Swartberg Private Game Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (9 reviews)

Swartberg Private Game Lodge

Game Lodge at Matjiesrivier District, Oudtshoorn, 6620, Karoo / Route 62, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Swartberg Private Game Lodge in Oudtshoorn?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Karoo.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2011


Review by Albert (Den Haag, Netherlands)

Een hele mooie plek voor een uitstekende Game Drive. Wat een gastvrijheid. Nadine en Monté zijn uitstekende gastvrouw en gastheer. Geweldig eten en nooit hetzelfde. Na 3 dagen hebben we ons verblijf met een dag verlengd. De Suites zijn perfect en de wijn heerlijk. Bedankt voor alles.

January 2011


Review by J Dawson (France)

I truly enjoyed this! .

We visited the Swartberg Private Lodge in January, and found it perfect. The Cape definitely has the best weather on the planet. The setting of the lodge is magnificent; photographs really cannot fully capture the ambience.

Coming from Europe I was fascinated by eleven giraffes ambling on a lawn. And on magical late afternoon drives, with a stop for appertifs, we were surrounded by wild yet unperturbed animals.
Thanks Monti for your patience – stop! I want to take a photo - and Nadine for your wonderful cooking, and little Michael. We came away relaxed and thoroughly spoiled.

Very welcoming, I strongly recommend.

J'ai vraiment apprecie,

Nous avons visite en Janvier le lodge prive "Swartberg et nous l'avons trouve parfait. La region du Cap a definitivement un des meilleurs climat de la planete; les photos ne rendent pas l'ambience.

Venant d'Europe, j'ai ete fascine par la quietude des giraffes se promenant sur les pelouses pendant le jour. Et a le fin de la journee, le ‘must’ local: un safari dans une nature vierge avec un aperitif en brousse, le tout entoure d'animaux sauvages. En Afrique, on appelle ca l'heure magique.

Nous avons quitte l'endroit, detendu, et, au regard du spectacle qui nous etait offert, le sentiment d'etre tres privilegiees
Un grand merci a Monti, Nadine (bonnes repas!) et leur petit Michael.

Nous vous recommendans vivement cette endroit ou vous serez chaleureusement accueill.

April 2010


Review by Angela (Hamburg)

Thanks a lot for the excellent arrangement - instead of one night - we stayed one more night!!!
We will come back!!!

Greetings from Angela, Bernhard &Simone and Alicia & Olivia

January 2010


Review by Dianne (Somerset West)

We stayed there after an exhausting school year (we are teachers!) What a fantastic place!. The hosts were charming, attentive yet unobtrusive. We were able to relax in the most beautiful surroundings, and return home re-energised, ready for another year. A truly wonderful break!

December 2009


Review by Boet Zaayman (Kuala Lumpur)

The hospitality, food and accommodation is 6-star! With the magnificent mountainous Klein Karoo scenery it makes for a truly unforgettable experience! It is a place to truly unwind and de-stress (and thank heavens there are no TV's in the rooms!). You will leave Swartberg invigorated after a few days' stay. And o yes did I mention that it is also a birdwatcher's paradise!

October 2009


Review by Cecil Swart (Durbanville)

We arrived after travelling 3000 km on our motor bikes What a pitty we arranged to stay only one night The night ride in open game viewing vehicle was great The meals hospitality and accommodation was excelent Can't wait to return with my family
Thanks Leon

September 2009


Review by Nurit Feldman (Herzeliya, Israel )

what a wonderful place: hopitality, surrounding, the land, accomadation and the food, oh the food. great attention to details.
Nadine and Monte went out of their way to make us feel at home away from home. Benny and Nurit

June 2009


Review by Claire Morris (Somerset West)

Fantastic! What a wonderful place - great hospitality, great food and a great rest!!

October 2008


Review by Caroline (Cape Town)

.........what an amazing place! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left well rested but reluctantly. Wonderful hospitality

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.42499999933333
Longitude: 21.93972222188889

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 120km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
December 2008 - 9 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap