Reviews & Comments

Showing 21 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Jenny and Dave for the lovely stay, your breakfast and hospitality was of the best service.

May 2018

Sharon Desogus (Nigel)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very comfortable and extremely clean, which is important to me. It was lovely to have my own private entrance to my room so I didn't disturb anyone when I came in and out. It was really great to have my breakfast served on my patio overlooking the garden. My room had everything I needed, what you see in the pictures is what you get. Dave and Jenny were great hosts.

May 2017

Liz (Sevenoaks UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Jenny and Dave were amazing hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was just what we needed - two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen lounge / dining area with three TVs! Loved the beautiful garden and pool /BBQ area. 10/10

March 2017

Mandy Harcombe (Sydney)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an excellent stay in this BNB. The spot was for us very good, close to Durban and Wyebank. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds very good. Everything worked well from the shower to the kitchen etc. Breakfast excellent and Jenny and Dave are nice people, very clientfriendly and flexible. We recommend this BNB to business-stay as well as holidays.

September 2015

Tineke & Herman Knol (HAAKSBERGEN (Netherlands))

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent facilities, good breakfast (a la Dave) and Dave and Jenny are fantastic hosts. Highly recommend this facility and will definitly use it again. Thanks Dave.and Jenny.

May 2015

Roger Gordon (Germiston)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have used Butterscotch for business travel on several occations and can wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone! Dave and Jenny have gone out of their way to think of anything and everything that could possibly make your stay more comfortable. As a business traveller it is wonderful to be in an environment that feels warm and "homey". Jenny and Dave make you feel more like a house guest than a client... 5 stars for hospitality! :-)

January 2015

Erika (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I recently had a wonderful 5 night stay at Butterscotch B & B. The rooms are spacious, neat and very clean and it felt like a home from home. The room was also serviced everyday which makes such a difference to one's stay. The breakfasts were varied and delicious and I cannot say enough about Jenny and Dave. They are both delightful, warm and generous with their time and nothing we asked for was too much trouble for them. I couldn't find fault with the service or the venue and would stay there again if we were visiting Durban.

August 2014

Sheena Treston (Brisbane, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dave and Jenny made sure my stay there was very comfortable and they catered to my every need. The rooms are neat, comfortable and spacious and the hospitality was amazing.

March 2014

Prince (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

I had a wonderful stay at this B&B, I've stayed here often and found the place to be so comfortable and Dave and Jenny are really very helpful.

December 2013

Lorna (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay at the bnb; Dave and Jenny provided an excellent location for our stay in Durban. Good quality accommodation, combined with great hospitality, made our unique family holiday the greatest yet. Would recommend if you prefer a safe place to stay, away from the crowds in Durban, yet only a short ride away from some of the most fabulous beaches, and other attractions nearby.

December 2013

Rose Grant (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent,!!! stayed here while in Durban to Run the comrades marathon in 2013. Very hospitable hosts and comfortable suite. Have booked to stay again this year. Can highly recommend them.

June 2013

Graham Eshmade (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great B&B for business trips. Friendly and helpful owners. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the patio / garden is perfect for relaxing after a long day. Will be staying here again.

March 2012

Francois Scheepers (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wer in der besten Unterkunft in Suedafrika uebernachten will, der sollte im Butterscotch einbuchen. Die Anlage ist phantastisch, die Besitzer ein Herz und eine Seele, die Zimmer einsame Spitze und der Service nicht zu uebertreffen. Wir haben dort unsere Hochzeitsnacht verbracht. Es war ein Traum. Jenny und Dave, wir wollen euch von ganzem Herzen Danken. Wir haben den Aufenthalt sehr genossen und kommen wieder. Versprochen. Thanks so much from all our hearts, Jenny and Dave, we loved staying at butterscotch. Dane und Iris

August 2011

Dane und Iris van der Leeuw (Gladstone, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

it was great staying there, i had a fantastic weekend while i was there, everything was fabulous. i will definately stay there again.

November 2010

Montsheng (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

It was great experience Jenny is so freindly. The entire place its cool got everything especially the kitchen and the breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay there and I refered all my friends. Its a getaway place for relaxing with no distractions. Oh the garden was perfect although its was raining. I'll love to revisit.

November 2010

Luleka Magwaza (Umzinyathi)

Verified reviewexcellent

If anyone has plans to stay in Durban, and you want a safe and great location then look no further. our hosts were very kind and helped in every way. Thanks for a great stay, from Down under.

November 2010

Duane & Julie (Cairns - Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is my second visit to this B & B, and my views have remained the same - excellent accommodation, and very helpful friendly hosts. This will not be my last visit here.

September 2010

Lorna Baines (Felixstowe)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay at Butterscotch Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were lovely and the lush garden setting wonderful. We even had a bbq on our own private patio! The location is so convenient as it is near to the freeway making day trips to places like UShaka and Durban Beachfront so easy. Thanks for a wonderful addition to our trip to SA.

April 2010

Nicola Fick (Dublin, Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

If anyone has plans to visit Durban, don't look further for accommodation than this B & B. It is very easily accessible to the freeway system for Durban and the surrounding areas. The accommodation itself is superb - beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. A definite 5 star rating. Many thanks Dave and Jenny for making our stay so pleasant and enjoyable.

March 2010

Lorna Baines (Felixstowe)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great accommodation, great hosts and great location. While I attended meetings in nearby Westmead, my family visited the local attractions such as Durban beachfront, UShaka Marine World and Suncoast Casino which are all a short drive away. We'll definitely be staying at Butterscotch B & B on our next trip to Durban.

March 2010

Brian Larrigan (Dublin, Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic! Really great hosts, they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was superb and the kitchen had everything we needed to make our own food. The garden was beautiful and we had some awesome braais. Best B & B I have stayed in by miles!

July 2009

Mark (London)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
South Africa. Explore. Experience. Stay

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.