New Holme Karoo Guestfarm is rated 5/5 by visitors (10 reviews)

New Holme Karoo Guestfarm

Hotel at Karoo Gariep Conservancy, Off N1, Hanover, 7005, Upper Karoo, Northern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 10 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to New Holme Karoo Guestfarm in Hanover?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Upper Karoo.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2016


Review by GT Pugin (Boksburg)

Excellent see you again

July 2016


Review by Dagmar (Johannesburg SA)

Such friendly and welcoming hosts. We truly enjoyed our stay, the large fire place, the delicious dinner and the very spacious guest rooms. What a pity we could only stayed one night. Highly recommended :-)

April 2016


Review by Jono (Jhb)

We stayed in the Log cabin (Family of 3) - comfortable accomodation with enough bedding to keep us warm. The dinner & breakfast were excellent - definitely worth booking for dinner. A great stopover from along the N1

June 2014


Review by Dean (Johannesburg)

We stayed at New Holme as a half-way point from Jhb to Cpt and weren't 100% sure what to expect. We arrived slightly later than planned due to circumstances beyond control, however when we arrived it felt as if we had stepped through our own doors at home. The atmosphere was warm and we were welcomed with open arms by P.C and his family. We unfortunately did not have the opportunity to eat as we only stayed one night and left early, but we did have a magnificent evening sharing a glass of wine with P.C and talking until all hours beneath a beautiful blanket of Karoo stars. Our place of slumber for the evening was a splendid log cabin which, despite the cold winter temperature, kept us very warm and cosy, making it slightly difficult for us to leave the next morning :) Definitely worth a repeat and highly recommended, it was an experience akin to a fairy tale. Thank you P.C. And God bless

May 2014


Review by Beavan Gwilt (Port Elizabeth)

Supremely comfortable, and hospitality as boundless as the Karoo. Highly recommended.

January 2013


Review by Siska Vd Westhuizen (Johannesburg)

We were saved by PC and his family on the 2nd January 2013. After a terrible experience at our previous accomodation we were welcomed with open arms and traeted as if we were family. The New Holme Lodge has such a warm homely feel to it and PC and his family create such an awesome environment. We arrived very late that evening with no prior bookings but PC made a plan for me and my sister and we were able to rest peacefully that evening. I spoke to some of the regulars that go there every year and many of them said "its our home away from home!"
Thank you so much for that wonderful evening!

December 2012


Review by Jonathan Davimes (San Diego, CA USA)

Outstanding in every respect. Marisca and PC are the most wonderful hosts you can imagine. We immediately felt at home and did not want to leave after such a short stay.
Location is amazing, the solitude and star gazing are just what one needs after a hectic year of stress and work. This is undoubtedly the best guest houses i have stayed in and i have traveled extensively world wide. We look forward to our next visit in December.
God bless you both.

September 2012


Review by Judith And Marius Malan (Pretoria)

Dear Marisca and PC,
I woke up this morning feeling disoriented: I was at my home, and not at New Holme! Truly we all (@21!! of us), so enjoyed our week at New Holme. Thank you for the excellent food and friendship, daily attention to detail, and for your extra hospitality that made us feel so at "holme" benchmark: well done! May God bless your every plan and purpose.

Sincere regard, always: Marius and Judith Malan, Pretoria, Gauteng

October 2010


Review by Kirsten Bell (Cape Town)

Absolutely fantastic, if you are looking for a stop on the JHB to CT drive that is past Colesburg stay here, but try stay for more than one night. There is so much to see from the hippos, horses to the nothingness of the karoo and what we loved was the stars, billions of them.
The hospitality was out of this world, our 3 year old got to feed a lamb a bottle of milk which made her year, the food was so good we had to get rolled out and that was only the conservative Sunday evening buffett. Truley a fantastic stay in clean homely accomodation. Highly recommended. (Kirst, Will, Lils and Rae)

September 2004


Review by Robin Chandler (Clevedon, England)

Since my stay at New Holme I have compared it with stays at hotels, farms, guest houses in various countries and can state categorically that it is the best! The braai in the boma was unforgettable, under the stars, sipping drinks and chatting with PC. We had a selection of excellent meats, and Marisca's spread of beautifully cooked and presented vegetables was mind-blowing. The dessert range was fabulous, on par with the fine wines offered by PC. My room was elegantly furnished and comfortable, and I slept with great contentment. I left New Holme after a bumper breakfast, extremely satisfied, and determined to return, which I intend to do in October this year(2009). Thank you, to a host and hostess who treated me with great courtesy and personal interest. Overall impression: 10/10

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -30.965305555555556
Longitude: 24.655

Closest airport(s)
Bloemfontein Airport - 230km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in / out times by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on
August 2008 - 10 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap