Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and will definitely call again. Overall impression, excellent.

October 2020

Rob G. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewgood

Central place. Room well furnished. Unfortunately just a cold shower due to issues with gas geyser but Owner promised to resolve for next time.

August 2020

riaan M. (Wilderness)

Verified reviewvery good

Arriving in Prince Albert with no booking we were directed to Mai's B&B, what a delightful Irish lady. Mai goes the extra mile to make sure you are welcome. Booking a table at a Restaurant for us, offering us a choice of two different bedrooms We loved her quirky style, the bedroom was very spacious and most important of all, very clean, comfortable bed, aircon and misquito netting at the windows. Breakfast was wonderful, we sat with other guests and chatted. Breakfast was served on beautiful crockery and a beautifully set table. Thank you Mai!

March 2017

Norman and Cheryl (Adelaide)

Verified reviewexcellent

Spent 3 nights at Mai's. Novell idea to seat guests together at a long table for breakfast thereby allowing great conversations with persons who would otherwise have remained strangers. The rooms are large and well equipped but should you need to be out and about there is the quaint guest lounge or the front veranda where you can relax and watch the Main road activities from or alternatively you can relax by the pool. So what's special from other B&B's? It is Mai, the proprietor and Prince Albert's larger than life Irish lass, who makes the experience authentic.

January 2017

Philip Schoultz (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Mai is a great host and offers a really tremedous service. Great spacious rooms with lots of attention to detail. Fantastic breakfast! Pity it takes an Irish lady to live out the SA hospitality we claim to have.

January 2010

Ian Rademeyer (Centurion)

Verified reviewvery good

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely, cosy, charming and very friendly place. Mai is such a sweet person and indeed very helpful. She gave us the full choice of her rooms, and we chose a lovely, countrystylied room. We have looked at the pictures and think that they do not give you the right impression of the place. The rooms are much lovelier and cosy in the real world than on the pictures. We enjoyed our wonderful breakfast under the vines. Mai presented her very best china and the cleanest, prettiest napkins. The last day she had even decorated the table with rose leaves spread all over the table, so that we (an elderly couple) felt like being on a romantic honeymoon. Mai recommended 2 very different restaurants, which was just perfect. The town is completely safe, so we could walk home in the dark. We would certainly stay there again if coming back to South Africa. Sonja and Steen Stensgaard

November 2009

Sonja and Steen Stensgaard (Silkeborg, Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Delightful charming accommodation with a warm welcome is to be found at this B and B. Cheerful, eclectic and very enchanting decor . We so enjoyed our time here. Loved the cats and breakfast under the vines. Would stay here again and can advise anyone who enjoys life to stay here. So clean and charming. Mai's is superb ! Thank you and we will be back. Love, Neville and LIz

October 2009

Neville and Liz Louw (Knysna )

Verified reviewexcellent

We had wanted to stay overnight at P Albert so we could enjoy the amazing Swartberg pass having also visited Oudtshoorn and all the Ostrich farm paraphernalia that goes with the town. The Pass is to be enjoyed at a leisurely pace given the stunning views and road surface! Mai's B & B is easily found and we were met with a lovely cheery reception by Mai herself and numerous of her Cats. Off road parking is available too but this is a sleepy town and felt very safe. Mai gave us the full choice of all her rooms as we had arrived just before her other bookings for the night. This mini tour revealed a much larger house than it first looked. All rooms are very large with high ceilings and charming country house style. One room to the rear gives access to a garden area and there is a Pool for Guests use too! Electric Blankets; T & C making facilities; thick towels; all the things to aid a restful stay. Mai offered to book Dinner for us at anyone of her recommended places in town and we took up this offer with which we were very pleased. Breakfast was made freshly in front of us and we ate with the other guests at the Kitchen table which was lovely as we chatted to everyone and were soon comparing routes and being given excellent tips on more places to take in along our route to Cape Town. We don't think Mai would take Credit Cards but you should check with her. We relaxed fully at this lovely B & B and wished we had booked at least another night to enjoy her excellent Celtic charm a little longer.

September 2008

sarah (Paderborn Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

AN OASIS IN THE DESERT: Mai herself was just amazing! she gave us the chance to have a sundowner picknick in the Karoo with her and other guest which made the evening with her and the night in her house an unforgetable piece of our beautiful trip through beloved south africa. The room were simple but very charming and clean. Mai gave her guests a feeling of coming home. It was nice to meet such interesting people there. Breakfest was good and fresh and the cats weren't disturbing at all (even if you don't like cats you'll get the feeling that they just belong to this whole picture).

March 2007

Henrike (Wuerzburg, Germany)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,300
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.