The Lookout at Whale Cove is rated 5/5 by visitors (14 reviews)

The Lookout at Whale Cove

Self Catering at B101 Whale Cove, 95 Cliff Street, De Kelders, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 14 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Lookout at Whale Cove in De Kelders?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 14 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2014


Review by Kathy Hill (England)

Stunning setting. All the comforts of home: electric blankets much appreciated on cooler nights. Perfect spot for many whale sightings. We would love to return at any time of the year. Excellent meals at Benguela and Blue Goose. Peter and Kathy, England

February 2013


Review by Tracey Costello (UK)

We had the most amazing stay at The Look Out. Everything about it was perfect. The apartment was absolutely gorgeous and very well equipped...we did not want for anything. The location was divine. It was situated overlooking the sea and there was a lovely big balcony where we spent a lot of time gazing out to sea and whale spotting. We were in our element.
We wished we could have stayed for longer and definitely would return given the chance. Family and friends were very jealous when we showed them the photos!!!!

September 2012


Review by Carol Fourie (South Africa)

Very nice and clean apartment with beautiful views. Definitely recommendable.

May 2012


Review by Jill De Kock (South Africa)

It was a pleasure to go to sleep and a pleasure to wake up! Definitely coming back soon. Thank you so much!

March 2012


Review by Henriette Robson (South Africa)

I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful time in your apartment. We enjoyed it very much!! You have a wonderful place. Thank you again – we are really going to use your place again, especially during the whale season.

February 2012


Review by Jaco Pretorius (South Africa)

Thank you so much for having us at Whale Cove. You have a beautiful place that feels so “at home”. We had a great time!!!

February 2012


Review by L Grootboom (South Africa)

Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodation you provided to us. We had an awesome time. The view and eating out on the deck. It’s lovely and modern and we fitted in nicely. Loved the paintings and theme.

January 2012


Review by Liz Peterkin (England)

Hi Mailie, just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay at the Lookout, we loved it, was extremely comfortable & well equipped. We will definitely be returning to De Kelders and the Lookout. It was such a wonderful experience and one we are very eager to repeat. We miss the beach and watching the sunset from the rocks, we saw dolphins every day! Was so magical, I shall be cherishing the memories as we brace ourselves for snow this weekend.

October 2011


Review by C O'Flaherty (Cape Town)

We have had a lovely stay thanks. Your apartment is stunning, so comfortable and well kept and such a superb view with lots of whales in the bay.

Thank you again and we will definitely recommend your place to others.

September 2011


Review by L Klaasen (Cape Town)

Thanks Mailie, the apartment is beautiful. My family enjoyed it.

August 2011


Review by Ann Pieterse (Bloemfontein)

We are back in Bloem after a wonderful time in the Cape! And I want to thank you for the absolutely wonderful time we had in your apartment! We enjoyed everything - the view, the whales, and definitely your beautiful apartment!

December 2010


Review by Valdi Strauss (Johannesburg)

A beautifully furnished apartment that comfortably slept the family. The balcony's cliff-edge view over all of Walker Bay makes one feel part of the whales lolling or breaching below. The kids had loads of fun riding bikes on the quiet roads, and plenty of walking paths for the grownups. It was really nice to be within walking distance of the nearby restaurant when tired of cooking. Highly recommended!

October 2010


Review by Charleen Shearer (Johannesburg)

We found this to be a place where you can put your feet up and just relax. It has everything you need and shops are not far. A breathtaking view from the balcony of the ocean; you are guaranteed to spot a whale in season or dolphins and seals. We had lovely afternoon walks along the cliffs and my partner even did a stunning hike in the marine reserve national park next door. A definite must!!!

September 2010


Review by Norma Green (Johannesburg)

We had a fantastic time in this tranquil setting, yet still found it to be within easy travelling distance of many local places of interest. It was wonderful to sleep with the sound of the sea and the whales in your ears rather than the urban traffic! A lovely holiday, thank you!

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.556057
Longitude: 19.364524

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 145km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
September 2011 - 14 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap