Redlands Hotel is rated 5/5 by visitors (17 reviews)

Redlands Hotel

Hotel at 1 George McFarlane Lane, Pietermaritzburg, 3206, Natal Midlands, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 17 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Redlands Hotel in Pietermaritzburg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Natal Midlands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 17 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2012


Review by Felix Widmer (Lengnau-Switzerland)

Thank you again for the opportunity to store our bikes at Redlands and the special rate you give us for the extra night. We felt comfortable and the food was always excellent. Whenever we will come to this region again, we will have a stop at Redlands.

Best wishes from Switzerland, Felix

April 2012


Review by Alison Kelly (Pietermaritzburg)

MANY, MANY thanks for ANOTHER lovely evening at Redlands. There is something so, so special about your place and the excellence of the service provided by your staff is noteworthy (especially in today's world).

Please pass on my thanks to everyone who was involved. And a special word of thanks to your team in the kitchen - I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken dish anfd that Creme Brulee

June 2011


Review by Joe Coates (Johannesburg)

Just a short note to thank you for arranging the accommodation at your Hotel.
We must compliment you on the incredible experience we had at Redlands. The hotel was in immaculate condition at all times, the service was of the highest standard, always there, but not in any way intrusive. All the meals we had were beautifully presented and of top quality.
You can be exceptionally proud of what you’ve achieved at Redlands and please convey our thanks to Paul and all of his staff, they truly deserve the praise.

May 2011


Review by Cafe Couch (Pietermaritzburg)

Upper Highway, Maritzburg and Midlands really do have so much to offer us, including great places to eat, like the BLUE ROOM at the Redlands Hotel.
We were invited by Paul Laing the GM and WOW, the service, atmosphere and food was great, I enjoyed a Calamari Starter and then a delish Kingklip with veggies, so if you wanting to spoil the wife or hubby, or impress some clients, book your table, you will not be disappointed! Paul also has Great Wines to compliment the menu!

March 2011


Review by Miss Zikhali (Eshowe)

I would like to say thank you for the excellent service that we received from your Hotel , wow I am so impressed. The guys that work with you, well done with the excellent service skills they have. Mbongeni, Russell and I forget the other one but they were in duty on 2011-03-04 and 2011-03-05. Please also thank the girls that were on duty at reception.

February 2011


Review by James Mills (Pietermaritzburg)

On Friday evening Timothy and I had dinner at Redlands and I am writing to tell you how impressed we were with the service by the bar and restaurant staff and the presentation and quality of the food we ordered.The menus and wine list that were handed to us when we were having pre-dinner drinks on the terrace are really professionally presented and well set out. The variety of items for guests to choose a meal caters adequately for most persons and as a master chef I liked the descriptions and the accompaniments that complemented the main product of the menu item. Nothing in the starters, main course of desserts could be faulted by us and we had a super father and son evening that was enhanced by the ambience in the dining room; the delicious food; and the friendliness of the waiters.
Paul was also present during the evening and was an excellent host to us and the other diners. It was heartening to me to see a General Manager interacting with guests so well where in many other establishments they tend to hide away or are off duty at night. Timothy and I also complimented Mieke your head chef when Paul on my request asked if she would come to the table to see me. Her food was above first-class and Timothy told her it was a pleasure to get a fillet steak done exactly to his specifications. It was lovely to see her beaming with pride as she was complimented.
You can be proud of the way the present staff conduct themselves and perform.

February 2011


Review by Barvana Maharaj (Durban)

Once again well done to you and your staff , particularly James who has done a great job with the co-ordinating of our Function on Monday. The guys on the floor were on the ball. The team made great efforts in making sure that everything was perfect and on time. Please ensure that the same members are available to help once again in May as they seem to know the process and the running order of things without me even having to instruct.
As said before great Job , in this case THANK YOU is really not enough.

October 2010


Review by Erik And Diana Schmidt (Austria)

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at Redlands Hotel. The staff are very plaeasant, helpful and friendly!
Regards Erik and Diana Schmidt

August 2010


Review by Tim Borland (Bryanston)

Hi. We held a meeting at your hotel last Thursday night and I wanted to send a brief note to say how fantastic I thought the venue was as well as to commend the staff involved for their outstanding service. James and the team were very friendly and professional and Sandile waited upon us with enthusiasm as well as top notch service. Your staff are a credit to a super hotel.
The guests also found the food to be of an outstanding quality.
I look forward to our next function at Redlands.
Best regards
Tim Borland

July 2010

Very Good

Review by Jan-Nico Coetzee (Durban)

A very big congratulations is in order to Redlands, and in particular head chef Deno for winning Hirch's Cook-off this past Saturday. With the accolades rolling in, I know that the Redlands Hotel will be growing with leaps and bounds, and myself and VDP is proud and privileged to be associated with Redlands Hotel.
Kind regards
Jan-Nico Coetzee

July 2010


Review by Lee Legg (Durban)

Thank you so much for organising such a wonderful high tea for us. The bride (Sanette) was very surprised and everything ran very smoothly and professionally. I have included some photos taken with my cell phone for you to look at, although its a pity I didnt get to take more pics of the high tea spread. Your staff were exceptionally helpful and attentive, and we had a lovely time enjoying the winter sun and the gorgeous high tea spread that your staff provided for us.
I certainly will recommend brides to use Redlands for their venue.
Kind regards

May 2010

Very Good

Review by Jane Clarke (Johannesburg)

Dear Janis and Staff,
Thanks once again for a truly memorable luxury weekend, but the absolute cherry on the top was champers and delicious cocktail snacks in the bar on Saturday night; we had a very merry bunch this time and made a lot of noise, (apologies to your better behaved guests!) but the best was Mikes face when he saw what you had organised- sheer happiness!
Thank you so very much,
Jane Clarke

May 2010

Very Good

Review by Penny Rey (Durban)

Dear Mr. Laing,
I would just like to thank you for accommodating my husband and I on the night of the 8th May, we enjoyed our brief stay very much and were certainly very comfortable. Thank you too for giving my husband dinner, which he enjoyed and was expecting to pay for his dinner, but thank you, for the complimentary dinner.
With kind regards
Penny Rey

April 2010


Review by Melanie Martin (Pietermaritzburg)

Had a devine dinner with great friends, awesome food, atmosphere ,service, and mingled with other guests.. all in all a Great Evening!
thanks Redlands....

March 2010

Very Good

Review by Theona Bell (Pietermaritzburg)

Thank-you so much for your hospitality with the Hulamin Workshop yesterday.
We have had wonderful feedback and therefore need to thank-you again for the ideal venue and scrumptious food. The Hulamin staff were so happy to have had the site inspection as they often request your Hotel. Some were seeing the Hotel for the first time, whereas others were doing a refresher inspection. To sum up their thoughts, let me quote what one of the secretaries said:

“it has a more “professional” feel than…”

I would also like to commend your staff on their delivery of service to Rennies Travel, I have personally found them to be polite and helpful at all times, this is whether we are at the Hotel or liaising with them telephonically. I look forward to Rennies Travel PMB continuing the great relationship we have with the Redlands Hotel and Lodge.
Kind Regards
Theona Bell

September 2009


Review by Mary Rogers (Durban)

Dear James and Paul
Thank you for a wonderful evening!!!
I want to compliment you, James on the way that you and the "Redlands Hotel team" handled our Novartis function last night. Your friendly, helpful, professional manner was a pleasure to work with. You delivered on every one of your promises and you were there every step of the way to ensure that our "Redlands" experience was a very successful, happy one. The food was exceptional, the decor was classy and professional, exactly what we requested. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
We would be delighted to use your services again in the future.
Well done to you James.
Warmest regards
Mary Rogers

October 2008


Review by Sanette Hattingh (Pietermaritzburg)

Hi Paul, Thank you once again for the excelent 5 star service that you provided us last week 20-22 October during our training!
Thanks again!
Sanette Hattingh

Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.592122
Longitude: 30.361866

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 120km
Pietermaritzburg Airport - 6km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on
February 2011 - 17 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap