Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay. Friendly staff, lovely room, can't complain at all. I was very satisfied.

March 2018

Shamus (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

We recently stayed at Bains Guest House and what a pleasure, the cleanness, attention to detail and service were the best we had in our journey in South Africa, and we stayed at a few 5star places! The rooms are equipped with everything you need and more, the cookies were still hot out of the oven and delicious, the chocolates homemade and creamy there were even a little card telling us the weather for the next day, much to my wife’s delight. The swimming pool were a bonus on a hot day. Breakfast were served outside and all the fruit were fresh and crispy (the first place to have fresh fruit on an overnight place after traveling for 3 weeks) and hot breakfast served to perfection and not to oily. I have taken a lot of card s and will give them to all your friends coming to South Africa! Thanks Bains House for making us feel special in all ways.

November 2011

Mieke Jurgen (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We recently stayed over at Bains House on 2 separate occasions, and what a joy. When we first stop there we were worried due to the road, but the hostess ensured us it won’t be noisy, and even upgraded us to a Luxury room which we enjoyed after a long road. The hot water bottle on the bed, warm towels and chocolates showed us this jewel of a guest house as attention to even the smallest detail. We were offered coffee and enjoyed it on the veranda overlooking the very high and mighty orange river, we even had a piece of cake which were delicious. The Host came later the evening and were so informative about birds and nature which were a bonus to us. Before we went out for dinner we had some Biltong and locally made port. On our way back to Cape Town we stopped there again and got the same excellent service. We will recommend you to all our friends who might ever come that way.

July 2011

Marcelle (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I booked into Bains House on Valentines Day 2010 in Bains House, we were firstly astonished by the fish pond in the entrance hall, and above all the friendly service (the best of our whole trip). The manager was excellent and did everything to ensure your stay was the best. The room was lovely, clean, and there was even some chocolate hearts and valentine goodies on our bed. Thank we will recommend you to everyone and will see you again in 2011

February 2010

Brown (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

After a mishap with accommodation we knocked upon the doors of Bains House, what a friendly welcoming we had, without a reservation. I stayed in the most beautiful self catering unit, overlooking the Orange River. It’s clean, comfortable, have a beautiful veranda with amazing views. Breakfast was served very early with no hassles, and we even got helped with flight problems. A wonderful stay were nothing is to much trouble for the young lady, All the best, Jannes Van Zyl

October 2008

Jannes Van Zyl (Dannabaai)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a great stay, the place is very clean and tidy would recommend it to anyone at any time. To anyone who needs a hassle free place to stay you wont be disappointed. All of the best.

August 2008

Cor Uys (Middelburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very pleasant 2 day stay at Bains House, a true jewel in the Kalahari. The hostesses did everything possible to make the stay memorable and pleasant. I will refer Bains House to anyone. Accommodation like that is fit for a King and Queen. Will see you again.

July 2008

Sonja (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Yeboo I stayed and am coming back in late 2010 on my way from the Coast. That indoor waterfall! Dumela.

February 2007

Amos (Gaborone)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,120
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Bains House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.