Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir, ein Ehepaar aus Bayern waren 4 Wochen im Febr. und März 2013 im View Apartment und haben sehr wohl gefühlt. Ein ganz wichtiger Faktor war dabei das Gefühl der Sicherheit durch den hohen Zaun und die Vergitterung der Fenster. Die Räumlichkeiten und die große Terrasse waren einfach super. Wir würden diese Wohnung jederzeit wieder mieten.

February 2013

Deistler (München)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Anne, I am happy to report that enjoyed my stay very much. The large room, super bathroom and functional kitchenette served my needs wonderfully. Moreover, the lovely sourround views are mesmerising and I couldn't get enough of it. Most of all I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your hospitality and friendliness, and accommodating my special requests, it is much appreciated. Wishing you well for the future of this lovely guest house. Kind regards, Petrusa

February 2011

Petrusa du Toit (Potchefstroom, SA)

Verified reviewvery good

We really liked our visiting in your "View Appartment". We also had the possibility to spend lots of time in the "Fountain Appartment" as our friends were staying there. Both appartments were very comfortable and fresch. We enjoyed to have breakfast, drinks and so on in the garden outside the Fountain Appartment and even on the elegant roof balcony outside the View appartment. We also liked to take a bath in the little swimmingpool. The surroundings were magnificent. We can really recommend to stay at the Asgard Appartments in Somerset West. Exept the comfortable and nice living it was not far away to go to golf links, wine gardens, the beach, Cape Town and so on. Best regards and many thanks from Catharina and Torbjörn Rindås

February 2011

Catharina and Torbjörn Rindås (Stockholm-Täby)

Verified reviewvery good

We are a swedish couple visiting South Africa for the third time and found a pearl on the net by the Asgard Accomodation. We found a fantastic place with appartment, garden, pool and a very nice couple who owned this place. We really liked our stay and if we return to South Africa we hope that we can stay at this place again- Many thanks to the family List who gave us this opportunity to stay in this fantastic place for one month.

February 2011

åse and Ulf Bergdahl (Barsebäck)

Verified reviewexcellent

J’ai passé 5 nuits à Asgard appartment, au mois de novembre 2009, ce fut un excellent séjour. L’appartement que j’avais loué était parfaitement équipé, tout confort et meublé avec gout, donnant sur un superbe jardin avec piscine et fontaine. Leur propriété et très bien située, au calme, dans un quartier résidentiel cossu, mais tout proche des commerces et seulement à 25 min du centre du Cap. Annegret et Calle sont un couple adorable, très disponible et discret. Petit déjeuner grandiose garanti !! C’est vraiment une adresse à garder et à faire passer. Je la recommande vivement.

December 2010

Juliette Rousseau (24100 Lembras, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a hidden gem of tranquility, ideally situated for trips to Capetown and the beautiful attractions offered in the surrounding area of Somerset West. The patio apartment was ideal for the three of us and fully equipped. Cool , spotless rooms, lovely bathroom and comfortable beds. With the patio garden and the pool it felt more like a private villa than being a guest in someone's home. Our hosts offered super hospitality and the home cooked breakfasts with Anne's delicious preserves and full on english breakfast were the perfect start to a full day of sightseeing. Relaxing afterwards watching the sunset over the mountains in the verdant garden rounded off the experience. They are charming people you can tell you lots about the country - plus they do tours to Namibia too! We highly recommend this lovely home and hope to visit again! Anne and Carl-Ludwig thanks for making our stay so memorable!

January 2010

Sue op het Veld (Helden, the Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

The accomodations at Asgard were impeccable. Carl and Annegret, the owners of the guesthouse were wonderful hosts. Our apartment was spotless, warm and comfortable and beautifully decorated with big open windows all around for the views. Asgard is located in the Somerset West which is close enough to the center of Cape Town to be convenient and far enough to be away from the hustle of the big city. Somerset West is in the middle of some of the most beautiful landscape I've ever seen. Mountains surround the town and the vineyards are only a few miles away as is a beautiful white sand beach. You can see the beach, the mountains and vineyards from the patio. Our apartment had a large bedroom area with an adjoining kitchenette which was well stocked with everything needed for cooking and enjoying the wonder S. African wines from Stellenbosch, Franschoek and Paarl nearby. It was a wonderful stay. I'd recommend it highly.

September 2008

Charles Burkle (Denver Colorado USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I spent a magnificent holiday at the house of Carl-Ludwig and Annegret List. I was picked up by Carl-Ludwig at the airport and couldn´t get a warmer welcome at their home in Somerset West. It´s Africa but still you feel the German Gemütlichkeit. At the same time it is obvious that Annegret is an artist. You´ll find her outstanding taste in every spotless clean room. There is no better place I could recommend!!!

August 2008

Karin Meyer-Wendecker (Berlin)

Verified reviewexcellent

BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED OVER!! Thank you very much for the hospitality. The wine made the evening. ''small things that count''

July 2007

Barry Snyman (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir, ein Pärchen aus Deutschland, Robert und Anne, waren für 3 Wochen in Somerset West. Ich selbst bin Triathlet und nutzte den Aufenthalt für meine Radtrainingseinheiten. Meine Freundin Anne dagegen nutzte den 3 wöchigen Aufenthalt für 100% Urlaub. Da wir noch nie vorher in Südafrika waren, bereitete uns die Buchung der Unterkunft große Bauchschmerzen. Wo ist die sicherste Gegend, wie ist der Unterkunftsstandard in Südafrika und und und. Warscheinlich war es Instinkt, das Asgard Appartement bei Annegret und Carl zu buchen. Der Flug dauerte 11 Stunden. Während dieser Zeit ging uns alles durch den Kopf. Könnte meine Freundin sich problemlos alleine in Somerset West bewegen? Ist die Unterkunft auch sauber? Als wir dann ca. 13 Stunden nach Abflug in München vor dem Eingangstor von Annegret und Carl standen, waren wir sprachlos. Wir waren im Paradies. Die Lage ein Traum. Im Grünen von Somerset West, absolut ruhig. Doch nicht genug. Als wir unser kleines Reich für die nächsten 3 Wochen präsentiert bekommen haben, waren wir erneut sprachlos. Eine Unterkunft mit soviel Liebe eingerichtet, neusten Möbeln und ein Bad das zum Dauerduschen einlud, haben wir bis dahin noch nicht erlebt. Eine eigene Terasse mit Grillmöglichkeiten mit unglaublicher Aussicht und dazu einen kleinen aber feinen Pool. Meine Freundin und ich waren uns in diesem Moment klar: Das wird für die Zukunft unser neues Urlaubsdomizil. Eine Besonderheit auch die Herzlichkeit der Gastgeber Annegret und Karl mit Tochter. Auch ein Highlight ist die Lage. Nur ca. 40 Minuten nach Kapstadt, 20 Minuten nach Stellenbosch. Im Ort Somerset West hat man alles was man braucht, Supermärkte und vieles mehr. Nach diesem Urlaub kennen wir kein Heimweh mehr, sondern nur Fernweh. Liebe Annegret, lieber Karl. Wir sehen uns Ende 2008, Anfang 2009 und die vielen Jahre danach. :-) Ganz liebe Grüße aus München, Deutschland. Anne & Robert Sollten Urlauber Fragen haben oder auch Bilder wünschen, stehe ich gerne dafür bereit. Kontakt über robert-brummer.de

February 2007

Robert Brummer (München)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.