Marula Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (9 reviews)

Marula Lodge

Guest House at 111 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, 6740, Cape Overberg, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Marula Lodge in Swellendam?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Peter & Gaby Schilling (Leverkusen / GERMANY)

Hallo Ihr zwei,
wir möchten uns herzlich für den tollen Aufenthalt in Eurem Haus bedanken. Wir haben wirklich gut geschlafen und das Ambiente eures Hauses in vollen Zügen genossen. Auch der Besuch im Restaurant "nebenan" war ein Erlebnis, nicht zuletzt wegen Filips Empfehlungen zur Karte. Wir wünschten, wir hätten etwas mehr Zeit mit euch verbringen können.
Danke für die herzliche Aufnahme. Und besonderen Dank für den Tip, die Fähre zu benutzen - es war ein Erlebnis und wir hatten viel Spaß.
Gerne kommen wir wieder, dann etwas länger.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Susan & Arron Rice (Jersey, Channel Islands)

What a lovely place to stay! Filip and Marion (and Pedro & Sammy the dogs) made us very welcome here. We found it very relaxed and enjoyed the pool and gardens very much. Filip recommended the restaurant next door which was amazing! It was a flying visit of one night but we would have liked to have stayed for longer. We will be back!

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Mike Bailey (Maputo)

This is a truly superb guest house with the most welcoming and hospitable hosts possible. Filip and Marion made us feel truly at home, and Filip's advice on what to see and where to go was invaluable. The region around is stunning! Would go there again tomorrow if we lived closer! Couldn't recommend it highl;y enough and a real surpries and gem!

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Rose (Sussex)

We recently stayed for three nights. This is an excellent B & B with very welcoming hosts. Our room was spotlessly clean, the garden, pool and guest lounge all very nice. Swellendam is a good place to stop for a few days. We visited both Marloth Nature Reserve and Bontebok National Park which are both next to the town, and also Swellendam Museum which is a collection of original houses is worth a visit. Plenty of good places to eat in Swellendam also.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Sabrina + Alex (Stuttgart)

Ursprünglich suchten wir nur eine schnelle Übernachtungsmöglichkeit und sind dann doch zwei Nächte geblieben. Die Atmosphäre in der Marula Lodge lädt einfach zum Verweilen ein, beginnend mit dem Begrüßungsdrink und der wunderbaren Außenanlage. Am zweiten Abend haben wir dann noch spontan mit Marion und Filip gegrillt - ein toller Abend. Die Marula Lodge ist ein Muss in Swellendam, jederzeit gerne wieder - Danke euch Beiden.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Sarah, Juul And Thom (Birmingham, UK)

We stayed at Marula lodge for 2 nights on our way to, and from the garden route. This is more than just a B&B. This is 5 star luxury. The rooms are immaculately decorated with beautiful bathrooms to match. There is a lounge where guests can relax or watch tv in the evenings which felt very homely. The pool and gardens are also very well kept. We found it was the little things, the attention to detail which made all the difference (a cot and baby bath are available). The hosts Marion and Filip (and Pedro) have thought of everything and were very welcoming. So much so that when we returned for our 2nd night we felt like we were visiting friends. Swellendam is small but friendly and safe, and Bontebok NP and De Hoop NP makes this an essential stop. Plus the breakfast is amazing!!

August 2009

Very Good

Review by Barbara Leinberger (Trochtelfingen)

Wir haben leider nur wenig Zeit in der Marula Lodge verbracht, aber wir waren sowohl vom Gasthaus selbst, als auch von den Besitzern sehr beeindruckt. Die Inhaber haben sich sehr viel Mühe mit uns gegegben. Vor allem bleibt uns ein von Fil organisierter Tagesausflug sehr in Erinnerung. Durch seine geniale Ortskenntnis hat er uns dieses wunderbare Stück Erde sehr viel näher bringen können. Wir können dieses Haus wärmstens empfehlen und werden selbst auch wieder im nächsten Jahr dort ein paar Tage verbringen.Herzlichen Dank liebe Marion und lieber Fil für eine wunderschöne Zeit bei euch, Macht weiter so!

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Sonja & Gernot (D´dorf, Germany)

Es gibt viele Adjektive, um dieses wunderbare Gästehaus zu beschreiben. Zwei Worte sagen aber auch schon alles aus: Entspannung pur!
Die drei Besitzer Marion, Fil und Pedro haben alles getan damit wir uns wohl fühlen und vor allem damit wir unvergesslich schöne Tage in Swellendam und Umgebung haben.
Sehr empfehlenswert!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Anne Brittain (London)

We stayed overnight at Marula on our way to the Garden Route. It was the perfect stop-over, but more time would have been a plus. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the pool a very welcome cool-down for our children after a long journey. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for marion and Filip.
. Their little dog plays football very well!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.024573999333334
Longitude: 20.437252999666665

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 211km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, cots are available if required.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 15h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2009 - 9 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap