Tanagra Wine and Guest Farm is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (33 reviews)

Tanagra Wine and Guest Farm

Self Catering at Vroljkheid, McGregor, 6708, Breede River Valley, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 33 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Tanagra Wine and Guest Farm in McGregor?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Breede River Valley.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 33 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Vicki Austin (Johannesburg)

The wonderful service, superb Faraway cottage and beautiful surroundings, exceeded our expectations. A truly magical experience.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Wielligh & Rentia Lambrechts (Paarl)

Thank you for your friendly service. We experienced the accommodation as very luxurious! We appreciated the thoughtful touches. Wielligh & Rentia.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Brett & Bridget (Cape Town)

Our souls have been fed ! What an awesome weekend away - such tranquility & beauty ! Thanks, Anette & Robert for your superb hospitality. We will definitely be back ! Bridget & Brett.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Peter & Lillian Von Maltitz (Franschhoek)

Very comfortable; loved the Karoo peace ! Regards, Lillian

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Mike And Janet Hall (Napier)

A superb few days in a wonderful setting, one to return to ! Mike and Janet Hall.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Michelle & Jason (Cape Town)

We had an awesome anniversary weekend at Tanagra. The cottage was cosy and beautifully laid out, sunset views and birding opportunities exceptional. The various trails laid out on the farm are a welcome treat and we had a fantastic mountain bike meander from the farm to Vrolijkheid Reserve, around Kingsriver to McGregor and back. After 3 wonderful days we didn't want to leave ! Looking forward to coming back. Michelle & Jason.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Antonia & Gergo (Germany)

Herrliche Farm, wunderschönes Guesthouse und ein Traum von Frühstück! Kürbis-Zitronengras-Marmelade muss jeder einmal probiert haben. Vielen Dank, Antonia & Gergo.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by John And Jane Parsons (Hout Bay, SA/Devon, UK)

What a treasure - lovely room. Delicious breakfast, wonderful hospitality and a perfect starlit night. Thank you.
John and Jane Parsons.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Pam Jones & Tim Hunt (London/Bristol, UK)

Simply fantastic ! Impeccable style and comfort. Highlights were the rainbow we could see from our verandah and the epic, delicious breakfast. Thank you ever so much for a lovely stay. Pam & Tim.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Annelies U. Rolf Gutjahr (Zürich, Schweiz)

Ein herrlicher Platz um sich absolut zu erholen. Wunderbare Aussicht mit Vogelgezwitscher. Viele Möglichkeiten für Ausflüge und ein schöner Golfplatz in der Nähe. Wir empfehlen dieses Hill cottage gerne weiter. Herzlichen Dank für die Gastfreundschaft. Annelies u. Rolf Gutjahr.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Warren, Karoline & Tim (Cape Town)

Lovely stay. We did it all - walks, runs, swims in dam and bird hides. Thanks for accommodating all our different needs ! Lovely spot. Warren, Karoline & Tim in Loft studio and in-laws in Hill cottage.

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Jessica & Michael (Siegen, Germany)

Zum 2. Mal durften wir nun diese schöne Unterkunft (Gumtree) und den tollen Ausblick geniessen. Lieben, lieben Dank für das tolle Frühstück mit den vielen selbstgemachten Sachen und den leckeren Wein. Lieben Dank Dak für die Tipps und die netten Gespräche. Es war sehr schön wieder hier zu sein. Wir sehen uns bestimmt wieder. Alle guten Dinge sind ja bekanntlich drei. Jessica & Michael.

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Patricia & Alain (France)

We needed a peaceful place to relax and rest, well we found the perfect place.... Thank you for the fabulous place that is Hill cottage, we will be back on our next visit from France. Patricia & Alain

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Birgit + Detlef (Langsur/Deutschland)

Liebe Anette, lieber Robert, wir hätten keinen besseren Ort für den Abschluss unserer Reise finden können. Vielen Dank für einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt im 'Hill Cottage'. Wir werden bestimmt bald wiederkommen. Birgit & Detlef

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Chris & Jane Kennedy (Suffolk)

Great location and very pleasant place to stay.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Mally & Venus (Cape Town)

Thank you for having us over in your haven of tranquility & splendour. You are fantastic hosts. Your home is outstanding and so are your wines. *Superb*

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Willi & Ulrike (Linnich Germany)

Danke Anette und Robert !!
Es war eine sehr schöne Zeit. Wir denken gerne daran zurück.
Wir kommen gerne wieder.
Super Grappa
Viele Grüße
Willi & Ulrike

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Willi & Ulrike (Linnich Germany)

Vielen lieben Dank Anette & Robert für den schönen Aufenthalt.
Wir haben den es sehr genossen und kommen gerne wieder.
Willi & Ulrike

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Rebecca & Gareth (Cape Town)

Hill Cottage is just so magically special it is hard for us to drag ourselves away. We are rested and relaxed beyond what we could have hoped for & our walk through the vines & fynbos in the fresh air has rejuvinated us - what a little gem! We cannot wait to return to the comfort & peace of this charming little cottage - thank you. Rebecca & Gareth

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Jon-Ross & Genevieve Burns (Cape Town)

Arrived in the dark to find a magical little cottage which was warming & inviting - just as the owners of Tanagra! We had a very relaxing & enjoyable weekend. Will be visiting again. Jon-Ross, Genevieve & baby Ethan Burns.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Sean & Vanessa (Cape Town)

Thanks for making it so special. Great place!!

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Susan & Stuart Adams (Franschhoek)

A perfectly peaceful place! The plunge pool was great at the end of a long hot day. Waking up to just birdsong - and nothing else - is something to be cherished. Next time we'll definitely stay for more than one night. Susan & Stuart Adams.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Rosalyn & Ben (London, England)

Absolutely perfect - a wonderful location, so peaceful and scenic. And what great hosts in Robert, Anette and Jupp! we will be recommending this great find to all of our friends & family. Thank you very much for a lovely stay.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Marie Jo & Sam O'Leary (Cape Town)

We had a fantastic time here and a great New Years eve in McGregor. Beautiful rooms & food & very friendly welcome. We'll be back!!

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Sarah & Steven (Cape Town)

What a fantastic and special place! This was our first visit to the Hill-top Cottage and we look forward to coming back. Beautiful birds and a magical view, we will miss our tea on the patio! So quiet and peaceful, a real haven. Thank you for creating such a special place. Sarah & Steven

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Hartmut & Gaby (Lünen, Germany)

Ein absoluter Geheimtipp! Danke Anette & Robert

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Danie & Heleen Oosthuizen (Cape Town)

Robert & Anette, thank you for a wonderful, relaxing time at Tanagra! We had such a good time and we'll definitely be back. Life is about making memories and what wonderful memories we have of this place. Love, Danie & Heleen

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Geoff & Jenny (Cape Town)

Great ambience, wonderful hosts, good Grappa and "Felicity" wine. Many thanks!

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Phillip & Tracy (Cape Town)

What a gem! We decided to take a relaxed honeymoon to recover from the frantic last weeks of wedding preparations -- we had no idea how blessed we would be to spend such a wonderful time here at Hill Cottage - it made us strongly consider cancelling the rest of our trip and staying here for the rest of our time! Words cannot describe how we have come to love this beautiful little sanctuary. This, we hope, will be the first of many visits. Thank you, Anette and Robert for creating this special place and recommending Karoux! Outstanding on all fronts! Phillip & Tracy

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Jessica & Hugh Hacking (Cape Town)

What a wonderful, relaxing getaway! The cottage is stylish and comfortable with gorgeous views and mountain vistas. We have so enjoyed your wine and grappa. Robert and Anette we appreciate your hospitality and attention to detail. Many thanks & kind regards, Jessica & Hugh

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Mike Dixon (Cape Town)

We spent two nights at Tanagra wine farm and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is basic but very comfortable and the farm is peaceful and rejuvenating. The hosts are warm and friendly and Annette's breakfasts really are amazing! The perfect escape from city life. Will definitely be going again...Mike and Tertia

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Jacqueline Koch (Johannesburg)

Well laid out spacious accomodation. Well decorated and equiped with anyhting you may need. A comprehensivew information pack of activities and recommended restaurants and deli's in the surrounding area was a useful and much appreciated addition. The hosts are firendly and offer honest suggestions on activities and restaurants in the area. Our only regret is that we only had one night to stay and arrived late in the afternoon - more time is needed to really appreciate the relaxed atmosphere

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Natalie Le Roux (Johannesburg)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanagra. The room was comfortable, the kitchen provided you with everything you needed for self catering. The hosts, Anette and Robert were welcoming and friendly, providing lots of information of the various places to visit, or hikes to go on. We aren't wine drinkers, but nature lovers, so there was lots to do and enjoy. We will come back to stay.
Natalie and Jacques Le Roux

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.92477222155556
Longitude: 19.871138888222223

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 180km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome under adult supervision, parents to note the unfenced swimming pool.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2009 - 33 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap