Reviews & Comments

Showing 28 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

An amazing place, with extraordinary people, with the best breakfast in South Africa!

September 2015

Cecile & Vincent (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just amazing hospitality! We felt cushioned and well taken care of. We can't thank the 138 Marine Team enough.

September 2015

Ann & Lyn (Manchester, UK )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay in the best spot in Hermanus - away from the crowds,but close enough for quick trips to the centre. Thank you for all the personal touches and special requests. You have the most beautiful place, staff and views - we loved it!

September 2015

Warren en Brenda (Johannesburg, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a beautiful place to stay with equally amazing staff, making us feel so very special on our honeymoon!

August 2015

Alan & Rohan (Sydney, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing! Kind service, cleanliness - the best guesthouse ever! Everything was absolutely perfect.

August 2015

Francesca & Daniele Sarti (Misano Adriatico, Italy)

Verified reviewexcellent

It is paradise on Earth! What a treat to stay in this beautiful Guesthouse. it is so peaceful and tranquil here, you just want to sit and watch waves break at the shore. Thank you for creating lifetime memories!

August 2015

Lara & Andrey (Palo Alto, California, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic views, delicious breakfast, beautiful rooms and very warm-hearted staff!

August 2015

Dagmar & Alex (Aschaffenburg, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

I think this is the most beautiful and friendly Guesthouse I've ever seen. The view is incredible, the house is so clean and stylishly decorated, and the breakfast so tasty. Everything was PERFECT.

January 2014

Remi BLANDINIERES (St Maxime, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was simply the best guest house we have stayed in on our journey through South Africa. The breakfast is unbeatable! Excellent! We loved and apreciated Jena's attention to detail. Her advice every morning concerning things to do made our stay in the Hermanus area deeply interesting.

March 2012

Helmut and Manuela (Kempten, GER)

Verified reviewexcellent

Exemplary professionalism and fabulous services! We will long remember all the little 'touches' of magnificence that delighted our senses and made our stay so memorable!

January 2012

Karen & John Lanser (Taber, Colorado, US)

Verified reviewexcellent

Looking for the ultimate romantic celebration? Think: breakfast in bed while watching the whales in the waves below - a picnic lunch for two, complete with beach chairs, umbrella, wine and delectable delicatessen - a relaxing couples massage - romantic candle-lit sundowners on the balcony watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean – turn-down with rose petals, port wine, chocolates, scented linen …… Our stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse was truly magical and will be one of our cherished memories for many years to come.

October 2010

Jackie (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such a wonderful experience at 138 Marine in Hermanus. The most beautiful guest house with an awesome view. I think this location is the best in the whole of the broader Hermanus area. The room was beautiful and with such wonderful hosts it was just a very special experience. We will definitely go back to this very special place.

October 2010

Dirk and Irma Prinsloo (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have won a 3 night mid-week stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guest House on S.A Venue facebook competition in June 2010. Thank you very much for the wonderful prize that I have won. What a wonderful experience it was to stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guest House- My husband and I was so spoiled that we didn’t want to go back home - The room was stunning- the staff wonderful and the breakfast as well as the bottle of Boland Wine and that romantic picnic was to die for - the best breakfasts (and it really change every day and I loved it) we ever had and we do travel a lot. We stay at the Guest house from 24 August until 27 August 2010 (I want to go back!!) and we saw a lot of whales at Grotto Beach near Hermanus where we enjoyed the picnic. Thanks again Jena, Celeste and Louis for the wonderful stay - Elizabeth and Leslie Groenewald - Brackenfell / Cape Town / South Africa

August 2010

Elizabeth Groenewald (Brackenfell South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dankuwel voor de warme ontvangst! De overheerlijke ontbyten & de adembenemende uitzichten, maakten deze dagen in 138 Marine onvergetelijk! Onze gedachten zullen tijdens de komende, barre wintermaanden in Belgie, heel vaak teruggaan naar 138 Marine!

