Sunset Rocks Accommodation is rated 5/5 by visitors (16 reviews)

Sunset Rocks Accommodation

Self Catering at 50 Sunset Avenue, Llandudno, 7806, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Sunset Rocks Accommodation in Llandudno?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2015


Review by Eduardo (Belo Horizonte)

I spent 45 days in the incredible place! Ian and Loraine were amazing!! I just had great memories... the best sunset ever... clean, organised and all instructions available at hand.

July 2014

Very Good

Review by Springfeld (Switzerland)

We had a wonderful holiday at Sunset Rocks. Admiring stunning sunsets and watching the fullmoon rising behind the mountains and setting into the Ocean directly infront of us. The accomodations was clean and fully equiped for families with even binoculars to watch the whales while having breakfast. We found the accomodation very central for all our excursions discovering Cape Town and surroundings. From the front sleeping room one could hear the ocean roaring and from the other sleeping rooms only the birds and the wind in the trees accompanied your sleep. Lovely walk to the sandy beaches through the veld and a good starting point for hikes in the region. We would recommend this place any time.

May 2013


Review by David & Jacqueline (Pinewood Springs, Colorado USA)

Outstanding accommodation in the finest locale in greater Cape Town! Had also stayed here in November 2010 and had such a good time that we decided to return! We stayed here for a week (3 of us) in late May of this year, as part of a business trip to South Africa. The house itself is more than adequate, although we didn't do more than sleep and shower there, with the occasional BBQ. There is too much to see and do in-and-around the Western Cape, but relaxing on the deck overlooking the ocean at the house is a great way to spend an afternoon or evening as well! Ian is a great host and very accommodating - you'd have to look far and wide to do better than hanging your hat at Sunset Rocks for a while!!

April 2013

Very Good

Review by Derek (Durban)

Spectacular view, versatile location and comfortable: Highly recommended

We were hosting family from Europe and Durban-based friends recommended Sunset Rocks for the CPT leg of our SA tour. We certainly weren't disappointed: the coastal Atlantic view was superb and the accommodation very comfortable. The location in Llandudno (Sandy Bay) is very convenient for multiple peninsula destinations. Ian includes many thoughtful and significant touches for his guests e.g. binoculars, electric plug socket adaptors. Highly recommended ... we'll certainly be back.

April 2013


Review by Phillip Moore (Singapore)

I have just re-booked Sunset Rocks and realized I did not offer a review when I last stayed there in April 2013. In short it is, was and will be amazing, and I am so happy (relieved) that it was available again this upcoming October. With its roof top balcony, spacious living quarters, 3 bedrooms, etc it provided all we needed and then some. Ian (owner) is a superb guy who made us feel welcome, and likewise was happy to hear we are staying over again. Llandundo too I should add has a superb beach, is just far enough out of Cape Town but close enough too Chapman's Peak drive, Constantia vineyards, etc. Bring on October!

December 2012


Review by Lynn Margisn (Pretoria)

We had the privelage of staying here for 3 days. The sunsets were spectacular!! Ian has thought of everything that one needs in self-catering accommodation and anything you have not thought of!! Thanks again for the peaceful stay and not to mention the wallowing in the private swimming pool! We will definately be back!!

October 2012


Review by Sean Carroll (Darwen UK)

We had a first class holiday at Sunset Rocks. The facilities and location were fantastic. Our only problem was leaving after such an amazing time. It's a simple equation.....if you're going to South Africa, go to Cape Town. If you're going to Cape Town go to Llandudno. If you're going to Llandudno got to Sunset Rocks.

March 2012


Review by Jürgen & Anil (Hamburg)

We discovered this little piece of heaven some years ago. Since then we are coming back regularly every year to stay at Ian’s stunning place. The place is refreshingly down-to-earth in the rather posh area of Llandudno. Ian is a great host. Sunset Rocks is the ideal place to seek rest from the hustle and bustle. The sun deck is amazing, sunsets are breathtaking and it’s simply wonderful listening to the waves rolling in. Upon leaving we’re already looking forward to our next stay.

December 2011


Review by Chris Duggleby (London And The Alps)

If, like me, you are looking for fantastic views, tranquillity and lots of bright sunshine Sunset Rocks is the perfect location. As an author I prefer to be left to get on with writing and the remote location of this accommodation is just right. It is comfortable and has everything I need with a friendly, unobtrusive couple who run it. I am also a bit of a hobby photographer and if you want to see some of the pictures I have taken from this base just put Chris Duggleby into your search engine and then look into my Africa gallery. All the shots of Llandudno, Sunset Rocks and Sandy Bay were taken within walking distance from the accommodation. As they say a picture can say more than a thousand words!

February 2010


Review by Monique Nagelkerke (Hattem / Netherlands)

Have stayed at Sunset Rocks twice, and are going back again next year, as yes, it is the most perfect place to stay when in the Cape. The most beautiful beach, literally at your doorstep, with your own private deck, with uninterrupted view of the ocean, close to Hout Bay and Cape Town city, what more can you ask for. The appartment is cosy, 3 bedrooms, and a very large deck with great sun beds. And yes, the view and sunsets...Enjoy like we always do.

June 2009


Review by Paul & Amanda Brandt (Rustenburg, S. Africa)

Sunset Rocks has exceeded all our expectations of what we were expecting. The flat and facilities are well maintained and the service is par excellence. One could not wish for a better view and the location is ideal for site-seeing of the Peninsula. What we appreciated most though, was the homeliness, security and well-being the flat gave us. We loved it.

September 2008


Review by Lee & Arlene Kahn (Sarasota, Florida)

We first stayed at Sunset Rocks about three years ago. The flat is clean, comfortable, and spacious - three great qualities. The deck has an incredible sunset view of the sea, and the owner, Ian, is friendly and helpful - a great source of information on sights and restaurants. We were so taken with Sunset Rocks that we stayed there again this past autumn on our return to Cape Town, and we were not disappointed.

Best regards. We'll see you again on the next visit.

August 2008

Very Good

Review by Colin & Eve Cragie (Brisbane)

We loved staying at Sunset Rocks as the view of the ocean & the mountains was breathtaking. The self catering flat had everything we needed, had heating for cold winter days & a lovely braai area outside on the patio. The security was good, we had our privacy and the owner looked after us very well.

July 2008

Very Good

Review by Currie And Judie Boswell (Punta Gorda, Florida)

Sunset Rocks was the perfect location to start and end our 6 weeks in SA. The view could not have been more perfect, the day access to excursions in the surrounding Cape area more convenient and the hospitality of the host made us feel right at home. We highly recommend Sunset Rocks with the hope we can return in the future.

March 2008


Review by Keith Johnston (London)

We thoroughly enjoyed both times we have stayed at Sunset rocks and will definitely visit again in the near future. Your location is ideal, close to the pounding surf and beaches with superb panoramic views of the bay and open seas. We did not have to go far to be entertained, from the veranda, we could watching passing ships, dolphins playing in the surf and those magnificent sun sets whilst enjoying a barbecue and glass of wine! Your accommodation is clean and comfortable and offers all one needs for a holiday by the sea. Also thank you for your hospitality and for making our stay so enjoyable. See you again soon.

September 2007


Review by Karyn Niehaus (Atlanta)

Last year I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful home in Llandudno Cape Town. I knew nothing about Capetown at the time since I am from Atlanta, Ga., but discovered it was an incredible choice. The view was fantastic of the ocean. Beautiful trails to walk along the ocean. Ian, the owner, was very informative and helpful. The condo had everything you needed to be comfortable.. Llandudno is a very safe, central place to be. I would receommend this home to anyone and can't wait to return.

Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.012667
Longitude: 18.336369999666665

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 35km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
May 2003 - 16 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap