Reviews & Comments

Showing 32 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for your hospitality and a very peaceful comfortable room.

May 2017

Kate (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you Sally for a great hospitality. I would definitely come back if i am around Joburg and will recommend to people I know. Clean room, perfect set up and safe location. Kind regards - Gerald

January 2017

Gerald Ngiba (Accra)

Verified reviewvery good

Dear Sally Thank you for all the interesting things you showed me and organised. I was not expecting to be received so generously and thank you for everything. Hopefully I can give you some of it in Mexico. Best wishes!

October 2016

Irmgard (Mexico)

Verified reviewexcellent

Adel and myself we enjoyed every bit of our stay here. Your service, the food, the warmth, the chats and the car rides are all well appreciated! I particularly can't wait to come back here four you to take me to more places on tours. Thank you so much once again.

July 2016

Sifso and Adel (Accra)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks to you Sally! Everything was perfect. Greatly enjoyed and will definitely come back again.

June 2016

McGyver (Polokwane)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your guesthouse. We really loved staying in one of your rooms, it was home away from home ... so clean, comfortable and peaceful. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by your friendly staff member who made sure we had all we needed. We will definitely be coming back to stay there!!!!

May 2016

The da Gamas (Maputo)

Verified reviewgood

Sally Roper is a charming hostess. The accommodation suited us well as did the situation of the guest house in Johannesburg. We enjoyed our stay and will visit there again.

April 2016

moraig henning (Louis Trichardt)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for the warm welcome and for waiting up late for us. My boyfriend really enjoyed the fast wi fi which kept him happy the whole weekend, LOL!

March 2016

Dr Mashuga (Soweto )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your amazing hospitality. Not a lover of Joburg, but our friendliness made my stay!

November 2015

Madge/House & Leisure (Cape Town )

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. We couldn't have felt more at home. Loved having someone to chat to and make sure we were okay. Great sense of safety in this big scary Joburg!

October 2015

Marcelle and Selma (Durban )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks a lot for your best efforts to make us feel comfortable. It was nice staying here. Please keep that way. Best regards - Magmut

August 2015

Magmut Gun (Istanbul )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a great stay. here. we were able to regroup and get our lives back on track after our house burnt down. You have been very supportive throughout. Thanks so much!

August 2015

Clive and Portia (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Many thanks Sally - so comfortable and convenient. Give us a shout when you come to George!

July 2015

Blyth and Wendy Thompson (George)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you again for your great hospitality. Everything was excellent. You definitely gained bragging rights with me. I will be referring anybody I know to your place and will definitely be staying there again when we head that side.

June 2015

Maria Gwanzura (Polokwane)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you so much for the great hospitality - it felt like home away from home. I enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back to Buckingham Guest House. Wishing you all the best - from Hajirah

May 2015

Hajirah (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Sally - Thank you so much for the lovely stay and welcoming atmosphere! I really enjoyed [my 5 months of] staying here. I always felt so safe and looked after. You are a lovely person with a very warm heart! Thank you for everything! PS Your staff is also so amazing and helpful. Love - Marika

March 2015

Marika de Kock (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dearest Sally -This place is wonderful! Thanks for being so warm and welcoming and gracious. Wishing you every blessing and look forward to reading your writing and books.

February 2015

Karabo Rajuili (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful break. I will definitely come for a massage and to stay again. Many thanks!

January 2015

Mariana Martins (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Sally - Thanks for a wonderful stay. In busy and stressful time, after long periods away from home in impersonal hotels, it was a breath of fresh air to stay at such a peaceful and welcoming place!

December 2014

Joanne (Cape Town )

Verified reviewvery good

Although we were here so briefly - it was such a lovely welcoming and comfortable stay. Many thanks! Paula and Barry - Hillcrest

November 2014

Sally Roper (Durban )

Verified reviewexcellent

Very nice, safe and central place in Johannesburg and pleasant neighbourhood and very good value for money. 10 mn by car from Sandton City and Rosebank. Sally (the owner) is a very nice, warm and welcoming person and very interesting to talk to. We felt very well taken care of. If we are back in Joburg, we will definitely go back there!

September 2014

Myriam (Maputo)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks very much for a very peaceful stay away from home for the month. Wishing you everything of the best!

August 2014

Richard (Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Sally is one of the most knowledgeable, giving, and hospitable women I know! Her guest house is beautiful and in a great part of town. She became a wonderful friend, and an amazing tour guide. She knows so much about the history of Johannesburg and apartheid. She was able to arrange amazing tours for my friend and me, and had fantastic and reputable connections around the city. Her breakfasts were lovely and we were able to start the day with a wonderful conversation and friendly face. I highly recommend her guest house. Her services go far beyond providing a bed and breakfast, she ensures your stay in Johannesburg is memorable, safe and exciting.

July 2014

Beth McCullough-Sanden (Irvine, CA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I must commend you and your staff for making our stay [of several months] a truly incredible one. Thank you for all the effort and kindness we were privileged enough to receive.

June 2014

Jock (Swaziland and Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for such an enjoyable stay at your fantastic guesthouse. I had a wonderful time and all the facilities were top-notch. Thank you especially for being so understanding when my plans changed and for being so welcoming and fun.

May 2014

Robert Bowdery (UK/Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

You provided a home away from home in our time of need. Then you went on to spice it up with fascinating stories and gracious hospitality. This has been an idyllic sojourn indeed and we will not forget this. Expect to see us again in the future.

May 2014

Rafiq and Rubini Hajat (Blantyre, Malawi)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a safe, peaceful stay. Most comfortable and a home away from home. Westone was wonderful too! I am gonna miss kitty Tiger Lily (Linda)..!

April 2014

Linda and Derek (Durban, RSA )

Verified reviewexcellent

I've enjoyed a stay at your home thanks to you, heartfelt kindness. I've been satisfied with a spacious room and a dinin room as well. Most of all, I'd like to say 'thank you' to you and your helper Westone. Just feel free to contact me when you visit Korea. Thank you indeed!

January 2013

JK (Seoul, South Korea)

Verified reviewexcellent

I've had a wonderful stay at your guesthouse! Westone received me and made me feel very welcome. Tiger Lily also paid a visit to make sure everything was perfect! Everything was marvellous. The wine, the food and most of all your company!!

September 2012

Marlene Bowker (Standerton, SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Who has two bathrooms in a one bed apartment? Well my sister and I did, and we enjoyed it! Thank you for your constant concern. It has been a home away from home. We've enjoyed our stay and we sure hope to come again.

July 2012

Lamiwe (Lusaka, Zambia )

Verified reviewexcellent

We will miss your lovely breakfast, but even more your kindness, help and smiling you. Even though we haven't been here for a long time, we've felt very welcome. It's been easier to deal with our meetings and packed programme when your place felt like home. Thank you for your interest in our film club project. Best - Fanne and Mathilde

June 2012

Fanne and Mathilde (Norway )

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a rough research trip finding a place to stay in Joburg. Finally Buckingham came to the surface and we are glad. It's been a grand six days. Such wonderful hospitality and very helpful. A wealth of information! We wish you much success and see you next trip.

May 2012

Carl and Anne Kirk (USA)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 900
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • B&B on Buckingham

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.