Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

My daughter and I stayed at Amakaya for the second year in a row now and we had an awesome time. Its really like being at home in a different place. Every one is very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the fires in the pub each night - Thanks Terry!! I would recommend staying there anytime to family and friends. A very fun and happy place to stay.

July 2013

Karen Lombard (Strand, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

So friendly, it was like being home. The walls were a bit thin so you could hear a little bit about the neighbours but it wasn't a problem. We had pizzas and a potjke curry that was amazing! Definitely a place to stay in Plettenberg bay.

July 2013

Leila (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

very nice and helpful staff, nice bar with goot views, large kitchen with everythin you need, large dormitories with lots of space, close to the shops, supermarkets and restaurants, a short wak to the beach.

July 2013

Chantelle (Bern)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you, Dave, Terry and Gerhard for your hospitality and excellent service while we attended the Whale Rally. An unforgettable weekend! Keep up the good service. We'll be back next year! Charl and all his biker friends and biker family.

June 2013

Charl (Despatch)

Verified reviewexcellent

When I heard we were staying at a backpackers place I thought "oh no", but when I got there I thought "oh yes!". The rooms, braai at the pub, breakfast, everything were just perfect. I even felt safe with Skye there. Gerbrandt van Vuuren made us feel most welcome and he did not hesitate to help us finding places to eat and go. I really enjoyed the stay there and will definitely go there again.

June 2013

Adri G (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Gerhard and Terry made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy, off street secure parking gave peace of mind and access to the heart of town and the beaches was super quick and easy. The guys and gals were helpful regs activities and maps etc... Enjoyed some time at the bar, longer than planned ;-) and met some other very cool travellers. Bonus, watching sunrise with a cup of coffee from the terrace. Recommended.

May 2013

Brett (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

This hostel was a highlight of my recent trip to South Africa. Terry and Gerhard made me and my Daughter and her boyfriend feel right at home. We enjoyed a braii in the Pub and had fun staying up half the night getting to know the locals and guests. The location is perfect, and I can't get the views out of my mind. I wish I would have stayed a week instead of one night.

May 2013

Tamara (Colarado Springs)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and loved it so much we booked an extra two nights to stay!!! We had an amazing experience, Gerhandt and skye took great care of us, the nights were the best sat round the camp fire chilling and eating! They organized all our activities for us which made everything so easy. We are definitely going to be coming back here, purely for the greats nights with Gerhandt and Skye keeping us company and making our stay truly memorable.

April 2013

Matt (Farnborough, United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

It really felt like home. Very friendly staff. Excellent worth for you're money. Very clean and neat. Walking distance from town centre. There are braai fascilities for summer and winter time. So you can have a braai anytime of the year.

April 2013

Simone (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed at Amakaya backpackers for a couple days in April and had a wonderful time. Gerhardt was very helpful and entertaining. He helped us set up all of our events in the Plettenburg Bay Area and everything went smoothly! I will definitely go back!

April 2013

Ash (Unknown)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stopped off for one night at Amakaya Backpackers on our way along the garden route and we were welcomed by friendly staff and shown a bright clean and comfortable room. The atmosphere was relaxed and social and everyone we met was friendly, the staff encourage everyone to socialize by lighting a fire and doing a Braii. There are comfortable places to relax, the shared kitchen was clean and in good order. The only thing it was missing was breakfast in the morning but its so close to town it doesn't take long to find somewhere and the staff will happily recommend somewhere nearby.

March 2013

Jillian (Ireland)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 420
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Amakaya Backpackers

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.