Oyster Cottages is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (53 reviews)

Oyster Cottages

Self Catering at 16 Oyster Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks, 4319, Umhlanga, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 53 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Oyster Cottages in Umhlanga Rocks?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 53 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2017

Excellent

Review by Yasmeen Noor-Mahomed (Johannesburg)

No. 8 Oyster Cottage was an exceptional place to stay over the holidays. The living area is open and airy. We loved the private swimming pool and large yard and outdoor entertainment area. All four bedrooms are wonderfully decorated. The location is excellent. The domestic assistant kept the place fresh and tidy for the duration of our stay, she came in daily and did everything, including our washing and ironing.. I will definitely visit again. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

May 2016

Very Good

Review by De Ravel Family (Australia)

This was our first time staying at 8 Oyster Crescent and we definitely recommend the place. A home away from home......what more we say. The house is comfortable and very spacious. The pool, entertainment and child play area is nice and private. Our needs of a baby cot and high chair were met....thank you. Marie, housekeeper, is very pleasant and a hard worker. Maria, your attention to detail and hard work was much appreciated.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Nikita Dunn (Kimberley)

Hi Karyn

I remember our stay at the Pearl Cottage was amazing. It was exactly 2yrs ago that My husband and I decided to go on holiday with our son. The service we got was excellent. The domestic worker went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and you were always just a phone call away when we needed you.

Thank you so much for your hospitality. May your business continue to grow and excel in ways you cannot imagine. God bless

See you guys soon :)

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Lucia (Gauteng - South Africa)

Hi Karyn

Thank you so much for the warmth and hospitality you showed to a couple girls out for a fun time in Durban. Your place was amazing, our stay was short but we felt right at home and we wished we could have stayed for the whole week!

lots of love Lucia

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Nikky (Jhb)

I emailed over 30 places for accommodation in Durban and Karyn at oyster cottage was the only owner/hostess who addressed me in a warm and hospitable manner. She went the extra mile to accommodate us and the atmosphere was just like being at home. The accommodation has allowed us to feel secure and comfortable.

Their friendly manner and assistance really made our stay an unforgettable one!! 3 cheers for oyster cottage!!!"

Thank you very much for accommodating us at oyster cottage, we enjoyed our stay there it was wonderful and peaceful. We were treated so well, the owner and staff were very friendly they made us feel “ home away from home” My next visit to Durban I would like to stay there again if accommodation will be available. I thought I should give you a feedback."

I will definitely be back and will recommend u to all my colleges at liberty life Jhb and Durban.

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Dileas Soar (Gauteng, South Africa)

We had a really wonderful stay. Both cottages are very luxurious and comfortable.
The finer details have been catered for and on of the best self catering accomodations we have stayed in.
Hope to be back soon.
The Soar family.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Annah Vosloo (Mpumalanga, South Africa)

Dear Chris & Karyn,
Your warmth & hospitality was absolutely amazing,
Thank-you of rthe concern when Simone was sick. The Oyster Cottages is a gem! Tastefully decorated with absolutely everything that opens and shuts.
As Arnold Schwartzenegger on said: "We'll be back"
The Vosloo Family.

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Hester Van Zyl (Gauteng, South Africa)

Thank-you for opening the house to us.
We had a pleasant stay.
It is alway difficult for us to find suitable accomomodation with the sports our girls do, but we were really satisfied and you can be assured that we will contact you again.
Thank you for seeing to our every need.

Parents,
Rynfield Trompoppies + Waterkloof Trompoppies (champs of champions 2011)

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Nandipha Gabda (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn,

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your home, we appreciated it a lot.

You have a beautiful place and both cottages are practical in all respects and it’s the first time we come across a place that is actually even more stunning than we expected and its said to be. The stylish and genuine deco is absolutely amazing. We were even more amazed by the fact that we had everything we needed for catering in the cottages which made the self catering hustle free. The place is secure and in such a convenient location, easy to find which made our travelling around Durban so much easy as we’ve all never been in Durban.

Thank you for your hospitality.
Nandipha Gabada.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Jaideep Joseph (Botswana)

Dear Karyn & Chris,
We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Oyster Cottage. Tasteful decor, detailing, amazing scenery - everything on could ask for when on a holiday - Theresa's cinderella touch too - we would be back for sure!
Thank you guys!
It was a home AWAY from home or should I say CLOSE to our hearts!
Best,
Joseph Family - Botswana :)

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Johannes Thabana (Gauteng, South Africa)

Dear Karyn,
Thank you so much for the welcome. Everything is so clean. Thank you for the most comfortable stay.
Thank you,
Mr. Johannes Thabana

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Adri Sevenster (Kroonstad, OFS, South Africa)

Thank-you for letting us stay our last 3 days in the Oyster Lodge. It was the cherry on the cake.
Definatley one of the best venues ever.
Love,
Wessel, Adri + Kids.

