The Bend Country House is rated 5/5 by visitors (8 reviews)

The Bend Country House

4 Star Hotel at D361 Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road, 3280, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 8 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Bend Country House in Nottingham Road?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Natal Midlands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2015

Very Good

Review by Charlie Peet (Secunda, Mpumalanga)

The Bend is a beautiful place in beautiful surroundings. If you need to relax this is the place for you as it is so peaceful. The rooms are very comfortable and Sheila and Alan are friendly and amicable as are the rest of the staff. As there were only 2 couples staying we ate in the bar, the food was absolutely delicious and the ambiance relaxing. As you can tell I am a fan and will be booking in again next time I go to Midlands Meander.

June 2014


Review by Judith Galvin (Durban)

From the moment we stepped through the doors we were welcomed by Shiela. The atmosphere was homely, and relaxed. The house and rooms were tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques but with comfort in mind. The meals were deliciously prepared and Shiela went to the trouble of baking a special birthday cake for my husband s 60th birthday as a surprise. The staff were polite and very helpful. Our family were able to enjoy the fishing at the dams and beautiful walks along the banks of the river. In our party 6 adults we had our 10 month old grandson Shiela made sure that we had the use of kitchen to help with the warming storing and preparing if his food. She even arranged for a babysitter at night so that we could all enjoy dinner together.
we really had a relaxing and restful weekend in a homely and happy environment.
We definitely will be returning. We as a family recommend you visit this wonderful country house.

November 2010


Review by Harry And Margaret Smith (Carlisle, United Kingdom)

Fantastic accommodation, the beds were out of this world. The food provided by Sheila and her staff was excellent.

Sheila and Allan made us very welcome The hotel is in a beautiful location and all the rooms were tastefully furnished and decorated. Near to the Midlands Meander area, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any other travellers. A peaceful and scenic setting.

November 2010


Review by Les And Sandra DOCK (Carlisle U.K.)

after travelling ''the long and winding road'' be prepared to be stunned be the beautiful thatched country house - set in idyllic surroundings -peace and serenity guaranteed.
Sheila and Alan ,along with all the staff,were very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast and evening meals which were excellent.
we would highly recommend The Bend Country house >

September 2010


Review by Charmaine Date (Port Shepstone )

Absolutley fabulous accommodation and hospitality. Meals were exceptional. Highly recommended!!!

September 2010


Review by Sharon Swartz (Pietermaritzburg)

Our school booked a meeting for 5 people from our Management Team. The receptionist Ashleigh did an excellent job with our booking. We stayed overnight and each person had their own room. The rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. You only have to bring your clothes, towels, refreshments is provided in your room. . The Bend has a relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious and staff were friendly and welcoming. Sheila is a great chef. We have already made a booking for January 2011. Thank you SS

November 2009


Review by Charlotte Barnardo (Godalming)

Our wedding was a The Bend and we took over the venue for a couple of days before until the day after. The Bend were fantastic. I can't recommend this venue enough, a beautiful place. All of the staff from the kitchen to the office were excellent and looked after our every need.

The food was fantastic and any extras that we asked for for were sorted out quickly and without any problem. The atmosphere was extremely relaxed and you by the end of our stay everyeone was incredibly sad to leave.

I can't remommend this beautiful house enough. We fully intend to revisit sometime in the future.


April 2008


Review by Allan And Robyn Parkinson (Durban)

We went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and had the most perfect time, accomadation, food and hospitality. We highly recommend the Bend

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Contact: Alan and Sheila

Tel: +27 (0)33 266-6441
Fax: +27 (0)86 642-9342
Mobile: +27 (0)82 454-1311

Physical Address:
The Bend Country House, D361 Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road, 3280, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.372302
Longitude: 29.858768

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome as long as they are under parents supervision at all times.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 02h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
April 2004 - 8 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap