Owl's Loft Country House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (24 reviews)

Owl's Loft Country House

Bed & Breakfast at 165 Pecan Grove Lane, Kyalami, Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 24 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Owl's Loft Country House in Kyalami?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Midrand.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2015


Review by Lerato Malope (Johannesburg )

I desperately needed an escape from the hustle and bustle of JHB and I got more than I excpected. Had a fantastic and sublimely relaxing time. Excellent service, incredibly helpful staff and amazing hosts. I cannot stop telling people about this place. MY FAVOURITE PLACE IN GAUTENG.

July 2013


Review by Mark Visser (Cape Town)

I attended a training course at SBL and stayed at Owls Loft for 6 nights. The owners Rob and Alison made my stay a very comfortable one and I highly recommend any fellow traveller to experience the wonderful service and meals offered at this unique establishment.

February 2013


Review by ROGER BARTON (Thames Ditton)


September 2012


Review by Sagar Patil (Pune, India)

A true home away from home..this can be a real justice for Rob and Alison's Effort,hospitality. I stayed here for 86 days, i wish i could have been here for more no. of days. Rooms, equipments & other things are maintained very well @ their highest standards.
Hoping for next visit soon...

Thanks again to Alison, Rob, all maids & offcourse Welcoming commitee :-)

July 2012


Review by Peter Henning (Nairobi, Kenya)

My wife and I spent a wonderful couple of nights at Owls Loft whilst undertaking some business at the SAITEX show at Gallagher Estate. The service of the owners and the staff at this establishment is exemplary and we felt our visit was all too short. The guesthouse is immaculate as was the standard of the room we were allocated. I travel extensively globally and have yet to have found a guesthouse anywhere I have travelled to be such excellent value for money and quality of accommodation.
Owls Loft comes highly recommended.

June 2012


Review by Austin Pillay (Pietermaritzburg)

I would like to say Thank You to Rob and Alison for their wonderful hospitality, the lodge is of the highest standard and quality, I would strongly recommend it to anyone who needs accommodation in the Midrand area. Alison is a MASTER chef, and Rob's breakfasts are amazing. My Overall Impression: Excellent

March 2012


Review by Stephanie Turner (Suffolk, England)

I was honoured to be asked to judge at the Autumn Gold Cup Horse Show Near Johannesburg and the organisers booked me into the most wonderful Guest House called Owls Loft. The owners Alison & Rob made me so welcome, it was like home from home. It has a beautiful setting with outstanding food all home cooked by Alison. They went beyond their call of duty to take me sightseeing & shopping, nothing was to much trouble for them. I would not stay any where else when I return to South Africa. Thank you Alison & Rob.

March 2012


Review by James Hunter (Suffolk)

I stayed at Owls Loft recently and the guesthouse and its owners and staff made my visit and impression of South Africa a most memorable one.

The lodge is straightforward to find and the location to most of Midrand's business addresses within a short and hassle free drive to access.

I will most definately be back.

February 2012


Review by Matt Randle (Worcester England)

What can i say, I travel to many countries on business usually alone,but to date this is by far the nicest and friendliest place i have encountered.
Rob and Alison are great hosts, the food at breakfast and in the evenings was not only some of the best i have tasted, but the whole social atmosphere was fantastic.
If you want luxurious comfort, peace and quiet, relaxed yet social and in reach of Jo,burg and Game parks, just dont bother to look elsewhere.
Thank again Rob and Alison for your help and warm welcome, see you again in a few weeks.

August 2011


Review by Nirvan Mahadeb (Mauritius)

I adore this place so much that you really feel at home along with the lovely hospitality of Alison and Rob.
These people are so wonderful and i wish them lots of luck and i really think you guys did a wonderful job at Owls Loft. Missing so much of your doggies will surely be back very soon along with my family.

July 2011


Review by Dewa (Canberra, Australia)

Owls Loft is a beautiful place complemented by perfect host - Alison and Rob. We spent four nights at the Owls Loft and we were treated as if we had known Alison and Rob for a long time. OwlsLoft was our first stop in South Africa in month long holiday. Alison and Rob's hospitality and assistance made our stay in the country easier and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

March 2011


Review by Mustansir Musaji (Morogoro, Tanzania)

Put simply, This place is a heaven of peace!
The hosts are so generous, provided great care, attention to detail and awesome hospitality.
The food is top class, Allison is a star cook, Rob makes royally awesome breakfasts and barbeques.

I would highly recommend this place for anybody who enjoys serenial and peaceful atmosphere.

February 2011


Review by Santhosh P (Bangalore)

Thank you Alison and Rob! you guys are redefining the way hospitality business is done. A true home-away-from-home experience for a traveler indeed.

January 2011


Review by Alan Norman (Hong Kong)

We booked out the entire Owl's Loft Establishment for my 60th Birthday celebration held over two days. The setting was amazing, the hosts, Alison and Rob were superb and the meals were absolutely top order! Out of 22 people present there was nothing but praise for this truly unique and very special guest house. I sincerely recommend it to anyone who enjoys peace, tranquility, luxurious accommodation, great hospitality and excellent food.

January 2011


Review by Julie Van Der Walt (Johannesburg)

Talk about 'going the extra mile' for your guests! Alison & Rob went far beyond the extra mile for my father's 60th Birthday. Hosting 22 guests over 2 nights, at their beautiful guest house. Alison highlighted the weekend for us by cooking up a multi-course dinner that beat the standards set by most 5 Star Restaurants. The personalized 'hands on' service of Alison, Rob and the staff together with the unique and peaceful setting, left us with a memory we will forever cherish. I highly recommend Owl's Loft, as an exceptional venue to experience.

August 2010


Review by Ashika (Durban)

I had decided to go to Johannesburg last minute and managed to findaccomadation at the owls Loft.The pictures on the Internet said it all.The best part when i got there i was in awee.. The place is so beautiful.Very relaxing and the hospitality is so generous.I will definitely recomend this palce to all my friends and family.

July 2010


Review by Mike Mcquestion (Baltimore, MD USA)

If you fancy a quiet, well kept place away from the traffic and hustle bustle of Joburg, (but only minutes away), try the Owl's Loft. I and two colleagues stayed two nights with Rob and Allison. The company was great, the dinners scrumptious. The pool invited but it was a bit too cold to swim. We got a lot of work done (with the Pan African Parliament) sitting in the sun next to the fireplace in the cozy dining room. Rates are quite reasonable for the value. I'll be back.

June 2010


Review by Danie (Groot-Marico)

I stayed there for a period of 5 weeks during the week and weekends at my home. The services was very good. Food above excelent and the HOSTS present at each supper table also add to the vibrant atmosphere. Rob and Alison keep it up, this is a winning recipy. I will always recommed your place to stay as a place with personallity

June 2010


Review by Nuno Ferreira (S. Domingos Rana)

I loved this place and if i ever return to South Africa i will return. Rob and Allison are the best hotel owners i ever met and as a journalist i travel a lot around the world... I stayed here during 22 nights in the World Cup and it was amazing. The place, the food, the service, the company of others guests, all were 5 stars! Thank so much to all and see you one of this next years.

June 2010


Review by Sylvia Avery (Port Alfred)

Had wonderful stay, Alison & Rob are super hosts. Alisons' food is sublime. Rooms are lovely. We will be back soon.

April 2010

Very Good

Review by Patrick Wachira (Nairobi)

I was there for 3 nights, the room makes you feel relaxed, the place is out in the highlands,fantastic weather, i just felt as if i was back home enjoying the cool air.Alison and Rob fantastic hosts, felt very welcomed and ooohh my Alison she is such a great cook.
I rate them 5 out of 6.

July 2009


Review by David Joyner (USA - NEW YORK)

WOW; as a New Yorker; I expected GREAT service with a good price. Owls Loft gave me everything! Alison and Rob were great! The food was absolutely wonderful. Alison even locked the car door at Lions Park. (LOL) The other guest [also] made me feel so welcome. Rob got me to dialysis, (in Sandton) on time and picked me up on time.

The staff at Owls Loft was truly wonerful.

If you want to relax and sill enjoy yourself... Then The Owls Loft is the place for you.

December 2008


Review by Simon Jowett (Derby)

I have stayed with Rob and Alison at least a dozen times in the past couple of years and Owl's Loft is very much my Johannesburg home away from home. The accomadation is spacious and comfortable. Alison is a wonderful cook. The other guests make great comapany at dinner.

Perhaps the best testimony are the locals who will come here to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the country setting. Yet despite the country setting there is so much in the area to see and do all within a very easy drive.

April 2008


Review by Fiona Hirst (Cambridge, UK)

We stayed at Owls Loft for two nights, and found the accommodation with ease following very good directions from the Hosts. The whole experience was absolutely wonderful and thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. Both Alison and Rob were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed a delightful BBQ (or Braai) on the Sunday evening and the food was delicious as was the wine, with exemplary company from the other guests and the Hosts.

The situation of Owls Loft was a short drive from J'burg and Alison drove us into Sandton for shopping and collected us again when we were finished. All in all the stay was a true pleasure and we look forward to enjoying Alison and Rob's hospitality again in the future.

This guesthouse comes very highly recommended!!!!

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.918634
Longitude: 28.052087

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2005 - 24 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap