Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

I would like to say a huge thank to yourself and Bianka for the most wonderful week we all had at Buffalo Brooke. It was truly amazing and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely – we will definitely be back… Thank you once again.

June 2015

Sandra McGuirk (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 7 days in Buffalo Brooke and were sorry to leave the really well equipped luxurious lodge. The service is spot on and the staff friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful peaceful and relaxing holiday. We saw many animals coming down to the river to drink - Sept still being the dry season. We had a small herd of about 6 buffalo on our side of the river lazying in the bushes just below the house. An elephant also crossed over the river to graze on our side. There were many hippos with their young as well as crocodiles basking in the sun. We went on a game drive in Mjejane and were able to take super photos of Buffalo as our guide Muntu parked us right in the middle of a herd - awesome! On this drive we also were able to take pictures of a lone cheetah sitting in the shade of a tree. We also visited a dam which literally came alive when the hippo swam off - there we just so many of them. Altogether a really great holiday with unforgettable memories.

January 2015

Bernice (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Firstly I would like to Thank You for letting me use this A-ma-zing accommodation, my family and friends had a wonderful time. Buffalo Brooke is stunning and has the most breath taking views and the game that you can see is fantastic. This holiday will never be forgotten and “I will be back”.

December 2014

Helder Feiteira (International)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful male lion We had a great time at Buffalo Brooke this last weekend. Nice game in front of the house and lots of very good drives. Near the dam we saw 3 dugger boys and a big ellie. En-route to the dam via the fence road, a few animals caught our eye. One young rhino went one way and mother (we think the other) where she went into a thicket and stood motionless for ages. Black Rhino - awesome. She eventually turned and went back the other way. After that we heard the radios calling in the male lion. So headed off down Marula Road to old fence road and right to watch a very lazy - beautiful male lion for a while. Heading home we came across 2 white rhino in the dusk. Lovely. Sitting around the boma heard a bit of a shout from a Ellie and got our light out to see a herd in front of us on our side of the river. If one of them hadn't made a noise they would have drifted by silently. Loved Buffalo Brooke as a different perspective to LeoLapa - love them both but I still think LeoLapa may have a better view. The Jackelberry in front brings great birds and the view either way are excellent. Buffalo has the height - which brings it own advantages. Whoever is going soon - over the river is a large nest - very visable - Walhbergs are around it so that should be fun in the coming weeks.

October 2014

Sue Rice (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Big 5 All in one day Had a super time. Mike and shelagh Parker, our guests from the UK Saw the Big 5 all in one day. Looking forward to our next trip.

September 2014

Diane Perkin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

In September 2013 we had an amazing experience at Buffalo Brooke with my sisters family and our 40 years of no contact of our cousin and her family from Holland. Buffalo Brooke is situated in Mjejane Game Reserve on the boundries of Kruger National Park. The villa is in a perfect location in the African Bush veld a stones throw from the Crocodile River supporting two families of Hippos. The five star villa makes you feel like a celebrity with all it`s modern decor, awesome. The staff are so friendly and you hardly notice them slip in and out and attending to all your needs. On our game drives we saw an abundance of game, we even experience a male lion trotting down to the river and take a nap under the bushes escaping the African sun. The Game Rangers are amazing with the amount of knowledge they know about the animals and the bush veld. An experience of a life time, highly recommended.

September 2014

Gary van der Elst (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow! This is my reaction from arriving outside the lodge. Blown away when saw the inside. Most comfortable lodge I have stayed in. All the comforts and more of home with a view of animals at the river from patio and pool. One word to describe. FABULOUS

August 2014

Evelyn Logue (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had the most fantastic time a Buffalo Brooke. The bird life is amazing, and our very knowledgeable guide identified all the birds, with new species that I had never seen. Overlooking the river, one could just relax, and possibly see more sightings along the river, than one might see in the KNP. An amazing time. Unforgettable.

August 2014

Elaine Preston (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Buffalo Brooke is truly the best kept secret! Stunning accommodation which is better than many 5 star hotels. Not only is beautifully maintained and equipped but the whole experience is to be seen to be believed. The view from the verandah is sublime and the wild life is right on your doorstep. The bush visits are well worth it and the guide is incredibly knowledgeable. Thumbs up!!!

August 2014

Debbie (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Worth another visit Luxurious private rooms Beautiful entertainment area with beautiful views of the river. A great getaway. Highly recommended !

August 2014

Dora and Piet Cronje (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great Venue in the South African Bush We spent a week at Buffalo in February 2014 and left with heavy hearts as we all have become a bit "addicted" to the place. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the lovely house in those magnificent settings. The staff are so friendly and we felt totally at home. It was great seeing the animals that frequent that part of the river and we also saw a family of elephant come down to drink. An old bull elephant spent the whole morning eating the reeds on our side of the river, so we got some good "shots". We went on a game drive and saw rhino, elephants and a herd of buffalo which was quite awesome. Unfortunately on that game drive we did not see any lions, but we are looking really forward to our next visit, where we will take a day trip over the low level bridge into the Kruger Park.

February 2014

Himmler Family (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were lucky enough to spend a long weekend at Buffalo Brooke. The weather was stunning and the accommodation as usual was spectacular. Chilling on the patio and in the infinity pool, overlooking the Crocodile River, was a perfect way to show off this special corner of paradise to our overseas guests.

February 2014

Nancy McCrorie (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place. Great service. Will return. Value for money.

April 2013

Donna Ford (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We where there over the easter weekend and had a wonderful time. Saw 2 baby lions on our first game drive :-) Also saw alot from the house on the saturday while we where in the pool. Awesome weekend, house and hospitality from Bianka and team !! We will definately be booking again soon

April 2013

Pamela van Greune (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Saw alot from the house We where there over the easter weekend and had a wonderful time. Saw 2 baby lions on our first game drive :-) Also saw alot from the house on the saturday while we where in the pool. Awesome weekend, house and hospitality from Bianka and team !! We will definately be booking again soon

April 2013

Pamela van Greune (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The perfect breakaway for anyone! Luxurious accommodation with the most wonderful atmosphere and stunning views of the river for everyone to enjoy. Super game drives with lots of animals to see...but the most wonderful part is waking up in the morning...and majestic animals like the rhino & elephant are feeding at the river, only a couple of hundred metres away from where you can comfortably enjoy your first cup of coffee.. Definitely a must see...

June 2012

Liana Boyd (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 11,000
  • unit rate per night
    for up to 10 people
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Buffalo Brooke

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.