Umlani Bushcamp is rated 5/5 by visitors (9 reviews)

Umlani Bushcamp

3 Star Game Lodge at Timbavati Private Nature Reserve (near Hoedspruit), Greater Kruger Park, Limpopo, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Umlani Bushcamp in Timbavati?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Valley of the Olifants.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2010


Review by Kevin O' Neill (USA)

Dear Louise and Kyle

We’re back in the states (as of yesterday) and just wanted to send you a note of thanks for our recent experience at Umlani. Lynn, Tess and I all loved it there, and it was an experience that we won’t forget. You and all the staff there were incredibly gracious hosts and it was great to meet you and the other guests there. Thanks again and look us up if you’re ever in Seattle!


Kevin O'Neill

June 2010


Review by Eduardo Stark (South Africa)

Hi Tarryn,

The below is the feedback I have received from Eduardo Stark. Please see the below:

"Just wanted to let you know that everything went smoothly, we all had a great time in the Park and the Umlani camp definitely fulfilled - if not surpassed - our expectations. Good fun! Thank you for all your arrangements, especially considering I came on board on short notice."

Please do pass the above onto the lodge and its staff.

Thanks for your assistance with this last minute booking!

Very warm regards,
Nerissa (Uyaphi)

June 2010


Review by Rhonda & Tony (Australia)

Hello to all the staff at Umlani

Myself and my partner Tony spent a few days with you in early June (we came with Memory as part of a Peregrine tour) and I wanted to say thank you for the wonderful time we had. Thanks in particular to Ginger and Hendricks for showing us so many beautiful animals and giving us information about them and the country. Thank you to Christie and to Thembi for making us feel at home and so well looked after. Thank you to all who shared dinner, drinks and stories around the fire in the evening. Staying at Umlani was the highlight of our holiday and even the world cup soccer games suffered from comparison. I am also looking forward to seeing the documentary about the white lions in thenear future.

Many thanks again, I will be telling everyone considering a visit to South Africa that Umlani is a place not to be missed.

From Rhonda and Tony (aussie, aussie aussie)

May 2010


Review by Gavin Lundie (South Africa)

Hi Marie and Marco,

I just need to let you know that Umlani has never been better! I took my wife and guests down on Friday and we had a fantastic weekend. Louise and Kyle were great hosts and the camp staff were extremely friendly. I must compliment the staff on beautifully set dining tables. It seems that I have become an old friend there and had a hearty and warm welcome. I have to admit to being a little nervous before arriving as I did not know who was running the camp, and would it be like it was? Well I truly can say that all is better than ever!

Every one in our group were most impressed, and we will be back!

Thanks very much,
Gavin Lundie

May 2010


Review by Michael & Sheila Fisher (Australia)

To all our friends at Umlani

We are safely back home in ausie after a wonderful trip. Thank you everybody for an amazing stay at your beautiful camp - all your efforts and the trouble you took were very much appreciated - the friendship, the food, the drives, the rondawel, were perfect and we really enjoyed the experience. You have the best KOSHER restaurant in the Province!Mike has not stopped telling everybody of the Big 5 and all the other animals and we have some good photos. How was the wedding - must have been lovely! Christie, did you manage to meet Maruska in Durban? We hope that you had a good time there! I will contact her and suggest she put Umlani on her books. Did you hear from Jenny and Fred? I do hope that she recovered quickly. Hope the leopard and cubs are doing well. Should any of you come to Ausie - please contact us!

Thanks again, take care everybody, we miss you.

Love Sheila and Mike

May 2010


Review by Johan Du Toit (South Africa)

Dear Tarryn and Marco

Thank you so much for the wonderful experience of staying one night at Umlani.

As soon as I arrived I fell in love with the place, everything was just excellent!

The accommodation was very comfortable and loved the fact that there is no electricity or cell phone reception. It is definitely of all the lodges that I've been to the place where I felt the closest to nature.

All the staff was extremely friendly, the food excellent and the game drive with Moses was also great and interesting.

Umlani is my idea of paradise!

I can assure you that I would gladly recommend Umlani. We are working on having some special private tours on our website and with that I would definitely like to include a bush package with Umlani.

I will keep you informed.

Kind regards,

April 2010


Review by Klaus Eickelmann (South Africa)

Dear Christie,

Having returned to Somerset West after all my children flew back to their
various destinations in Sydney, London and Munich I would like to thank you
and your staff once again for the wonderful holiday we had at Timbavati and
Umlani Bushcamp in particular. It was the sort of experience one needs from
time to time to restore one's batteries and to regain the positive outlook
on life which is so badly needed in these crime-ridden times.

Please pass on our sincere thanks to all who made a contribution to that
memorable experience, be it in the seats of the Land Rover or at the dining
room table. A special thanks also for the champagne and the cake on my
birthday and for including Sandy & Mark Wilkes, too.

I am attaching a few photographs for Ginger and Hendrick. Just tell
Hendrick he must improve on his aardvark skills before I come down next
time, perhaps for my 75th!

With best regards,
Klaus & Angelika

April 2010


Review by The Hancocks (Australia)

Dear Umlani

We had an excellent time on holidays here. One of the best experiences of our lives.
We wrote a little poem about our memories.

Moses and Hendrick went out for a play
Moses came back with a gun and some hay
But where was Hendrick the tracker
Now this was a very serious matter
Hendrick was out looking for the rhino we'd asked to be seen
But this rhino was mean and keen
It went round and round in a circle or two
And came back to hide from me and you
We didn't see a rhino that day or the next either
That rhino was a very big teaser.

We trully appreciate the time we had at umlani and the hospitality you showed our family.

Kind thoughts
The Hancocks
NSW, Australia

April 2010


Review by Haines Family (Australia)

Our family of 3 (us +15 yr old daughter) spent 3 nights at Umlani as part of a Peregrine Tour. As we were the only people on our tour we were glad to have the fantastic people and atmosphere of Umlani. We saw so many animals and birds on the 6 game drives, ranger Ginger and tracker Hendrick were fearless letting no tree or bush get in the Rover's way when in pursuit of such animals as Wild dogs, leopard, rhino etc. The highlight of the adventure was spending the night in the Treehouse. We saw a male leopard on the way to the Treehouse but there was not much around all night. A little daunted at the prospect of being so high and without a loo, I decided to spend a few hours and then get picked up and return to camp. In the morning, spotlighting still didnt show much and I decided that I just "had to go", it was at this time that Kira pointed out the leopard at the bottom of the ladder to the treehouse. Not surprisingly I forgot about anything else but spotlighting the beautiful creature below us, hoping he didnt feel like climbing the tree! Great excitment and our own private close up experience with him. We loved Umlani, staff excellent, food terrific and environment wonderful, hardly any mozzies either.

Hoping to return another time soon.

Loved it.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -24.31692055488889
Longitude: 31.300156666666666

Closest airport(s)
Eastgate / Hoedspruit Airport - 30km
Kruger Mpumalanga Airport - 190km
OR Tambo International - 500km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 12h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on
September 2010 - 9 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap