Amanzi Beach House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (30 reviews)

Amanzi Beach House

Self Catering at 243 Green Lane, Umzumbe, 4225, South Coast, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 30 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 30 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2017

Excellent

Review by LULAMA SWAARTBOOI (Johannesburg)

I sincerely was worried that the premises' photos were extremely edited for marketing.... but boy was I wrong. The house is beyond stunning and clean. Peter, who manages the property made our stay easy and his wife is just a darling. The views are breathtaking. We could not resist morning walks each day. My work colleagues were teary when we arrived... haaaa... they were hugging each item of the house... crazy. We all were pleased. I am certainly coming back with my family. perhaps bring my dog so Hugo can have a holiday buddy ; )

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Sally (UK)

What a lovely venue. My husband and I had the pleasure of being invited by friends to stay with them at Amanzi Beach House. Coming from the UK we are not used to that kind of setting, accommodation, or hospitality. We had reservations about even going, and as it turned out: it was the best holiday of our lives. The house, setting, facilities, and staff all 5star *****. My husband walked every day on the gorgeous beach with the family dog Hugo. It was so sad to say goodbye to him. We now want to bring my parents from the UK next year to visit your beautiful country, and Amanzi Beach House will most certainly be on the itinerary. This venue is out of this world.

Positives: Amazing house, Amazing decor, Very well equipped, Amazing location. Outstanding staff and service. A house with a lift… well that blew me away. (Gran will love this place).

Negatives: We got lost on the way, and tried to call the owner for directions. He did not answer. He must have been at the pub, as when we arrived, he greeted us smelling of booze, wearing tatty shorts and shirt. It was after hours so all forgiven, but we would have liked a better reception.

We will be back to SA and Amanzi Beach House for sure.
Sally (London)

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Darren (Ballito)


Uitstekende bestemming, huis is goed toegerus (lugversorger sal welkome toevoeging wees!), Johan en sy span lewer uitstekende diens en die ligging naby die see is 'n droom. Umzumbe is 'n rustige klein dorpie met pragtige strand en die Suidkus het genoeg doendinge. Ons kan Amanzi met groot vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.



- Max Guldenpfennig

Ballito

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Ian McMillan (JNB)


We recently had a wonderful, restful week’s family holiday at the Amanzi Beach House. We were not disappointed and hope to return there as soon as we have opportunity.

Firstly concerning the location, we could not have chosen better. The Beach House overlooks the sea and one can easily walk down to the beach from the garden within three minutes.
The Beach house is large with a bright, sunny, and open plan layout. The décor is tasteful modern and breezy following a beach/ocean theme. Kitchen was large and well equipped as advertised.
We loved having our bedrooms overlooking the magnificent ocean.
We certainly had a truly happy time which was enjoyed by each one of us. The only complaint was that we would have loved to stay a little longer.
Liked — Spectacular view and quietness
Disliked — cant think of anything..it was all good

5 Star Rating


- Ian McMillan

JNB

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Amanda (Kloof, DBN)


Oh My gosh - most amazing place to stay. I did have an early morning display of Dolphins in the surf from my bedroom followed by a breaching whale which just topped it all for me.
The house is beautifully decorated and looked after by the caretakers. we were greeted personally and were left a bottle of win on arrival.

There is a lift which is great if travelling with infirm or those who find stairs an issue.
As a travel consultant I would highly recommend Amanzi Beach House :-)
Liked — The size
Disliked — Leaving

5 STAR RATING

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family


- Amanda

Kloof, DBN

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Elizna F (JNB, SA)


Best doggie holiday ever”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Usually, places that allow pets are the crummy ones with plastic furniture of the stoep, we were pleasantly surprised when we realised that this stunning place will allow our doggie children to accompany us. All 5 of us were in heaven. Amanzi has the most breath-taking view from the stoep, and are basically on the beach. We found the stretch of beach in from of the house to be very quiet with not many people during the day. The decor is stunning, the furniture is comfortable, overall the experience was awesome. The managers were very accommodating with our very friendly Scottish terrier that wanted to visit them almost around the hour and we felt comfortable leaving them alone one night to go for grown-up dinner without the kids. If budget allows, we will definitely visit again.

5 STAR RATING*****

- Elizna E

JNB, SA

June 2016

Excellent

Review by Wicus E (JNB)


WOW.....
What an awesome place, my wife and I and our 3 dogs went there as it was near my parents in law and brother in law, so they could come visit. Wow wow wow, what a nice experience, spacious and beautiful. 10 x better that the photo's. Thanks Peter and Carol, and of course Hugo
Liked — The deck and the view to just relax, and nice close beach
Disliked — We had to leave

Stayed June 2016, traveled as a couple5 of 5 stars
5 STAR Service


- Wicus E

JNB

May 2016

Excellent

Review by Grant (Durban)

What an amazing find. Loved our family stay at Amanzi Beach House. Kids loved the garden jungle gym, beach and pool. Wonderful decore, large super clean rooms. Huge fully fitted kitchen. Excellent service from very happy staff. We were very sad to go. A weekend is just not enough at this place: a life time is more like it. I can't wait to go back. Excellent all round value.

May 2016

Excellent

Review by Wolf B (JNB, SA)

Paradise on the beach”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family and I decided to visit the south coast for a change and booked in at Amanzi beach house and WOW what a gem a stones throw from the beach and a short walk from the swimming area. The views from the rooms were magnificent and we were even lucky to watch some dolphins swimming by as the sun was rising ( seems that even on vacation we still rise early). Hugo the resident pet was an absolutely well mannered and friendly dog and went for lovely walks with us on the beach and was fantastic with our kids. We look forward to visiting again soon and I would highly recommend staying there to all my friends and family. Thank you Carol and staff for a great stay and look forward to visiting again.


5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property
5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property
5 of 5 stars Overall condition
5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom
5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 stars Service


Liked best: the spectacular views from the rooms and friendly staff
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family

- Wolf B

JNB

April 2016

Excellent

Review by Jones (JNB)

Outstanding venue. Nothing to say other than you will be 110% impressed. Beautiful holiday destination. 10/10 and 5 STAR . Thank you for the lovely service. We will be back.

April 2016

Excellent

Review by Margaret Ballard (Durban, KZN)


Reviewed May 23, 2016


My brother and wife visiting from Wales, a friend and I booked into Amanzi for a few days.
We were warmly welcomed by Carol, Peter and of course "Hugo" .
Being shown through this tastefully decorated guest house was amazing, and then on to the deck overlooking the lagoon out to sea was breath taking.
Memories of early morning walks on the beach accompanied by "Hugo" close to hand and always keen to chase his ball - back to the tranquility of Amanzi with a plunge into the pool on deck followed by breakfast overlooking the ocean will certainly bring us back again. Thanks to Management and staff.
Liked — Fabulous facilities

Stayed April 2016


- Margaret Ballard

Durban, KZN

March 2016

Excellent

Review by Sameera Shaik (Durban)

Amanzi beach house is definitely UMZUMBES best kept secret. So glad I came across it while browsing the Internet. We were taken a back by the mordern, spacious and well equipped house. The views from the rooms were amazing, especially on a clear morning. Our family enjoyed the holiday thoroughly... everything was way better than expected. Would love to visit again!

January 2016

Excellent

Review by Mrs Michael (Durban)


Jan 2016

I have been staying at various places on the south coast for more than 12 years but this self catering accommodation is in a class of its own.

We had a relaxing break in the secluded beach house in Umzumbe.

This clean, modern and upmarket accommodation is highly recommended and takes into account all essentials to make for a really comfortable stay.

The sea views in all 5 bedrooms are spectacular.

Well done to Johan, the manager, who accommodated all our needs.

- Mrs Michael

Durban

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Mogadi (Johanesburg)

Amanzi Beach House was lovely - We had a family holiday with friends and our kids. We all had a great stay. The house was an EXPERIENCE. Cants complain about a single thing. The staff was hospitable - the Manger (Peter) made us feel at home. All our needs were seen to. We are definitely coming back, and will be telling all our friends about Amanzi Beach House. 2 nights where just not enough. Thank you Amanzi Beach House.
Mrs Mogadi and friends
August 2015

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Lutchman (Durban)

Our stay has been FANTASTIC! We loved the hospitality from Peter, Faith and Good Enough. We are planning a return trip. Thank you for a most wonderful experience. PS: We loved the attention to detail, especially the toilet paper bows.

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Kaversha (Durban)

Great accommodation, warm welcome
Beautiful, friendly dog (who loves playing fetch on the beach) best relaxing, getaway experience. Highly recommended. Perfect.
Would definitely come back again.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Mrs Michael (South Africa)

Fantastic weekend away at Amanzi beach house
(South Africa) Mrs michael 12 January 2015I have been staying at various places on the south coast for more than 12 years but this self catering accommodation is in a class of its own. We had a relaxing break in the secluded beach house in Umzumbe. This clean, modern and upmarket accommodation is highly recommended and takes into account all essentials to make for a really comfortable stay. The sea views in all 5 bedrooms are spectacular. Well done to Johan, the manager, who accommodated all our needs.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by RICARDO GARCES (DURBAN)

SUPER AWESOME ACCOMMODATION , SECURITY , VIEWS & FACILITIES .
WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK , KEEP UP THE GOOD SERVICE

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Irene Scott (Durban RSA)

We have just returned from a very pleasant week end at your lovely Amanzi Beachhouse.

We were delighted with the facilities of the house, which is beautifully decorated and furnished and very well maintained. The staff looked after all of us very well and discreetly. The addition of child-friendly Hugo, the lab-something dog, added to the enjoyment of the week end for our grand-children and their little friends.

We would definitely not hesitate to recommend the facility to any of our friends.


Best regards,
Irene and Stuart Scott

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Arnold Krul (Debre Zeit)

Great place to relax with good friends. Nicely decorated place, close to the beach and amazing view of the dolphins and whales

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Arnold Krul (Debre Zeit)

Beautiful spot to relax and unwind. The house is fabulous and nicely decorated, the setting is lovely and I tremendously enjoyed my stay at the beach house, watching the wales and walking the shore.
We will be back!

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Yolanda Marais (Durban)

Thanks for the most amazing time that we spend in this 5 star house . From arrival everything was absolutely stunning . Will definitely visit again . Beautiful house, view and serves . Highly recommend to any one that needs a break or holliday.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Brandi Durden (Dubai UAE)

Views are breathtaking. Oribi Gorge was fun with tons of activities. Recommend the zip line. House is gorgeous and beautifully set up to accommodate cooking for the family. Maid service was a plus so Mom could actually relax also! Driver/manager was very helpful. Whale watching from the deck was amazing! The kids loved the train which passes by only about 2 X a day, and never at a bad hour of night. Monkeys in the back yard made me the kids' day! Wonderful visit! Can't wait to do it again!

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Corne Language (NWP)

My family and I was fortunate enough to spend an AMAZING week at Amanzi. Even though the weather was not the best, the house with its stunning and comfortable furnishings provided for a relaxed and spoiled atmosphere that after busy days you still think about and long for. The view of the ocean and the dolphins playing in the water made this experience something to remember. I have never felt as special or as important as I did during my stay. The hospitality and friendliness is what will draw me back again and again! The house is equipped with everything you need, it is a home away form home. Thank you for an amazing time and I will surely return. - Corné Language *****

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Brian (Durban)

Amanzi beach house is in every way the most beautiful destination possible. We had the most fantastic holiday ever. Memories my children and our guests from overseas will never forget.
The home and facilities are truly 5 star.
Amazing beach decor, design, and attention to detail. The full frontal deck, pool and BBQ made for social fun, bbqs, morning coffee, sundowners and most of all whale watching at its best.

Every bedroom has amazing 180 sea views, well fitted with plush luxury linen and decor. We felt so spoilt.
Unlike most self catering facilities, Amanzi offer free wifi, free DSTV ( on the most amazing 62inch LCD TV ), free room cleaning, and free BBQ gas. Just amazing.
With everything being brand new, top quality and high attention to detail, it's hard to beat this amazing beach front home. Well done to the Amanzi team.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Peter (Cape Town)

What an amazing destination. The best holiday we have ever had.
I have never seen dolphins and whales so close to the shore, and the Amanzi deck was the perfect viewing point.
We loved the pool, the Braai and view. Probably the best combination of sun, sea, sand, food, family, good times and a truly gorgeous home.
The decor is tastefully finished to perfection. A well fitted kitchen with brand new appliance was a delight.
Bedrooms, bathrooms and linen : clean, and perfect .... A 5 star hotel could not do better! Oh! And the view from each bedroom was to die for. Waking up in the morning, hearing the waves, seeing the endless unspoiled beach, was priceless.
We will most certainly be back.
This venue is in a class of its own.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Carol Ford (Caledon Cape Town.)

My partner & I spent a few days at Amanzi beach house and both agreed that this was one of the South coasts best kept secrets. The decor, cleanliness, and general comfort was excellent. The cherry on top was the amazing deck with pool,
There was so much to do and we loved the blue flag beach. We will definitely be back and can highly recommend Amanzi.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Shelley Holland (Kloof)

Fantastic Venue. Comfortable and close to all amenities. Easy access t on to the beach with superb views. Beautiful first class beaches and an unbelievable spot to watch the resident whales. an absolute bonus.
LOVE IT

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Darren (JNB)

I travel the world and stay at some of the best hotels and resorts. Seldom do I come across such a Gem. Amanzi Beach house is not just a house on the beach. Its heaven with a view. Clean, fresh, all new and the perfect holiday. Well done to the Amanzi team.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Shelagh (HillcrestStunning)

Beautiful holiday home with stunning views, not to mention the whale watching! Home is beautifully decorated and has all mod cons needed.

Rooms all have views of the ocean and relaxing in the pool on the deck with wine in hand is wonderful.

Zip lining at Oribi gorge is a must - but not for the faint hearted

Going to be our favourite holiday spot.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 4500
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -30.614714
Longitude: 30.546167

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 135km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged depending on availability on the date, please enquire in advance.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
October 2014 - 30 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap - Towns A-Z