Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most amaizing time and the most amazing view. I would definitely recmmend this place to anyone. The pictures don't do the place justice.

September 2016

Jade (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an amazing weekend, the view, the tranquility, we had our own space and privacy. Can't wait to head back! It was for sure just what we expected and more.. loved the fireplace look forward to our next visit. Thanks guys :-)

May 2016

Angela (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our second stay and hopefully not our last. Words cannot describe how much we love staying here. Colette and Warren are perfect hosts, always on hand if you need them but they completely respect your privacy and space. For me the greatest joy is opening the bifold doors every morning and sitting on the deck, drinking a coffee whilst reading, watching the light change and listening to the nature. My boyfriend would say jumping in the pool and kicking back with a cold Windhoek!! It's as close to perfection as we have ever found and we are both well travelled. Now we are home all we talk about is when can we return?! A perfect location to anyone wanting to explore Cape Town and all it's beauty without being slap in the middle of the city bowl. It's only 20 minutes away and yet feels like a different place. Thank you for an amazing time and all the happy memories you have given us. Liz & Alex

January 2013

Liz and Alex (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is a gem on the mountainside - perfect for trips to Hout Bay, or using it as a base to explore the Cape. The pool is perfect after a hike up Table Mountain, followed by a snooze in the hammock, THEN followed by a relaxing barbeque on the deck. Will absolutely stay there again - it has everything you want in a self-catering cottage, including a great roll top bath where you can look out over the mountains. Will definitely be back.

January 2013

Greg Brash (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just back from our third wonderful stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. The only reason I would hesitate to write a glowing review is that it may get so booked up that we cant return! This is the most fantastic location, with friendly helpful owners discretely on hand when needed. Hi Collete and Warren we enjoyed our stay immensely even though the weather was a little cooler than we hoped and we lost wi fi connection but hope you have that sorted now. We need somewhere bigger for our next trip with all the family but unfortunately I think that other houses will seem mundane after Blackwood Log Cabin.

November 2012

Amanda Major (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We just loved your log Cabin! My husband's favourite was admiring the stunning view from the hammock. I paricularly enjoyed a foam bath while watching the birds in the trees and the beautiful mountains. Our son, aged 5, found feeding the chickens and getting rid of his energy on the trampline to be his favouite. Everything was perect and Richman most helpful. We'll be back.

July 2009

Carin Johnson (Paris)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Colette, Thanks you for a wonderful and tranquil stay at your beautiful log cabin. The views are magnificent and we spent many a day resting and watching the mountain and valley. The cabin is well positioned for vitiing Cape Town and the peninsula. There is so much to see and do. We just loved it. We will be back very soon I hope. Mandy Peterson London

February 2009

Mandy Peterson (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is our third stay and we keep coming back. We love the views, the mountains, the swimming pool, the deck, the forest..... Our son, who is 13, just loves it too - he seems to be endlessly occupied with the trampoline, the lizards, the eagles, the pool, the hammock and whatever else he can find in this environment that surrounds us with nature. The house is beautifully decorated. It is clean and very well presented. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

December 2008

Marc Andron (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our time spent at Blackwood Log Cabin has been heaven - peace and quiet. Its been a fantastic introduction to South Africa for the 3 of us - especially Sam our 15 mth terror. Hours of fun have been spent in the pool, on the trampoline and just discovering the wonderful wildlife here. Thank you.

February 2007

Sharon, Doug and Sam (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

At the end of the long line of hills known as the Twelve Apostles, Tailing south from Table Mountain and falling back into a deep green valley that cradles Hout Bay, High among the Eucalyptus trees, is Blackwood. Our log cabin is Africa in a sentinal, A summer place of high verandahs, Floating like suspended terraces; In the thermal valley air Hawks and Sacred Ibis soar; Here our swimming place and living space is patrolled by yellow butterflies, singing crickets and shining, dark dragonflies. And time has only day and night as its dimensions and that time and those days and nights are what we would return to for this is one of our special places.

December 2006

Johnny and Letitia Gwynne (Northern Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was just perfect! So many special memories The flowers in the rooms The furnishings the mist on the mountain Watching the sacred ibis and Hadeda fly Listening to the trees rustling Watching the arching bamboo gently sway The screams of delight from my chidlren on the swing Bouncing on the tramploline sitting on the deck and watching the rain Feeling warm and cosy with the fire burning Just Perfect! Thanks Colette

October 2006

Lindy, Mike, Kelvin & Emily (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was just perfect! So many special memories; The flowers in the rooms, The furnishings, The mist on the mountain, Watching the sacred ibis and Hadeda fly, Listening to the trees rustling, Watching the arching bamboo gently sway, The screams of delight from my children on the swing, Bouncing on the tramploline, Sitting on the deck and watching the rain, Feeling warm and cosy with the fire burning. Just Perfect! Thanks Colette.

January 2006

Rachel and Barney (UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,600
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Blackwood Log Cabin

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.