November 2009

John & Carina De Belder (Antwerpen)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a really special, beautiful, stunning place. The rooms are simply magnificent, the view breathtaking and the whole atmosphere very warm and friendly. Especially the fresh flowers everywhere, the scent of lavender in the bed, the bathtub with sea view and the delicious breakfast will stay iin our memories - not to mention all the whales we saw! We will recommend this place to all our friends and family and can't wait to come back.

November 2009

Tini, Steff & Elfriede (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hospitality as we did not belive is still existing. Luxury rooms and a 5* kitchen... sitting in the livingroom having breakfast and watch the whales playing.. or having a glass of wine in front of the cheminee in the spacy lobby for guests...In this house nothing is missing..everything is there..even the weatherforecast for next day is placed on the bed every evening :-) Very charmful owner, whom live their passion. Would return tomorrow...but then stay longer than 3 nights!

July 2009

Michaela & Dani (Zofingen / CH)

Verified reviewexcellent

One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Our room was immaculate and the attention to detail on the room and the rest of the guest house was faultless. Lovely seafront views which can be viewed from the guest house terrace, balconies and rooms. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Jena and Louis left no detail uncovered and gave us a wonderful welcome.

February 2009

Tunbridge Wells (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is an absolutely stunning guest house, easily the highlight of our trip to the Cape. The location and views are superb, as is everything about the house itself from the fabulous rooms to the warm and ever helpful hospitality of Louis and Jena. We can't wait to go back.

February 2009

Sue Patten (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

At the top of the list of guest houses we have stayed in. Wonderful accommodation and hospitality. The views are superb! The breakfasts were absolutely superior. Great attention to detail throughout. We really felt at home and would recommend 138 Marine Drive to everybody. We shall most certainly stay there again.

January 2009

Hennie du Toit (Durban, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

138 has to be the most beautiful B&B we have ever stayed in! It is in a lovely quiet and safe area with outstanding views. Whales can be seen from the house. Jena & Louis are the perfect hosts they were extremely helpful. The house itself is finished to a very high standard and the attention to detail is second to none. We especially liked the turn down service at night and the lovely chocolates and rose petals!! You dont get that in your usual B&B. We stayed in the Coral room but saw the other rooms too and they are all beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic with a varied menu every day. Prices are very reasonable - you must stay here if you are looking for somewhere around Hermanus! We\'ll definitely be going back.

January 2009

Hayley & Ryk (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a delightful 4-night stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse., a beautiful house with a stunning view. The sea is literally meters away and the interior is lovely. Jens and Louis' attention to details made the stay even more special; from the delicious breakfasts and fresh flowers throughout the house to the complimentary sherry & port from the local vineyards. The staff was friendly and helpful and we will recommend the guesthouse to anyone visiting the Hermanus area.

January 2009

Charl & Marianne Fraser (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fantastic place! This was three days of heaven. The owners and staff were wonderfully welcoming both before and during the stay. It was like being with caring friends or family. Nothing was too much trouble. Accomodation.....absolutely superb. One of the best places I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Breakfast..... great. Just what was needed to set us up for the day. Location.............terrific - quiet, tranquil, relaxing, with the sound of the sea and no crowds. We loved this place and will go back at the first opportunity!

November 2008

Gwen Guthrie (Orpington, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

It is one of the best guesthouses we have ever stayed in...pleasant and quite atmosphere. Great location; a few meters from the sea. Wonderful and smiley welcoming, friendly and helpful owners. Nice and polite staff. It is a beautiful house with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Everything is tastefully arranged and designed. We were sure that all was done by an interior designer, and were surprised and impressed when we found out that it was done by the owner Jena, chapeau bas! The sea views, even while having breakfast, is simply amazing. In a word, it is a must, we had such a wonderful stay.

October 2008

Yumna & Selim (Paris)

Verified reviewexcellent

Since 1998, we have passed through or visited Hermanus several times and there are many lovely places where you can book a stay. Quite frankly, though, after our recent visit to 138Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, we will forever book our stays in Hermanus with Jena & Louis. 138Marine is wonderfully decorated with the perfect touches to remind you that you are enjoying a holiday by the sea. The rooms are spotless, bright and airy... and the linens... oh, the linens... are fresh, soft and comfortable. The breakfast was deliciously prepared and delightfully presented. The presentation of our morning feast could only be emulated by a five-star restaurant in the business for 10 years! It was an excellent mix of food offerings and great service. Finally, the most important aspect to note regarding our stay at 138Marine is the superb and quality attention we received. We enjoyed assistance with our dinner bookings, turn down of the bed linens, coffee upon our arrival and help with our laundry. Overall, we cherished our stay at 138Marine and we look forward to returning in March/April of 2009 knowing that we will have another stellar experience! See you soon!

August 2008

Misty & Frap (Austin, Texas)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loveliest Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. Every detail is perfect, crisp linen, lovely open refreshing layout and the views are spectacular. We had a fabulous stay at a very reasonable rate. The owners have got the mix of friendly attention and not stifling their guests just right. I am already planning our next stay there. I really liked the really beautiful way it is decorated and the friendly and professional approach of the owners.

July 2008

Jennifer Crocker (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stumbled on 138 by chance and I now wish we had scheduled more time in the area just to stay longer at this delightful B&B. The rooms, breakfasts, views and hosts all add up to much more than the price you pay to stay. It's an ABSOLUTE TREASURE of a guesthouse. The decor is such a refreshing change from the overdone Victorian nightmares that you come across so often when staying at B&Bs. I loved the look so much the hostess, Jena, gave me photos of the rooms so I could share it with my interior decorator! Yes, it may be a few minutes outside the main drag of Hermanus but the location lends itself to long walks along the rocky shore, quiet nights and whale watching on cool winter days. It's obvious to me that the host and hostess have stayed at their fair share of B&Bs and Guesthouses before opening their own as they have thought of all the details, big and small, that make the difference between a good stay and a great stay. If only we lived closer to South Africa we'd be back every year!

June 2008

Marsey Dotes (Chicago)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Don't hesitate...Book now”: This newly opened guesthouse deserves to be fully booked all year long. The owners have thought of the travellers every comfort in designing their place. The sea is so close that even if it is raining you can still watch the ocean from the comfort of your own living room with floor to ceiling patio doors and a telescope so that you can watch the whales as they come close to shore.. Should the weather be fine then you can open these doors and also sit out with a glass of wine on one of the two balconies and watch the ocean from there. The rates are very favourable and you must stretch to stay in the best room which has ocean views on three sides. Even if you are not hungry you must sample the housekeeper, Katie's, breakfast. Her gentle demenour and warm smile only added to the sumptous breakfast we received before we had to sadly be on our way. We only stayed one night but wish it had been more....can' wait to go back. I would recommend this place to anybody.

March 2008

Adam Felber (Hertfordshire)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Better reason than the whales to visit Hermanus” - Firstly, the guesthouse itself. Simply amazing as far as arthictecture, interior furnishing & position is concerned. Set right on the seafront - any closer and your feet would be wet - with unobscured sea views from all bedrooms and the guest lounge which spills open onto a cocktail terrace. The mountain view deck is perfect for tanning & wine drinking. Positioned in a tranquil street a couple of minutes away from Hermanus CBD, but close enough to enjoy all the facilities of the tourist town. Luxury from the minute that you enter the B & B until you go to bed in the high quality percale cotton sheets. Secondly, the warm hospitality of Jena & Louis, the hosts, need special mention. With the assistance of the excellent chef, they serve delicious breakfasts with different menu's every day. And with Jena's designer's flair, she makes sure that the table settings are unique every day. Well worth experiencing!

December 2007

Juli Kilian (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,760
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.