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Brigid Goldberg (Sydney, Australia)

Easter Weekend 2011.
What a wonderful venue for our family time.
Well equipped - tastefully fitted out and a warm welcome from Kaz & Chris - also a big thank you to Theresa who looked after us so well.
Thanks.
The Goldbergs (Sydney & Jhb)

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Diane Pentz (Perth, Western Australia)

Dear Chris & Karyn,
Thank-you for a wonderful stay.
The accomodation is first class. We have loved being back in Durban. Great people, great weather and great beaches. We will definatly be back soon for a longer stay.
Thanks for your hospitality.
David, Diane & Nick
(Perth, Western Australia)

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Shaun Du Plessis (Gauteng, South Africa)

Dear Karyn,
We has a really easy stay, everything works, pool and views are great, all contributed towards a great wedding.
Many thanks from Sheldene & Shaun Du Plessis + the Ward family.

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Giovanna Di Monte (Gauteng, South Africa)

Thanks we had a fabulous time.
Everything was so Fab! The cottage was always clean & neat & we love the decor.
Thanks for accomodating us for an extra day, it really made our holiday extra special. All the extras and finishing touches like the hot water shower-tap outside, really impressed us.
We hope to be back soon!
All the bes for your cottages.
Giovanna & Wesley.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Markus Adolf (Germany)

Now we must say "Good Bye' after four wonderful days in Oyster Cottage. It was a good place to start our holiday in South Africa. Emma likes the pool. Whatever we've done she asked us 'when can i go in the pool?' Everything was great and comfortable.
Thank your for all!
Markus, Ellena + Emma from Germany.

February 2011

Excellent

Review by Lebo & Oss Raulinga (South Africa)

I must say thank-you guys for letting us in at this wonderful home.
Me and my wife decided we wanna come to Durban adn have fun with some friends and wanted to be at a quiet pace but yet beautiful. Karyn and Chris you have outdone what they call beauty, this is perfect, the security and the leanliness. You guys have gone into detail, everything that you need is just in the house and not forgetting the stones through to the shops.
Thank-you, Lebo and Oss Raulinga

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Shelley Greenwald (Los Angeles, CA, USA)

Dear Karyn and Chris,
We absolutly love staying at the "Oyster Lodge" - truly a beautiful place to spend a vacation. The accomodation was perfect - everything we could possibly want or need was right here. Thank you for taking care of every detail for us, including the chair for my Mom, kids videos, five roses tea, etc, etc !

The kids love playing in the yard and swimming in the fabulous pool. We were so close to everything wanted to see, like Gateway and the beach and really had a fabulous relaxing week here. We can't wait to return and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Love Shelly, Jim, Kylie & Morgan (Los Angeles, CA, USA)
PS. The kids are so upset we are leaving here today.
PPS. This is the PERFECT place to stay in Umhlanga and I will recommend it to all my friends.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Kennedy & Nini Nzimande (Gauteng - South Africa)

Thanks once again Chris and Karyn @ at least we'd forewarned you that 'we shall be back !' Enjoyed it just as much the second time around and yes, we shall be back yet again.
Have a blessed 2011.
Nini Nzimande.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Megan Guerin (Gauteng - South Africa)

Hi Karyn,
Generous and very friendly hosts, super comfortable and stylish accommodation, a lovely central position, blue skies and sunshine ( in the end) - all added up to a wonderful relaxing stay at the Pearl Cottage. We hope to be back sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Megan.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Moses Mashisane (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn and Chris,
What a wonderful stay!! The kids and I enjoyed it. Now we know that we have a second home in KZN. Thank-you so much for everything. This is a truley family guesthouse.
Moses.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Steven Lowenstein (Gauteng)

Dear Chris and Karyn,
We had the most wonderful holiday here - the stylish accommodation was clean, spacious and surpassed our expectations. You went out of your way for us and our kids and your hospitality, warmth and advice was appreciated!
We'll be letting all our relatives, freinds and people in our community know what a 'pearl' we have found in the most convenient spot in Umhlanga.
It was a real treat and PG we'll be back real soon - with our new additon :-)
All the best,
Steven, Tanya, David and Talya Lowenstein.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Linda Bond (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn,
We had a great time. We appreciated the attention to detail, things that some other places never think about. Thank you for the welcome snacks and for even taping my T.V. show which I did not get to watch because I was so busy having fun.
We also really appreciated all the baby things which were clean and top of the range. The airconditioned bedrooms.....bilss.
Hope you have a fabulous Christmas and New Year.
Linda, Maracha, the Grannies and Boys.

December 2010

Excellent

Review by Mbhlani And Meshadi (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn and Chris,
Thanks a mil for a "home away from home". It was amazing!
The children enjoyed themselves.
We will see you soon.
Mbhlani & Mashadi "2010"

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Gerry Van Der Walt (Zeerust - Madikwe)

Dear Chris & Kaz,
Awesome. Spectacular, Wonderful.
Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. Being in the hospitality industry we know what it takes to maintain standards adn create a special place for people to visit. We'll definatley be back!!
Oh and if we could pack the beds and showers to take home - we would!
Thanks a lot.
Gerry, Adele & Grant.

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Andrea Van Deventer (Gauteng)

Dear Chris and Kaz,
Thank you so much for a fab hols, the accomodation was perfect, a real treat and 5 star all the way. For a family or our size teh outdoor entertainment are was a hit, we enjoyed sundowners on the patio while the kids swam and played on your spacious lawn. Thanks for being the perfect host, we will be back real soon.
Thank you.
Andrea, Wayne, James, Joshua and Neve.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Dr V. Govender (Cape Town)

THe Chris & Kaz,
Thank-you for a most memorable Stay. From your very efficient and prompt e-mails to reception and orientation, were treated like real guests. My family enjoyed the long passage mirrors for sarees and ball gowns to be draped. The linen and beds were top class and ensured a sound sleep. The well manicured lawns with seaviews at sundowers are excellent. This surely more than 4-stars. Your kitchen appliances are some of the best.
The adjoining cottage was viewed - Excellent!
We will advertise you in our business and social circles and will definatly be back.
Dr Govender
Cape Town.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Angela Emmerson (Cape Town)

Dearest Karyn,
Thank-you for the most comfortable stay. It was like a 5 star hotel without all the people! We slept like angels in your comfortable beds.
We will be back for sure.
Thank you
Lee, Ang, Troy + Stella

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Penny Hlubi (Gauteng)

We had a wonderful time in your place. It's peaceful and feels at home. Will sure come back
From Penny, Promise and the rest.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Lebeko Mohajane (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn,
Thank you so much for the welcome, the nice house and all that came with it. We really felt welcomed.
From Lebeko, Portia, Lerato and Ntsiki and the little ones

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Niamh Murphy (Dublin And Ireland)

We had a really relaxing time and felt very much at home. We even braved a very quick dip in the pool.
Thanks from the Murphys, Dublin and Ireland

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Monique Alexander (Cape Town)

Fantastic accommodation, fantastic hosts. A real super stay, worth every star on your ratings.
Thanks Trev & Monique Alexander and Des and Trudie McCay.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Lebeko Mohajane (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn,
Thank you so much for the welcome, the nice house all came with it.
From Lebeko, Portia, Lerato, Ntisiki & the little ones.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Jeannine Leuthard (Switzerland)

Dear Chris and Karyn,
We spent 5 great days at Oyster Cottages. Svenja (13) and Sevein (16) enjoyed the lovely pool, the spacious rooms and the big garden.
Everything was very clean. You gave us a warm welcome and we felt comfortable immediately.
Jeannine from Switzerland.

I'll never forget this outstanding holiday.
Best wishes from Svenja - I love South Africa!

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Pearl Milan (SA - KZN)

Dear Chris and Karyn,

Thanks guys for the lovely stay at the Pearl Cottage. This well equipped accomodation was really more than we had expected. We will definatly visit again.

Warm Regards,
"The newly weds"
"Pearl' and Joel.

PS: Thanks for the chocolates and champagne !!!

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Toni Figueiredo (Singapore)

Hi Karyn,

Thank-you for making it possible to enjoy Pearl Cottage. What can I say? "Magnificent". We will be back.

Best Regards,
Toni Figueiredo.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Jeannine Leuthard (Switzerland)

Dear Chris and Karyn,
We spent 5 great days at Oyster Cottages.Svenja(13) and Sevenn(6) enjoyed the lovely pool, the spacious rooms and the big garden.
Everything was very clean.
You gave us a warm welcome and we felt comfortable immediatly.
Jeannine.

I'll never forget this outstanding holidays. Best wishes from Svenja.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Haby Barry (New York, USA)

Dear Karyn,
Thanks for the great and nice place, we really feel that we are at 'home' (big up for the shower !!!) We will definatly spread the word in the USA and France.....
Merci Beaucoup pour votre accueil. A' Bientot........
Haby, Fatou & Khabrim

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Simon Kettleborough (Cape Town)

Dear Chris & Karyn,

We've had a wonderful week here, testimony to how comfortable we immediatly felt is the fact that we lengthend our stay within 12 hours of arrival ! Looking forward to escaping from the Cape Town winter this time next year....we may be back before then though.

Best Wishes,
Simon, Nicol, Olivia + Sophia Kettleborough.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by S. Marinus (Kinshasa)

We had a fantastic 2 weeks in South Africa, of which +/- 10 days here in the Oyster Cottage. Thanks for all the great personalized service. The Cottage is beautiful and we enjoyed all the luxury, including garden & swimming pool with the whole family.
No question was too difficult and you gave us great advice on things to do and see in the area, up to the Drakensberg, including borrowing the GPS to make sure we found our way easily.
You went the extra mile to make us feel at home, with small children and a baby, we will spread the new that Umhlanaga is the new place to be in the Durban Area and where better to stay than at the Oyster Cottages!
We hope to come back soon!
Vicky, Sven, Daan, Ruben, Fervrke and Canine.
The Belgian from Kinshasa

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Nini Nzimande (Gauteng)

Chris & Kaz,
It was fleeting but how awsome!
We shall be back. Love the house, your service and warmth, just outstanding.
Thanks for everything especiallly the milk and junping cables :-)
Be Blessed,
Nini, Kennedy & Kids.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Eleanor Davie (Gauteng/USA/UK)

Chris + Kaz,
Great spot at Pearl Cottage, has everything one could need + amazing shower.
All the best and will be happy to spread the good word in UK and USA.
Eleanor, Justine + Lorna Davie.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Rika Van Den Berg (Gauteng)

It feels like home to be here. Thanks for the all the good moments and time this place gives us. Rika

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Eathan Forbay (Gauteng)

Dear Karyn,
Thank you for the providing us with beautiful accomdation. We had everything we could ask for, and more. You really thought of everything!
Well Done!
Eathan, Elise, Alyssa & Kristen

April 2010

Excellent

Review by C. Nadiotis (Brits)

Dear Karyn & Chris,
Thank-you for the "home away from home" - Pearl Cottage. Very stylish, very functional with quality items. Was very impressed finding Noritaki crockery! DSTV! adn beautiful paintings!
Well Done! we will surely be back. Thank-you!
Regards
Dio & Chrystallo

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Couto Family (Maputo, Mozambique)

Dear Chris & Kaz,
The Oyster Lodge.......what a Pearl.
Thank-you for the 5-Star home from home experience that we all had.
The decor is great. The beds very, very comfortable adn the crisp linen so inviting.
The kids had a ball in the pool and spent the evenings playing ball and rugby in the spacious lawn. What a great time.

Once again, Thank-You
Love , the Couto family - Mozambique.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Emilio Novele (Mozambique)

Thank-you 4 all the best and good time we spent in your world. Paradise, hope to see you again.
Emilio Novele, KFC Mozambique

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Nagdee Family (Swaziland/Jhb)

Dearest Chris & Kaz,
The cottage was lovely. We had a real good time. The atmosphere was great.
We will certainly see you later in the year again. Thanks for the lovely fruit + other goodes
Thanks again.
Nagdee Family (Swaziland/Jhb)

April 2010

Excellent

Review by M. Nagdee (Swaziland)

Dear Chris and Cas,
This cottage was lovely. I enjoyed my holiday in the cottage especially when I played cricket in the yard.
The pool was also lovely. I hope to return to Oyster Cottage in future. Thank-you Siyabonga!
From Mikaeel Nagdee (10 years) Swaziland.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Lelanie Basson (Gauteng SA)

Dear Karyn & Chris,
Our stay at Pearl Cottage, could'nt have been the more perfect getaway.
Thanks so much for your hospitality.
Regards
Lelanie & Victor

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Varsha & Family (Greytown)

Dear Karyn,
Thank-you for a lovely stay!!
We throughly enjoyed it all. You have a stylish, comfortable and beautiful place. I am hoping to visit again.
Thanks again.
Regards, Varsha & Family.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Danniela & Family (JHB)

To Chris & Karyn
Thank-you so much for everything, especially for the milk, tea, coffee & snacks you put out for us. These cottages are so stylish and homely. I am sure we will be back. Regards D.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.722777777111112
Longitude: 31.08194444377778

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 40km
King Shaka International - 15km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, a cot, high chair, car seat, pram, and baby-sitting service is available on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 09h30

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2010 - 53 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap