our cottage numbers were on the board, so we could just go to our cottage, make a lovely cup of their own grown rooibos tea and enjoy the jacuzzi on the stoep, which was the perfect temperature on arrival. With no cell phone service (but wifi close by to check in with the family), it is a perfect break away from life. With the sound and sights of nature that surround you, your soul can heal completely. We had two swallows building a nest on the stoep, so we sat for hours watching how they work - completely undisturbed by the humans watching them. The hike in the mountain promises fragrances of the true Cederberg nature that revitalises your body and the labyrinth with the picture perfect view, enhances your emotional wellbeing. Going to the Cederberg Retreat, is to completely reset all your senses and go back home revitalised. It is clear with how much passion the owners of the retreat keep nature at her best, not disturbing the experience that makes this place completely unique. Looking forward to go again and experience the same quiet retreat that we absolutely love.

October 2021

Ettienne K. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay at Cederkloof and wish we had been able to stay a couple of days longer. Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing and so enjoyable. The units are neat, well equipped and the jacuzzi is a great finish! Nice hikes and amazing birdlife and lovely scenery all round.

October 2021

Catherine H. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Lovely place, Wel equipped with everything you need... Will definitely visit again

July 2021

Lajos T. (St Helena bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed the tranquility, privacy and peace as well as the natural surroundings. The jacuzzi on the stoep was the best.

March 2021

Toyer O. (Rondebosch East)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful place! Totally quiet, beautiful views, and a lovely room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

September 2020

Maayan S. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay...chalet very comfortable and well equipped. Just unfortunate that we left our booking too late to get a second night. Minor criticism is that the lighting over the kitchen unit in chalet 7 was very gloomy The bed was very comfortable, so much so that since we need a new bed at home, could you email me the make of the mattress and if you have it on record, the name of the supplier? We will book earlier for next year Regards Alan

August 2020

Alan D. (Simons Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing place. We enjoyed a peaceful stay and a beautiful hike on the farm. The house was clean and very comfortable. Will definitely recommend for a weekend away!

September 2019

Almarie B. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very tranquil , beautiful and all the amenities one needs including great braai area and the wonderful jacuzzi with a view ! Lovely walks and hikes on the farm and safe .

September 2019

Alison V. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewfair

When we arrived at Cederkloof Botanical Retreat, the greeting was quite Spartan: "Hi, you have cottage Nr.1, this is over there, it's the last one." That was it. Well - for my part. The equipment of the houses is simple but functional. Everything you need is there - if you dont mind to drink wine out of Whisky tumblers. We for our part would have preferred some wine glasses. OK - one can live with that. Internet and phone function only in the direct sphere of the reception - must not be, actually, nowadays any more like that. But the big NO-GO, however, is the state of the housekeeping! All over the house, you'll find muddy corners, in the toaster still the crumbs of the pre-users, the bedlinen musty, the cover of the jacuzzi broken, several lightbulbs not working ... Result: Nice location, unfortunately very neglected.

September 2019

Hanne L. (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent views, lots of bird life, quiet. Highly recommended.

August 2019

Jacques Kovacs (Cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely and treated to fresh coffee beans....

March 2019

Esmarie Venier (Laezonia AH)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful digital detox, a perfect retreat from city life. Beautiful surroundings, a simple but well equipped cottage, with a very comfortable bed and amazing starry skies to enjoy from the privacy of your own jacuzzi. Thanks so much!

December 2018

Stefani Searle (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful experience. Comfortable accommodation in very beautiful surroundings. We had a really special stay and Id love to return. I very highly recommend Cederkloof

September 2018

Gareth Bedford (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

The whole stay was very enjoyable. Quiet, beautiful scenery, all amenities one requires - fireplace for the cold winter and heated Jacuzzi on request. It was a great break away. The transformation of the environment is inspiring- well done to the team & Yvette. Would definitely book again.

August 2018

Alison Vlok (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just wanted to say a ginormous thank u for sharing ur space with us last week. It really is something special. It was the perfect place to unwind and celebrate our 1 year annivsersary. Thanks so so much for accommodating us. We will definitely be back soon. Please see some pics attached. Warm regards, Shelly

July 2018

Shelly Baudo (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Anja/Yvette, Hope you well and enjoying your piece of heaven in the Cederberg. We would like to extend a heartfelt thank you and our appreciation for a wonderful stay at you resort, Cederkloof. We love what you have done with the place and especially the landscapes around the chalets. Going organic, water wise and indigenous is the best way to go for sustainability. The only minor complaint we had was that my daughter is almost adult size and we would have preferred an extra bed as appose to a mattress on the floor. Otherwise, your 5 star resort and friendly service in one of the most beautiful part of South Africa will be sorely missed. Warm regards K. Mohamed and family.

May 2018

Kalim-U-Llah Mohamed (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great stay, 4 friends away for the weekend. Everything worked perfectly and the unit had everything we needed. Clean and the booking arrangements we hassle free and they accommodated us having to reschedule the booking, no problem. Thank you, we will be back.

February 2018

Kristin Adams (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Elephant Leisure, we had the most amazing time during our stay! What a beautiful place, will definitely be back!

July 2017

Niriska Pietersen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Unfortunately we just ended our stay today, and I would like to thank Lottie and Cristelle for their friendliness nd hospitality. Never had so much peace and really the place is good value for money. Everything was up to standard, no complains.... we will see you guys very soon.

April 2016

abigail Titus (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

we loved our stay and had a fab vacation. the week we were there was great just what we naaded from the busy working life. you will see us soon

April 2015

heinrich pluim (vredenburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We just loved our stay at Elephant leisure, its perfect for a romantic weekend away. Its quiet and set amongst the most breathtaking scenery. We arrived on the Friday night, from Cape Town , and had enough time to braai, enjoy the private jacuzzi and relax. On the Saturday we went on the hike , and took a good few hours to take in nature, it was really special. Even on a Valentines weekend, we had use of the swimming pool to ourselves, as there are only 10 units - its perfect for the nature lover who enjoy the noise of nature :-) It was good value for money. Its kid friendly, but think better used as a nice couple's retreat. Ps. loved the coffee beans and grinder

February 2015

Sunette Van Aardt (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,150
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Cederkloof Botanical Retreat awarded Guests' Choice in Citrusdal

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.