Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Very good value for the money, large rooms, kitchen, heater (important in winter, very cold!9, very nice owner, very helpful, great food. cute dogs

August 2016

Monika (Cologne, Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

Our stay was very cosy and the kids loved the scenery and outdoors. The food was delicious and the service great. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you Lorna & Dave.

June 2015

Leana (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We're so glad we found this little gem, Lorna & Dave were exceptionally warm & welcoming. We could not believe how beautiful somewhere on the side of the N4 could be! And the breakfast is amazing! Thank you for a memorable evening, and for recommending we visit Kaapschehoop - what a fairytale town! Thanks Lorna & Dave!

April 2011

Padi & Jon (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lorna and Dave hosted our wedding at Aloes Country Inn, and we couldn't have asked for a better-organised, more perfect day in a more beautiful location! Everything was so stunning, and all our friends and family said throughout the day how lovely the venue was. Lorna, expecially, did everything in her power to ensure that arrangements were perfect. Her artistic flair and creativity, coupled with Dave's genious in the kitchen, make this wonderful couple a formidable team. Aloes is a beautiful place, and has become very special to Frans and I over the last year. I urge anyone who finds themselves in that beautiful part of the world to stop in for at least a night, and if you're planning a wedding look no further than Aloes - it really is a little piece of paradise, tucked away on the N4.

October 2010

Jennifer Moller (Nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

To those of you that have not yet "discovered" The Aloes, you are really missing out! Dave and Lorna are excellent hosts. The rooms are large and neat. Food served with extra care. The big plus is the verandah, facing the river, the trains passing by, the bird life, and the people you get to meet there. Whether you want a quiet break-away, or a private party organised, The Aloes is highly recommended. Had a friend's 40th birthday party there, Dave and Lorna went out of their way to accommodate us. Thank you. Wish you well.

September 2010

Marieta Brechenmacher (Nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi, Lorna & Dave Thanx again for the stay on Saturday and making us feel at home. We all enjoy it a lot. Manny, Pypies, Tracey & Chantel

April 2010

Chantel (Springs)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a lovely place. It is in a beautiful location, just outside Waterval Boven. The rooms are large and very clean and each has their own veranda looking down onto the river. The pub attached to the rooms is very sociable and serves an excellent breakfast. Another plus is that the owners seem unlikely to rip off tourists next year during the world cup by increasing their prices, which is another reason why I would recommend this place to anyone.

December 2009

Laura Needham (Berlin, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dankyou Lornaand Dave, you made a very homely welcome for us. The breakfirst was more than big. And the dinner was fantastic. We ahappy to stay in your house, but it was a shorttime, next time a longer stay... be blessed into the next year...

December 2009

Eva + Nils Roscher (Ahrensburg)

Verified reviewvery good

The hospitality which Lorna and Dave afforded us was exceptional. They made us feeling very welcome. The dinner served was very good. I would definate recommend Aloes Country Inn as a stay over for a day or two. The price we paid was good value for money. The accomodation was very clean and nicely decorated. The surroundings are very peaceful and serene. Thanks again and keep up the good work. May you go from strength to strength

August 2009

Marlene Sharman (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was the best place we have ever stayed. It was fantastic and the atmosphere was happy, calm and relaxed. It really was fantastic and the owners took care of us fantastically. Thank you so much for a making it such a great holiday. We will definatley be back.

March 2009

Kira Williams (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewpoor

This establishment has recently changed hands and the standard of room we stayed in was not what I expected, shower tap missing, door didn't lock.

January 2009

Deborah Jackson (Oxford)

Verified reviewgood

Stayed at this establishment in 2007 with my wife enjoyed it and will go again

April 2007

EUGENE VENTER (KEMPTON PARK )

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 560
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Aloes Country Inn

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.