At Rest is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (50 reviews)

At Rest

Self Catering at Chalet 3, Pirates Creek, Wilderness, Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 50 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 50 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2017

Excellent

Review by Hermann & Ea Pallisch-Zarian (Vienna,Austria)

Our stay "At Rest" from January 26 - March 1, 2017 was delightful. A very comfortable house, well equipped, with view over the River Touw, a refreshing water to swim in, the idyllic scenery even allowed birdwatching, not far from excellent restaurants and the gorgeous beach of Wilderness. The best accommodation we had in South Africa during the last 12 years. Ilza took good care of us and helped with useful advices.

December 2016

Very Good

Review by Connie Bakkes (Pretoria)

We really enjoyed our stay with At Rest in Wildernis. Beautiful and clean venue and very tastefully decorated. Many activities available for especially families with children and easy access to all other area sites.

August 2015

Very Good

Review by Vicky (Heidelberg, CT)

We had a lovely stay at At Rest! I liked the peace at this venue and the surroundings. I enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and all the utensils seemed rather new. I was surprised with the spacious bedrooms on the top floor. Kids enjoyed the kayak. I experienced God's love and peace here and we had an awesome weekend.

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Tarryn Arendse (Cape Town )

oh wow , that was my first response when we arrived at At Rest , its perfectly situated on the lake and the views are breath taking , the inside of the cabin was fully equipped with everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as if you were at home , we more than enjoyed our stay and i will definitely be making my way back there the moment i am able , its family and child friendly and there is so much to see and do ,

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Lana (Cape Town)

A perfect 10! Took our parents as a b-day gift and turned out to be even better than we expected! Thank you for making our stay unforgetable.

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Amanda Southey (Cape Town)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at At Rest, it was truly a home away from home for us. Lovely house, great facilities and everything was spotless. The surroundings were beautiful and it was lovely being right on the river. The only downside was road noise coming from the N2, but we quickly got used to it and it was outweighed by the loveliness of the house and surroundings. We'll definitely be back!

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Anthony (United Kingdom)

Wilderness is one of the most beautiful places to stay in SA. And our stay at Pirates Creek was phenomenal.

March 2015

Very Good

Review by Willem Naude (Petrusburg)

Ons het n heerlike week gehad en die tyd het net te vinnig verby gegaan. Die diens was ook wonderlik en vinnig, as ons n vraag gehad het is daar dadelik geantwoord. Baie dankie!!! Die kinders het Veral d kano baie geniet!

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Alan Moffett (Cape Town)

Our family had a wonderful time at "At Rest". The views were fantastic and the facilities were great. Ilza was brilliant at getting things sort out. Well worth the visit and highly recommended.

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Jean Oxley (Hout Bay)

We recently stayed at "At Rest" with friends visiting from the UK and we were totally blown away, Everything was perfect - view, weather, facilities but most of all the standard of the accommodation. We couldn't have asked for more. It is a little gem on the Garden Route!

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Chantel Randall (Port Elizabeth)

WOW .... WOW .....WOW...everything about AT REST is WOW ...the view, the house, the beds, the blankets. everything was amazing. Very sad our holiday came to an end...we could of stayed FOREVER......SEE YOU SOON....

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Anusha (East London)

My family and i had a wonderful time at " at Rest". It was the perfect place for us as a family to spend quality time together.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Gayenor Milne (Cape Town)

The accommodation was absolutely beautiful and was accompanied by an even more beautiful setting. The house is well equipped and the entire place is like heaven on earth. Will definitely be going back there with my family and friends.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Ramzee (Cape Town)

Wonderfully relaxing. Pool and play park for the kids. Canoeing for the grown ups. Enchanting views and plenty of bird life.
All in all, At Rest offers everything you need for an enjoyable getaway.
Worth a try and definitely a re-visit!
Thank you!!

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Chantal (London)

Having come to Wildreness for the past 20 years, we were just expecting to have a place to rest our weary heads at night, after being on the beach most days!! But, what an amazing surprise we had when we stepped into At Rest. The accommodation was beyond all our expectations, clean, airy, spacious, and the perfect location! We spent most our days relaxing on the balcony overlooking the river and spent our evenings enjoying the braai area, again next to the river, looking at the beautiful mountains! We loved our stay, our children wanted us to make At Rest our new home.😉
We will definitely stay there again. Thank you Hendrik and Christea.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Penny Middleton (Somerset West)

Thanks for a wonderfull stay. We enjoyed the "Rest". The position was perfect in that the kids were able to enjoy playing , swimming and paddling in canoe provided by you. Thanks very much. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderfull paddle up to the Nature Reserve. We also hiked to the waterfall on the King Fisher Trail. Thanks

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Dawie Barnard (Boksburg)

Perfect location, view and facilities!

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Jacqui Liebenberg (Dubai)

We had fantastic stay. Everything we needed, comfortable, clean, and super friendly check in by Ilsa. We enjoyed a beautiful hike, feeding the ducks and kayaking. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Eileen Viljoen (De Doorns)

At Rest is the ultimate Garden Route stay; everything needed for a self catering stay, is provided; and more. The décor and furnishings of At Rest is really beautiful. The kayak was a winner with the children! Coffee in bed with a breath taking view from the upstairs bedroom was the cause of our late departure every day on our excursions. Thank you for this fantastic experience!

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Marietjie Du Toit (Stellenbosch)

Heerlik gerus by At Rest. Lieflike rivier en berg uitsig. Lekker sentraal vir roei op rivier, stap langs see en draf in berg. Huis is netjies en goed gemeubileerd met alles wat nodig is in die kombuis. Alles is van goeie kwaliteit. Dis beslis nie ons laaste kuier nie!

May 2014

Excellent

Review by G Barnard (Pe)

We had a great time at your place. We'll be back, thank you.

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Froula (Cape Town)

We enjoyed our stay. The house was really clean which I appreciated. The only complaint was the noise from the N2.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Francois (Bloemfontein)

Baie mooi en rustige plek. Sal beslis weer gaan. Wou nie teruggaan huis toe nie. Die uitsig is uitstekend en ons gasvrou was baie vriendelik. Alles wat jy benodig is daar en alles is mooi skoon. Baie dankie vir 'n heerlike vakansie.

February 2014

Very Good

Review by Mike Broad (Cape Town)

Well worth the stay, really great location.
Only criticism is that there is not a shower downstairs..

Our hosts were friendly and helpful.
Will recommend to friends and visit again...

January 2014

Very Good

Review by Shauna Sweeney (Sydney Australia)

Lovely location, lovely family accommodation which easily accommodates 6 grownups. Loved the bbq and the canoeing. Pity it rained for the 3 days we were there

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Tanya Denton (Cape Town)

We have stayed at @ Rest twice and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The house and bedding is comfortable, being inside pirates creek complex is safe and so convenient... my children and are still asking for the holiday swimming pool! The house is stunning situated on the banks of the river and 200m for the beach. We enjoyed the house's canoe and picturesque view. Relaxing and private environment, a definate value for money!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Chris (Bloemfontein & Russia)

An overall wonderful experience from booking to staying. We enjoyed our stay @ Rest tremendously - and yes it is a place to really Rest and Relax as everything is well maintained and beautifully decorated and the establishment is conveniently located. Look forward to our next stay.

May 2013

Very Good

Review by Fatima (Wellington, Western Cape)

At Rest was really lovely and relaxing, the view was spectacular. It was really comfortable and had everything a person required. Will definately recommend to family and friends.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Wendy Evans (Bloubergsands, Cape Town)

We loved our stay at At Rest. Our host was so friendly and helpful, the accommodation was perfectly clean and comfortable. Everything had been thought of, we couldn't have asked for better accommodation. The location was wonderful and waking up to the view of the lake and the birds on the balcony was a real treat. The canoe was a winner and the children loved their long trips up the river. We will definitely visit At Rest again. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Veronica Todd (Hartebeespoort)

Beautiful, comfortable, spotless! Perfect self-catering accommodation. We spent a few days in the area to explore from Knysna to George - Pirates Creek was perfectly situated. Within walking distance of the beach and village and perfectly situated on the N2. We hardly noticed any noise from the highway. The view was absalutely beautiful and we will deffinitely be back!!

March 2013

Very Good

Review by Carol Cook (CapeTown)

Absolutely wonderful, did not want to leave. Very clean and calming, with everything you could want or need, the fresh flowers were a lovely touch. Truely a home away from home. Just loved waking up in the morning to look out over the river, sit on the balcony and enjoy morning coffee, then a slow paddle up the river. if you do not want to swim in the river there is a lovely pool, everything is very clean and well maintained (except the lawn at pirates creek, could do with some watering). We will definately visit again.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Blanchè Hornsby (Welkom)

Beautiful and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. The chalet is fully equipped with only the best. You can just sit down and relax and enjoy the breathtaking nature. I can absolutely recommend at rest to anyone and will definately go again.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Chantel (Pietermaritzburg)

Fantastic accomodation, clean, very comfortable and extremely hospitable, close to amenities in George. Overall very enjoyable.

February 2013

Very Good

Review by Sylvana (Cape Town)

We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is well equipped and the beds comfortable. We really appreciated the use of the canoe and the full DSTV. For the steak lovers an added advantage was to have Joplins at a comfortable walking distance which allowed us not to have to toss a coin for the "designated driver" LOL !!
I definitely would recommend At Rest.

February 2013

Very Good

Review by Meriel Sexton (London)

We stayed a couple of days here on our way along the Garden Route. At Rest is a well equipped house with a raised balcony overlooking the river. We found it a delightful place for relaxation, in a secure location close to local amenities and good restaurants. We were pleased to use the canoe provided to paddle up to the local reserves and walk to the waterfall. I would highly recommend At Rest and only failed to score it as excellent because the second bedroom has to use the en suite bathroom in the master suite.

February 2013

Very Good

Review by Arthur Roberts (Johannesburg)

we have just had a wonderful 4 night stay at rest,the cabin was very comfortable and well equipped The view from the cabin is something very special and having the use of the canoe on the river was a bonus,Perfect place for a family holiday,Thank you for sharing your home with us.

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Badia Daniels (Port Elizabeth)

Wow, we were so at rest we didn't even try any water sport. The pictures are so accurate, spotless and just lovely. We will definitely return. Helpful service before and after. Great value for money and a stones throw from George. It was very hard leaving the view behind. Highly recommended!

January 2013

Very Good

Review by Machelle (SA)

Lovely accommodation and the owner had just supplied a canoe for the cabin which we really enjoyed. Beautiful setting and can recommend this accommodation. The only drawback is the N2 road noise which we found a little irritating early in the morning - but other than that a lovely holiday.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Linda Horne (Cape Town)

At Rest definitely delivered (and even exceeded) my expectations. Lovely settings and beautiful surrounds - I absolutely loved canooing on the lake. At Rest is also conveniently located thus we could easlity commute to surrounding areas. The service I received from Hendrik and Ilza was friendly and efficient - I would definitely want to go back there.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Ilana Mouton (Outjo)

We had a wonderful stay! Thanks to the web site we had high expectations and your wonderful place exceeded them all. a Canoe would have been nice but otherwise everything one can wish for were supplied. We hope to be back some time in future.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Fabian (Krugersdorp)

We really enjoyed our stay at at Rest! The accommodation was perfect. We enjoyed the many birds around the house as well as the beach which is so close.
When you are looking for a place to stay in this area at Rest is the place to book.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Denise Jacobs (Cape Town)

I was really impressed with the place, usually when you see something online its not what it seems. Well this is excatly as advertised. the place is beautifull.

There was all the comforts you will have at home. We really enjoyed our stay and I will fully refer this place to friends and family. We will definately be coming back soon.... Jacobs Family

September 2012

Excellent

Review by S. Kruger (Pilanesberg National Park)

This is the second time we have made use of At Rest (Stayed Feb 2012) and it will definately not be the last. It never fails to impress. Being in the hospitality industry we are hard to please, but you give us a home away from home, with all the amenities that one needs. Thank you once again for the improvements that have been made. Both times we have stayed we have brought elderly parents with us and the room downstairs with the bathroom has been perfect for them. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

The Kruger Family

August 2012

Very Good

Review by Chelsea Mac (Cape Town)

What a beautiful house! Spacious, trendy, open, relaxing and perfect for a girls weekend away. We sat on the balconies watching the sun go down and enjoyed the braai area with a big grass area.

I would suggest having a canoe at the house, we would have loved to have gone for a paddle by the house without having to get in our cars and go to Eden Adventures.

All in all a lovely location and stunning views. Will come back!

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Ingrid Theron (Worcester)

We ended our two week holiday at At Rest and it was a great decision.
The house is situated in the most tranquil place and close to everything.
The decor is lovely and we had a great time here.
We went for the canoe ride and walked to the waterfall in the national park around the corner.

Thank you, we ended our holiday at the right place.

July 2012

Very Good

Review by Adronel (Cape Town)

We had a lovely stay at 'At Rest' and will definitely make use of the accomodation again in future.
It is well maintained and a pleasure to stay at. And a really beautilful place.

April 2012

Very Good

Review by Tim Kyle (Rennes, France)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is tastefully decorated, the rooms are large and the beds extremely comfortable.
We enjoyed having braai's (barbeque's) in the evening and sipping wine on the balcony while listening to the many waterbirds.
The children loved the pool and walks in the forest.
'At Rest' is conveniently positioned, it's close to fabulous beaches, George is nearby to do shopping and it's just a short hop away from Oudtshoorn. Ilza, the agent, was most welcoming and gave plenty of useful advice and was easy to contact.
We'll most definitely recommend at rest to our friends and others wishing to travel to South Africa.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Lyle (Port Elizabeth)

The place is perfectly situated to explore Wilderness and surrounds. There was plenty palces to visit, eat at, adn other activities to keep you occupied. Recommend Eden Park adventures Kloofing for the adventurous. Kids loved the pool, jungle gym and ability to ride their bicycles around. The service and friendliness we received from the Agent and owner was excellent as well. My only recommendation would be too purchase a canoe or paddleboat which guests can utilize as the Reception area were not willing to hire theirs out as we were private tenants

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Suzan Kruger (Pilanesberg National Park)

What a fabulous place to stay. My son (5 yrs) enjoyed the fishing and canoeing. The place is clean, and has everything you could possibly need. Please just do something about the height of the shower in the upstair bathroom (Not built for tall people) and fix the headboard in the main bedroom upstais as it bangs constantly whenever you move.

Overall it was so enjoyable, we are thinking of booking again later in the year.
Thank you
The Kruger Family

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Carine (George)

This place is the ultimate in luxury. The blankets are soft and cuddly and the views are gorgeous. We left the doors open at night on the upper balcony and loved the stars and cool night air. The fact that victorinox knifes are supplied indicates to me that the owners tried to supply the best possible for guests and the friendliness of the owner and also agent (lady who came to open for us) made it a pleasure to book and stay.

I would go back in the blink of an eye and have told many people of the wonderful stay. As we are not tall, the hight of the shower did not bother and the downstairs bathroom was also very spacious and the bath a pleasure.

We were a family of 8 and did not irritate one another as the rooms are spacious. Thank you for allowing us to be the first to stay there. We will be back!

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1224
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.995194444111114
Longitude: 22.59472222188889

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 20km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 09h00

Early check-ins and late check-outs are only possible if other guests are not departing or arriving on the same day. The possibility of this privilege can only be determined on short notice by the hostess.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2012 - 50 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap