Petit Plaisir is rated 5/5 by visitors (16 reviews)

Petit Plaisir

Self Catering at 4 Heide street, Franschoek, Cape Winelands, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Petit Plaisir in Franschhoek?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Winelands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2016


Review by Lesley Clarke (Morpeth, UK)

We have just spent a wonderful few days at Petit Plaisir cottage. It is a delightful oasis, set in beautiful gardens and with views of the mountains as you sit by the pool. Marlicia provides a warm and friendly welcome and does everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, and all you could possibly need is thoughtfully provided. We felt really spoiled.
Marlicia kindly made special provision for us and our daughter and we really appreciated the many additional touches such as fresh flowers, fresh coffee and home-made crunchies. We have stayed a lot in self-catering accommodation in South Africa where the standards overall are very high, but we can honestly say that Petit Plaisir really is the best. Can’t wait to return...

February 2016


Review by PeterThompson (Lilongwe)

Amazing Place, superb staff. My family loved it. it had all the facilities of a tranquil home environment. I highly recommend it to family wishing to stay in Franschhoek

January 2016


Review by Leen Demarre (Belgium)

Great welcome to a great place! Beautiful, peaceful, spacious, so clean & well organized and...spoiled by professional attendance without ever feeling disturbed.
We will be back! Rating: 10/10 truly!

August 2015

Very Good

Review by Tersia & Miranda (Eastern Cape)

Our 2nd visit to Franschoek this year, and by far the best. On arrival we received such a warm welcome! The accommodation is highly recommended and easily accessible. A huge thank you to the sensational host and owners Marlicia and Louis Meyer for letting us stay in a real gem. Marlicia, you definitely deserves a toast ♡

May 2015

Very Good

Review by Nicoline (Pretoria)

Wat 'n pragtige en rustige selfsorg kothuis. Met die intrapslag voel jy tuis want die ontvangs is hartlik met ekstras soos beskuit, koffie/tee en die mooiste vars fynbos en protea ruikertjies oral in die huis, wat dit baie spesiaal maak. Dankie Marlicia.

April 2015


Review by Heidi (Napier Western Cape)

Charming owner,Marlicia welcomed us at the gem of a guesthouse! Lovely ambiance and attention to detail made our stay really pleasant. We'll be back soon at this very special place in Franschoek!

March 2015


Review by Sarah (Dubai )

Petit Plaisir was a wonderful getaway for me and my young son. The cottage is lovely and has everything two people might need to feel at home and relaxed- we loved the short walk to the village in the mornings and enjoying breakfast on our little terrace. Marlicia is a charming and welcoming host with terrific local tips and suggestions for the area. We loved it and hope to be back next year!

August 2013


Review by Bettie Jordaan (Gauteng)

Petit Plaisir-wat 'n plesier om hier oor te bly. Rustigheid en vreedsaamheid. Ons gasvrou het seker gemaak die huisie is lank voor 2 gereed vir inklok, was dit nie dat ons verdwaal het nie.Sal graag weer daar gaan oorbly

July 2013


Review by Bianka Kieser (Johannesburg)

It’s home away from home…the best way I can describe our stay at the Petit Plaisir Cottage. Marlicia and her mom Alice spoiled us with all the thoughtful things no other self-catering cottage we have stayed at before: Chocolates, wine, homemade rusks and oat chrunchies, milk in the fridge, naartjies in fruit bowl, coffee, tea……everything you can think of; it’s all the small things that made the stay at Petit Plaisir so much nicer not to mention the comfortable bed and the nice decor. Jason and I will without any doubt be back for another visit. Just want to thank Marlicia for her hospitality and generosity. We will recommend staying at Petit Plaisir Cottage to all our Family and Friends. We will see you soon.

April 2013


Review by Marisa Terblanche (Centurion)

Ek kan nie vir jou genoeg dankie se vir die heerlike blyplek wat jy vir ons voorberei het nie. Die gehalte was topklas en ons het soos konings gevoel. Baie dankie vir al die bederf items wat die verblyf so lekker gemaak het. Ons het nie eenkeer gevoel ons sukkel / of dat ons sonder iets moes klaar kom omdat dit nie daar was nie. Al die basiese benodighede, koffie, suiker, tee, olie, speserye, seep, doom, coolerbox, sambrele ens was daar). Die hartjies teen die mure en hartjie-ivy in die kombuis, kerse en mooi blomme skep ‘n romantiese atmosfeer wat so spesiaal was vir ons om opnuut ons 1ste huweliksherdenking te vier. Baie dankie ook vir die skoonmaak elke dag en skoon handdoeke. Was elke keer ‘n groot plesier om terug te keer na die woonstel toe, na ‘n uitputtende uitstappie dag. Jul is 'n absolute juweel in Franschhoek!!

February 2013


Review by Twanye (Cape Town)

We had a really great time staying at your beautiful cottage for the weekend, it was very relaxing. Also loved that everything was so immaculate and loved all the little touches that were added, such as recommendations of whats on and beautiful places to visit. Cant wait for our next visit. Definetly a slice of heaven!!

January 2013


Review by Henri Finnemore (Pretoria)

Dankie vir jou moeite en ons het al die klein dingetjies raakgesien en waardeer soos die vrugte en die melk, beskuit, blommetjies en die lekker skoon beddegoed. Ons het die tyd daar by julle verskriklik geniet en die vakansie was net te kort.
Ons sal definitief weer by julle bly.

January 2013


Review by Vanessa Jones (Johannesburg)

We really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The cottage is beautifully decorated and all the small touches make it very special. Our time spent there was too short and we will definitely return when time allows to enjoy the area and spend some quiet time relaxing.

October 2012


Review by Janine And Craig Wait (Johannesburg)

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Petit Plaisir. The cottage is beautifully decorated and all the special little touches by Marlicia make you feel very spoilt. There is a lovely bathroom with a huge bath and the kitchen has everything you could need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again soon.

July 2012


Review by Lance And Lillian Wilson (Cape Town)

The cottage was very neat. The whole layout and attention to detail is excellent and made us feel so at home. What a wonderful setting, breathtaking views and a wonderful friendly host. We enjoyed peace and quiet as if we were the only two people on earth. We will definitely be back next year.

December 2010


Review by Denise Cochran (New Delhi)

What a little slice of heaven! I'm not even sure how we found this place since it wasn't on Tripadvisor, but we are so very glad we did. In two weeks in South Africa it was our favorite spot. You have your own place within the property of Marcilia and Louis (and their great dog Zulu) You can use the pool or sit outside on your own patio filled with flowers while you check your email using their wireless internet. Inside parking but the best part is the beautiful cottage, complete with wonderful kitchen, amazing bathroom, pristine and clean throughout, as well as wonderful recommendations of wineries, restaurants and more. You will never want to leave. We tried to return but they were booked. Now I know why!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.909611
Longitude: 19.128205999333332

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 80km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.
A cot can be provided if required.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 12h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in / out times by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on
November 2009 - 16 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap